Deep Cool 120mm 1300RPM Fan Review

KleoZy

I think that's the reason, the hub's wires is at 1 piece 0.6mm while my splitters are 7 pieces coil together 2mm. My dad didn't tell me about the current, he only told me about the voltage lol. Didn't know thickness affects current too.

How do you do a straight pass? My splitter splits zigzag, not from 1 to all straight...

EDIT:
Okay, will wait for your response in PM :D And ya, I do have a DMM. Will measure tonight if I'm free =D

ok OT again ya.. know what bro.. I enjoy this kind of interactive sharing.. this is how HWZ use to be like in the past. I miss wolfman and the rest of the team like CPUzilla, minitaz. dr Phillp and much much more.. those forumers out there are purely discussion/reviews and less "hoot of the day" plus reviews where Dr. Vijay himself participated, even the moderators themselves. We narrow through things and meet out for sessions, enhancing even further on knowledge and not forgetting talk cock sing song sessions to build our friendship.. I still remembered Dr. Phillip who unconditionally offers to HWZoners to his place and do a session on watercooling. Some other zoners will rent community centers and share their thoughts on overclocking, there are so much more to learn and to do.. now it seems all dead, maybe due to the nature of humans being lazy.. as there is always such a thing for me call GOOGLE is your best friend lol

I can't complain but truly with your review here.. it gain my interest in talking. informative and knowledgeable .. honestly I ask myself this question.. how do I learn so much.. is not by asking but researching which you and others can really do.. do you know how to review these in the first place? .. I believe you have took up some time to learn how people review and such.. which ended up here reviewing fans.. bro.. let me tell you something which others might not gain.. reviewing is not about just objects.. you have a step ahead in future as being analytical and being able to present your prove for your career and such.. believe me it does help :D

oh well pardon me HWZoners. old man talking here so can be abit naggy.. ok continue on with the fan stuff..

cheers
Kleo

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Hmm....seems like gary charge quite ex for fans....

Mythmaker

Nice Review!!:D THUMBS UP! haha..
btw i just went to yate loon website to check out some of there fans there, but all rated 43 and 47dba.. erm quite noisy leh? how to tahan? o.0
any user can cfm that?

2 very impt things when choosing a fan to bear in mind.

1) Never trust the rated CFM
2) Never trust the rated dBA

:D

Hmm....seems like gary charge quite ex for fans....

Fans only meh? :s13:

hg_wng

waiting for action :D .. btw mythmarker, just a pointer.. it will be great if you can indicate on your reviews to zoners that anything that is rated .35amp above.. should not be using mobo headers.. as I notice some of the good fans (silents with strong cfm) are rated above 0.35amp, the average of a fan header on a mobo can take up to .30 amp.. anything that is above.. yes can support but then for prolong use, it will harm the motherboard.. especially fans like Gentle Typhoon which is rated at 0.83 amp same goes to the AP121 model which is higher too.

thanks!
bro typhoon is 0.083A, not 0.83A

repel89

Nice Review :) I know the hassle of dismounting and mounting the fans :s13::s13:

Have the Deep Cool fan also, definitely worth it for the performance it provides.

KleoZy

bro typhoon is 0.083A, not 0.83A

WAH you are right.. I super cock eye lol .. pai say .. it's not 0.83A but it's 0.083A for Gentle Typhoon, anyway i still relunctunt to put fan to mobo fan header.. cos I want pure juice to my mobo.. less sharing = better capablities to OC lol

thanks hg_wng

KouAnKyuuKa

Results

tempnoise.jpg

Surprised? Maybe lol. The most expensive fan is the weakest, and the cheapest is the strongest. Excalibur flared pretty badly here, but I had already knew that long ago. The Deep Cool performs very similarly to the Xigmatek XLF 1256, hitting 0.25 degree higher but measures 2.5dBA lower. What came out tallied with what I heard, so it should be relatively correct.

BTW on a side note, I was sweating when I was benching Noctua P12. Mosfet hit 102 degree and could fail OCCT anytime (breaking point 112 degrees). The rest didn't even went pass 93 degree.

Cooling over Noise
I was reluctant to do this graph, because sound pressure doesn’t scale relatively. The noise we hear is always proportional to the rated sound pressure. But in the end I did it anyway lol. I used (TJmax – load temps) / Noise Level.

tempovernoise.jpg

Seems like we have a winner here.

