[Official] Home for Owners of Nook Color (aka Nookers)

generalwu

Hey, lsl7994 can add me in the list? Just gotten it and root it. I must say its very good. :)
Once again, thanks "touchme" for the casing.
Currently i'm using nookie froyo boot from sd and its very good.

lsl7994

Hey, lsl7994 can add me in the list? Just gotten it and root it. I must say its very good. :)
Once again, thanks "touchme" for the casing.
Currently i'm using nookie froyo boot from sd and its very good.

added.

maybe can do a short review/share experience with nookie froyo so that we can compare with CM7? :)

touchme

wa ninjump ish fun! esp on this big screen ... and not big enough machiam carry a yellowpages around!

btw lsl jie jie, launcher ex is better and nicer ah :)

I agree I prefer ADW launcher EX.

btw, I wonder, issit just me, but my battery seems to be deteriorating. Never use much today, prolly aggregate 60 mins, over 8 hours day, battery down to 20%.. Could be an app or background services.

Guilin28

Unless otherwise specified, you can just use the original CWM bootable mSD card that you have to flash a rom, no need to keep making a new one each time. I just keep one as a permanently bootable one since updates tonook firmware are still quite frequent.

scare rom manager boot to cwr later screw up then need to reinstall everything. so i prefer the old school method, i.e. use the bootable mSD to install. unless they specifically mention that this is not recommended.

Here's one question from me:

Supposed we already have Phiremod v5.1, and new version comes out (say 6.1), do we just:

1a. using same SD card with CWR that we have (done earlier), delete the v5.1 zip and replace by v6.1 zip

1b. boot NC via mSD and into CWR, then flash v6.1

So basically option 1. Just keep the bootable CWM and update new ROMs (zip file) there. Thx.

Bro LsL, might want this referenced. Am quite sure many Nookers are like me. Still blur like sotong :s13:

lsl7994

So basically option 1. Just keep the bootable CWM and update new ROMs (zip file) there. Thx.

Bro LsL, might want this referenced. Am quite sure many Nookers are like me. Still blur like sotong :s13:

ok. will add that in. i always keep a 1GB bootable mSD for flashing. very handy.

nomoreliaola

ok for discussion sake.... does whatapps work ah? i think not since it needs hp right

lsl7994

ok for discussion sake.... does whatapps work ah? i think not since it needs hp right

ahboyboi mentioned that you need android hp to create the backup of your contact then transfer the backup to NC. otherwise cannot work.

touchme

cool .... launcher pro has many themes! paging for ahboyboy for his whatapps :)

er... cannot cos the backup will contain his contacts. btw, this thread not for this purpose also.... thanks. :)

sori, nomoreliaola, i think lsl is trying to organise th e 2 threads, in such a way that:
This thread is more tech-based-android section)
  1. ROM development
  2. Tweaks & Enhancements Apps
  3. Troubleshooting
  4. Tech support
  5. Early Nookers list

The other, My Nook COlor thread, being more lifestyle-based-edmw section)
  1. Lifestyle/Gaming Apps & Everyday Solutions/Ideas
  2. Poison & welcome new comers or explorers & General tokok.

So that we dun get mixed up for different topics of interest. Whatsapp affects your daily life, doesn't tweak or technically enhance our NC, so shd belong there.. hope u understand..and dun mind help to disseminate and usher new comers. Am I right , lsl?

generalwu

Have not used cm7 before so i'm not sure how to compare. :(
It's quite stable except there's minor bugs that I encountered:
- default browser not working (Always forced close)
- during wake up on stand by, wi-fi may be in a loop (on/off)
- all 3rd party keyboard not working
- minor graphic bugs

lsl7994

sori, nomoreliaola, i think lsl is trying to organise th e 2 threads, in such a way that:
This thread is more tech-based-android section)
  1. ROM development
  2. Tweaks & Enhancements Apps
  3. Troubleshooting
  4. Tech support
  5. Early Nookers list

The other, My Nook COlor thread, being more lifestyle-based-edmw section)
  1. Lifestyle/Gaming Apps & Everyday Solutions/Ideas
  2. Poison & welcome new comers or explorers & General tokok.

So that we dun get mixed up for different topics of interest. Whatsapp affects your daily life, doesn't tweak or technically enhance our NC, so shd belong there.. hope u understand..and dun mind help to disseminate and usher new comers. Am I right , lsl?

yes. we are hoping to organize in this way. :)

shinzou87

I agree I prefer ADW launcher EX.

btw, I wonder, issit just me, but my battery seems to be deteriorating. Never use much today, prolly aggregate 60 mins, over 8 hours day, battery down to 20%.. Could be an app or background services.

U tried to kill the background services using Advanced Task Killer?
normally i kill to about 4 impt running applications.
Either that or mayb ur screen brightness can be lowered/wifi switch off to save the battery juice?

touchme

U tried to kill the background services using Advanced Task Killer?
normally i kill to about 4 impt running applications.
Either that or mayb ur screen brightness can be lowered/wifi switch off to save the battery juice?

usage 0%-40% brightness, auto-sleep wifi, ATK freq. killing. 1st few days ok, last 4 agregate hours usage, now like only 2 hours...hope it's isolated case.

Now talk to you oso paiseh and scared.

lsl7994

usage 0%-40% brightness, auto-sleep wifi, ATK freq. killing. 1st few days ok, last 4 agregate hours usage, now like only 2 hours...hope it's isolated case.

you sure your NC is fully charged i.e. the green indicator is on? 100% batt status on NC could be deceiving because of some battery status file inside the system is not working well. can't recall the exact details read from other forums.

touchme

you sure your NC is fully charged i.e. the green indicator is on? 100% batt status on NC could be deceiving because of some battery status file inside the system is not working well. can't recall the exact details read from other forums.
not too good sigs for me leh.. ytd morning, charged green at 99%, now it's charged green at 95%. I hope it's some indicator bugs.

shinzou87

Haha, y so paiseh and scared, no grudges held or anything and both parties are cool with it too. =]

Btw, what are the impt services that we probably shdn't kill using ATK?
For all I know is just ATK itself and Google services.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.