This is why Singaporeans are losing jobs

cscs3

agree, Singapore CAN NEVER COMPETE ON COSTS. We can try to do it BETTER or FASTER, but that comes at a cost.

I dont understand what Lim Swee Say is trying to say(pardon the pun) when he wants us to be cheaper better faster yet he himself draws million++ dollar salary himself. Oh I forgot he's a deaf frog so he has probably never read the joke about CHEAPER BETTER FASTER:

good_cheap_fast.jpg

Although this is a joke, it is definitely applicable in everywhere around the world.

We dont have natural resources or space like China, India. We cant even be compared to smaller countries like M'sia or Vietnam or Myanmar.

I really dont like the current govt's policies. How to survive on such low salaries? And our scholarships and bursaries to foreigners are crap, why should we give it to them? So many of them run away too. Instead of helping Singaporeans, they want to get more foreigners in to get more votes.

If they want to bring in so many foreigners to snatch our jobs away I dont see why it would be worse getting opposition in or EVEN OUTSOURCE our govt to China. At most economy on auto-pilot, wont immediately crash also.

The problem is we are not better and faster.
In fact most better and faster job including those odd hours job, weekend and holiday job are done by FT !

Survive on low salaries ? How do you define this ? Minimum requirement is 40" TV and home and not 26" and etc. Handphone has to be iphone and not zero dollars one ? Computer must be i7 and cannot live with i3 ?

Sometime living standard is self impose as one think he need to show off on what he/she has. AND not what he/she need in order to survive !

sunzoner

Fully agree with you.
Stop blaming the govt. When our parent come to Singapore. They have to find their own way to live. Nobody help them. Same for FT. Why these people think we call them F"T", and not calling ourself L"T". Because we only know how to complain. Our mindset is we loss our job because they are cheaper. In fact they are not ! If they can live with same amount, why we cannot? Is it time to enjoy less and work harder?

I think you have a problem here...

Your parents may have to find their own way to singapore, mine were born here...

We dun call these people FT until the incumbent call them so...

The incumbent dun call us local talent for some reason only known to themselves...

If they are not cheaper, then they must be earning the same amount or more then us. In this case, we would be happy earning the same as them. Your sentence " If they can live with same amount, why we cannot? " imply they earn less. Thus you are confused as to whether they are earning more or less then us...

By asking us to enjoy less and work more, are you not going against the incumbent's claim that we are first world? If we are first world, wy would a first world country's citizen need to work as hard as a third world country's citizen?

sunzoner

In fact most better and faster job including those odd hours job, weekend and holiday job are done by FT !

Survive on low salaries ? How do you define this ? Minimum requirement is 40" TV and home and not 26" and etc. Handphone has to be iphone and not zero dollars one ? Computer must be i7 and cannot live with i3 ?

Sometime living standard is self impose as one think he need to show off on what he/she has. AND not what he/she need in order to survive !

I am sure if you show us the survey done (that reveals we are not better and faster), it will help wake most people up...

flame2000

This happens in every company I know of. If a FT takes a top position who has control over manpower, he/she will only hire their "breed" only.

And when the top position FT leaves for another company, all his subordinates "kaki" will follow him to the new company since no big brother to shield them or promote them any more.

gohsan

We have to know our position. sg is no more a cheap place in fact we are among the most expensive CITY on earth. But when it come to salary we are talking about how cheap we should be. How ironic. This is a place built up and defend by sgrean who should enjoy the fruits of our labour. Why are we make to compete for the 'fruits' we have planted. We are alway reminded we have limited land and every inch count. But here we are packing in more people into the limited land.

fishbuff

We have to know our position. sg is no more a cheap place in fact we are among the most expensive CITY on earth. But when it come to salary we are talking about how cheap we should be. How ironic. This is a place built up and defend by sgrean who should enjoy the fruits of our labour. Why are we make to compete for the 'fruits' we have planted. We are alway reminded we have limited land and every inch count. But here we are packing in more people into the limited land.

wait till you see the next round of immigration roundup. the govt has a goal to expand the population in sg to 10-12million. That is the real target!