Conclusion
If you are looking for a sexy, strong, bright and strong blue LED, sleeved and quiet mid range fan as your HSF, look no further. Edwin is currently retailing this for $12 at:

http://sgmodder.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=5&products_id=16

Be fast! I heard that he plans to increase the price from $12 to $14 :s13: Should you prefer a physical shop, Gary from Uvnium is currently retailing the same fan at $21 (or is it $24? lol). If you dont want this relatively unknown brand, then my next recommendation would be the Xigmatek XLF-1256. It performs similarly and is just as quiet =)

If you are looking at a very very strong state of the art casing fan running at 1900RPM or beyond, look elsewhere, probably at the Excaliburs. But do take note of the 0.3A - 0.5A limit on motherboard headers. But for the 1300rpm range, this fan should be one of the top performers at minimal noise level.

Thanks for reading!

Wow..thanks for the review. Any chance that you will test Noiseblocker Fans also selling in Uvnium? Heard they are comparable to Noctuas. :)

hg_wng

Wow..thanks for the review. Any chance that you will test Noiseblocker Fans also selling in Uvnium? Heard they are comparable to Noctuas. :)
i've heard that noiseblockers are overpriced
and yate loons are a much better choice

Mythmaker

1st of all, please don't quote an entire post unnecessary. 2ndly, if they are comparable to Noctuas, then according to the charts isn't that a bad thing? :s13:

KouAnKyuuKa

Hey. Thanks for the information. :)

1st of all, please don't quote an entire post unnecessary. 2ndly, if they are comparable to Noctuas, then according to the charts isn't that a bad thing? :s13:

Ok. very paiseh in qouting your whole post. Uvnium qouted these NB fans as competitors, so just wanna see how they perform according to your testbed standard. :)

repel89

Can check out my previous review on that. Did it quite some time ago though.

Well, I wouldnt comment on a fan i never tried before if i were u:o Nicely priced IMO.

KleoZy

ahem.. can I say something.. noctua fans are good in some ways.. slience and good airflow but personally i wont buy.. as why this is why lol but say first this is 140mm fan.

KouAnKyuuKa

Can check out my previous review on that. Did it quite some time ago though.

Well, I wouldnt comment on a fan i never tried before if i were u:o Nicely priced IMO.
Thanks.Will search through your post. :)

ahem.. can I say something.. noctua fans are good in some ways.. slience and good airflow but personally i wont buy.. as why this is why lol but say first this is 140mm fan.

Easy cleaning of the fan blades, but I do not like fan blades that can pull out like that. My personal pref :D

tErOn

2 very impt things when choosing a fan to bear in mind.

1) Never trust the rated CFM
2) Never trust the rated dBA

:D

and a third:

trust reviewers like you guys who put in the time and effort to test the stuff for the community..Kudos! :D

commach

Hi commach,

thanks for the insight :D still I won't use fans to on mobo.. once bitten twice shine hur hur hur.. i still prefer to use me 8 x 3 pin fan hub that draws direct current from the 4 pin molex of a PSU :D nevertheless I learn learn somthing from you on the stall and stuck fan which I never came across.. cos when I plug the Delta focus flow to my mobo header, it still runs they are rated 1.83amp lol which delibrately blow my mobo header (Asus P4 board) lol, the board still usable but not the fan header.. guess am lucky

Power, bitten yet shine.:D

Joke aside, power molex is my first choice for connecting fan too, portable yet powerful enough to drive virtually all 12V DC fans.

Speaking of hub, I made a 6 x 3pin hub using 0.6mm wires and draws power from a 3pin instead. But I can't seem to get the optimal performance, with my 2000rpm fans always running at 1800rpm. However if I use my own quad splitter with 2mm wires, it runs fine and constantly above 2000rpm. It seems to go against the law of thicker wire = more resistance. Any idea why?

EDIT:
This is my Hub:
img6169w.jpg

I am not entirely sure how you soldered these points, seem like you are using several short length wires to joint them together between the 3 pins connectors.
If it's true, that will explain why the fans are not operating at the default rpm due to high resistance from the solder points.

A better option is to use 2 lacquer insulated continuous wires to solder them. All you need is to use a razor blade to carefully scrap off the lacquer coating at the solder points to allow soldering, this approach will result in lowest resistance possible from a continuous wire as compare to multiple short length wires. Single continuous wire is way easier, neat and tidy to solder.:)

Just sharing my DIY style, might not suit you if you don't have the lacquer coated wire in hand while doing this hub.

commach

Easy cleaning of the fan blades, but I do not like fan blades that can pull out like that. My personal pref :D

Maybe i am old, can't see clearly. But if i am not wrong, the fan blade broke off from the spindle and not easy pull-off type for easy cleaning.:D

tErOn

Maybe i am old, can't see clearly. But if i am not wrong, the fan blade broke off from the spindle and not easy pull-off type for easy cleaning.:D

yah lor..the fan blades were broken off..:s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.