how do you support yourself financially? (undergrads)

iceshiel

undergrads... are you still receiving allowance from your parents? or you work part-time for extra cash?

lapucelle

undergrads... are you still receiving allowance from your parents? or you work part-time for extra cash?

hmmm i think most undergrads dun take $ from parents.

for me i use my army savings + tuition job earnings (up to 4 lessons per week when i'm more broke) + scholarship allowance (meagre sum)

iceshiel

for me i use my army savings + tuition job earnings (up to 4 lessons per week when i'm more broke) + scholarship allowance (meagre sum)

my army salary is f***ed up and i have no scholarship lol. im looking into giving tuition... although it definitely wont work if uni gets really busy.

lapucelle

my army salary is f***ed up and i have no scholarship lol. im looking into giving tuition... although it definitely wont work if uni gets really busy.

uni never really gets busy if u plan ur time well. at least not for most courses.

most of us complain that we have no time cos we always leave everything to the last minute. just look at how much some of us spend our time here and it gives u an idea of how free we actually are.

i spend a bit more cos i cab to school all the time. with tuition alone should be enough to cover for most basic expenditure.

The_Davis

holiday jobs during april/may-july/aug can help a lot :)

Engineer

uni never really gets busy if u plan ur time well. at least not for most courses.

most of us complain that we have no time cos we always leave everything to the last minute. just look at how much some of us spend our time here and it gives u an idea of how free we actually are.

i spend a bit more cos i cab to school all the time. with tuition alone should be enough to cover for most basic expenditure.

where u live? :s11:

Engineer

4 lessons per week is considered a lot ? :s8:

lapucelle

4 lessons per week is considered a lot ? :s8:

hmm i live in two places. usually I'm at Bukit Panjang area. 4 tuition lessons a week can get you about anything from $150 - $400 depending on the rates u charge. i would think its sufficient to spend for the week.

in terms of shiongness, you can take 2 lessons in the weekend, mornings are good cos it doesnt really take up your day. then 2 more lessons in evenings during weekdays. That still gives you plenty of time for yourself and your schoolwork.

Engineer

hmm i live in two places. usually I'm at Bukit Panjang area. 4 tuition lessons a week can get you about anything from $150 - $400 depending on the rates u charge. i would think its sufficient to spend for the week.

in terms of shiongness, you can take 2 lessons in the weekend, mornings are good cos it doesnt really take up your day. then 2 more lessons in evenings during weekdays. That still gives you plenty of time for yourself and your schoolwork.

true 4 lessons a week is not alot but if u live in the east u can't really afford the cab fees :(
travelling time is too much. wonder if they shld webcast everything :s7:

Engineer

not many willing to pay $75 - $100 one lesson for an undergrad :s7: this kind of rate can hire school teacher liao leh

lapucelle

not many willing to pay $75 - $100 one lesson for an undergrad :s7: this kind of rate can hire school teacher liao leh

hmmm. its actually the norm for JC level tuition by undergrads. most of my friends who tutor at JC level take about $40-$50 per hr. Sec sch is about $30-$40 per hr.

So one lesson usually can hit $75-100.

you just need to be picky, dun take any tuition assignments that come along the way. wait for one that is well-paying and convince the parents/agency that you are the best person for the job. usually the better paying ones come towards the end of the year when Os and As are approaching.

lingringning

I prefer weekdays night. Weekends are for myself - do project + revise + cca

true 4 lessons a week is not alot but if u live in the east u can't really afford the cab fees :(
travelling time is too much. wonder if they shld webcast everything :s7:

I stay in south-east. One journey takes me 1.5-2hrs:eek:

holiday jobs during april/may-july/aug can help a lot :)
can try looking for work on campus too :)

Tried during this vacation, can't find...

hmmm. its actually the norm for JC level tuition by undergrads. most of my friends who tutor at JC level take about $40-$50 per hr. Sec sch is about $30-$40 per hr.

you just need to be picky, dun take any tuition assignments that come along the way. wait for one that is well-paying and convince the parents/agency that you are the best person for the job. usually the better paying ones come towards the end of the year when Os and As are approaching.

"...take any tuition assignments that come along the way..." -- tt's what i regreted...
JC students hard to find...

The_Davis

you mean the more "desperate" ones

SposSG

can try looking for work on campus too :)

on-campus jobs are quite a good option. the pay isn't as good but its more flexible. i managed to slot my working hours in between classes and usually they are more understanding that you'll need a break during exam period.

and you might be able to get a job that provides relevant experience for your future career (read: something you can write in your resume, unlike giving tuition). that was a big plus point for me.

lapucelle

on-campus jobs are quite a good option. the pay isn't as good but its more flexible. i managed to slot my working hours in between classes and usually they are more understanding that you'll need a break during exam period.

and you might be able to get a job that provides relevant experience for your future career (read: something you can write in your resume, unlike giving tuition). that was a big plus point for me.

yeah especially being a research assistant - nice on the CV. NUS standard pay for most on-campus jobs is $8.74/hr for undergrad and $15/hr for graduate students. pretty decent if you clock enough hours. however, they also often have a max number of hours you can clock per week.

when yr 1 yr 2 i think u can try looking for things like com lab jaga, events helper, etc... when yr 3 yr 4 then can start looking for research assistant kinda job.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.