Institute of Technology (SIT) - Singapore's 5th University!

Cryogenist

Hey, got a qns for guys alr studying in Digipen.
Is laptop a must for the course?

xorange

anyone studying in BSGD or BAGD that i can talk to? Just wanna know more about the 2 degree programs, things like what exactly are you learning, course modules sequence, etc.

drop me a pm. thanks.

xXNooBiFieDXx

Hey, got a qns for guys alr studying in Digipen.
Is laptop a must for the course?

Laptop is not a must but can be very useful =D especially since you cannot install alot of useful programs to the school computer so best to do it with ur trusty laptop =D

swordsly

anyone studying in BSGD or BAGD that i can talk to? Just wanna know more about the 2 degree programs, things like what exactly are you learning, course modules sequence, etc.

drop me a pm. thanks.

I'm also interested to find out the life of a BSc GD student in Digipen.
Can share your experience on the thread?

xXNooBiFieDXx

Anyway i am from BSGD so just to share some info, if you are interested in joining the course, please be prepared to put in lots of hardwork and devote urself to studying. Get ready spend long hours in school and form study groups to do ur work.

there are lecturers and TA(sophomores) which are around to guide you along so do make use of them. The course is fairly okay as long as you are willing to put in effort.

IMO, the harder modules for first year would be maths but it will get easier as you progresses.

Hope to see u guys around =D

*Digipen dun have a bellcurve and have a 70% passing mark so its another reason why u have to really put in hard work.

swordsly

Anyway i am from BSGD so just to share some info, if you are interested in joining the course, please be prepared to put in lots of hardwork and devote urself to studying. Get ready spend long hours in school and form study groups to do ur work.

there are lecturers and TA(sophomores) which are around to guide you along so do make use of them. The course is fairly okay as long as you are willing to put in effort.

IMO, the harder modules for first year would be maths but it will get easier as you progresses.

*Digipen dun have a bellcurve and have a 70% passing mark so its another reason why u have to really put in hard work.

No bellcurves eh. Thats refreshing.

So what are the stuffs you do daily?

Cryogenist

is the coursework for RTIS somewhat similar for the first year?

xXNooBiFieDXx

is the coursework for RTIS somewhat similar for the first year?

Except that we take more module then them... the only diff is the computer lap and they got extra art we got extra psychology and game history

daily work is go school, do homework after school then go home.

rollbread

Guys, those who studying RTIS, can tell roughly how much is the total school fees and etc for the whole course? And I don't understand who can recieve the subsidised Tuition Fee?

072635x

hello this is Jeffrey here. i am personally curious about the courses in Digipen. i have applied for a course in digipen on 15th October 2010. on 28th October 2010, i have received a camm from SIT administrative side telling me to go for an interview on 2nd november 2010.

i am from nyp, gradurated in year 2010 with diploma in mechatronics engineering, automation elective with gpa 3.424. what is my chances of getting into digipen anyway? what will be the interview like? how hard is the math test?

anyway now i crrently serving army as ASA clerk whereby i will ORD on 31st May 2012. Meaning i would probally enter digipen on sep 2010.

opelfrost

i am from nyp, gradurated in year 2010 with diploma in mechatronics engineering, automation elective with gpa 3.424. what is my chances of getting into digipen anyway?

i got in RTIS with a gpa of 2.8 but i applied in april 2010 (the 1st batch), so things might be a bit diff now.

what will be the interview like?

there will be like 2 to 3 fellow asking u question like;

• why u pick tis course
  • and in ur case, they might also ask why u choose mechatronic in poly and change to a gaming course for ur degree
  • what u know about tis course
  • what are ur plan for future (basically asking whether u r planning to work in the gaming industry and also locally or oversea) [i duno how much tis affect ur chances of getting in, but tis course was setup to train up the talent pool for gaming industry in sg so...]
  • then they will ask if u hav any question for them about the course or the game industry

the interview is more like a private info session imo.

how hard is the math test?

the math test is given b4 ur sch start and does not affect ur chances of getting in (it is actually a test for the math lecturer to know his student math background).

anyway now i crrently serving army as ASA clerk whereby i will ORD on 31st May 2012. Meaning i would probally enter digipen on sep 2010.

i believe u meant sep 2012 :s13:

072635x

there will be like 2 to 3 fellow asking u question like;

•why u pick tis course
•and in ur case, they might also ask why u choose mechatronic in poly and change to a gaming course for ur degree
•what u know about tis course
•what are ur plan for future (basically asking whether u r planning to work in the gaming industry and also locally or oversea) [i duno how much tis affect ur chances of getting in, but tis course was setup to train up the talent pool for gaming industry in sg so...]
•then they will ask if u hav any question for them about the course or the game industry

the interview is more like a private info session imo.

i picked RTIS for some specific topics, physics in 3d animations and AI. which i have been doing in my poly days. i did inverse kinematics for my robotics. i did AI for my robot to be completely autonomous to complete whatever tasks provided.

questions bout the course sure have 1 lah.

anyway i assume the math standard is like SAT right, if it is, than easy for me lor.

anyway for the degree in human nutrition, it is true, first batch in sep 2011 by newcastle.

072635x

anyway i went for the interview this morning rgarding digipen, the interviewer said my chances of entering digipen quite high swee ah

noobiee

anyone studying in TUM???

care to share some info?

like your dip course, your gpa and what questions they ask in interview..

thanks

noobiee

hey,
i am currently studying in SIT-TUM, previously from NP-ECE.
i think in order to get in u have to at least have a 3.1 for ur GPA.
Interview questions are quite general, like why u choose to apply to this course,
talk about ur leadership experience that kind of questions..
If u pass the first interview, u will be called up to go for the second round of interview, which is the technical interview. Where they test u bout those stuff u have learnt in ur poly studies.

the technical interview... is it very important? what questions were being asked?

first interview... any good way to leave a good impression?

my gpa is 2.9906...

thanks alot for your feedback :)

perosoka

the technical interview... is it very important? what questions were being asked?

first interview... any good way to leave a good impression?

my gpa is 2.9906...

thanks alot for your feedback :)

2.99 also get into SIT... hope you take their opportunity to work very hard.. stop slacking already

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.