darren_soh86

Fully agree with you.
Stop blaming the govt. When our parent come to Singapore. They have to find their own way to live. Nobody help them. Same for FT. Why these people think we call them F"T", and not calling ourself L"T". Because we only know how to complain. Our mindset is we loss our job because they are cheaper. In fact they are not ! If they can live with same amount, why we cannot? Is it time to enjoy less and work harder?

i cant live with the same amount cuz i need to pay for a "affordable" flat? i need to make sure i can afford my parents' "affordable" medical expenses should they fall sick? cuz i cant send home SGD$200 and know that my family is living and eating well ? cuz i cant jus slap my butt, abandon the contract scholarship and my country for that matter and jus go to a better place?

Shutterx

Fully agree with you.

nobody with a sane mind will spend his $1000 on 40"LCD is he can't afford. most ppl think abt increasing cost of living and stagnating pay.

1) if u are single, what is the pay n how much do u spend to satisfy your minimum standard of living?

2) if u are married n hv 2 kids already, how much u spent to buy the flat? what are the household expenses? what abt savings for the family?

answer the 2 questions with any estimated figures and then think why ppl are complaining and worry that cheaper FW/FT are taking jobs.

alvinaloy

This happens in every company I know of. If a FT takes a top position who has control over manpower, he/she will only hire their "breed" only.

And when the top position FT leaves for another company, all his subordinates "kaki" will follow him to the new company since no big brother to shield them or promote them any more.
It's nothing specific to any group of people. Singaporeans do this too. Once someone is hired into a position of power, would he/she not hire people that he/she worked well with in the past?

sunzoner

nobody with a sane mind will spend his $1000 on 40"LCD is he can't afford. most ppl think abt increasing cost of living and stagnating pay.

1) if u are single, what is the pay n how much do u spend to satisfy your minimum standard of living?

2) if u are married n hv 2 kids already, how much u spent to buy the flat? what are the household expenses? what abt savings for the family?

answer the 2 questions with any estimated figures and then think why ppl are complaining and worry that cheaper FW/FT are taking jobs.

unless it is on hire-purchase, and he is reasonable to assume he will keep his job at the current or higher pay (for the duration of the hire-purchase agreement) and thus be able to afford it.

or of cos, unless he have saved the $1000...

cancer81

and not everyone exercises financial restraint and common sense...

common sense is not common... if it was there would be no one getting declared insolvent due to credit card bills

gohsan

Our early generation came when sg was a fishing village they did not come here after sgrean built a huge reserve, after the mrt were built, after the army were formed, etc. Price of flats were not base on more than 5 years of two income. Flat were about 2 years of two incomes until sgrean make this place into a prosperous city and then were hit by higher price of housing as it become more prosperous.

windwaver

Damn sad that even FTs will be out of jobs too. Next thing you know, all jobs are replaced by robots.

Problem is the population is still incresing :s31:, what happened to good old days where you don't bump into people on a daily basis

gohsan

We dont even have enough land for ourselves why get ft to come sqeeze? Why was ther COE for vehicles? The reason given was sg cannot built road indifinitely as we have limited land!! But when it come to ft there is no land issue or ns issue!!!

bigloser

Dude, you are 99.99% affiliated to the PAP.

You dont understand how costs have risen. Ask your parents how much a HDB flat cost in 1980s? :)

Seriously if you want to defend the PAP, find a better reason, lah. I cant find any if you ask me to think. Look at the latest news, FTs getting 1 year to stay in Singapore

windwaver

Dude, you are 99.99% affiliated to the PAP.

You dont understand how costs have risen. Ask your parents how much a HDB flat cost in 1980s? :)

Seriously if you want to defend the PAP, find a better reason, lah. I cant find any if you ask me to think. Look at the latest news, FTs getting 1 year to stay in Singapore

We should also ask how much did your pay cheque increase relative to the increase in govt housing prices.

palim1984

Yep, I have talented FTs with 4 years experience but cannot even do a simple job that is assign to him and ended up I have to do his job. Where FTs programmer can't work on its own but have to sit down there and make sure he don't make mistakes. Seriously I don't know maybe the MNC have some real problem.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.