How much Saving is in your bank at 30yrs old

GenuineSeller

I used to be, but nothing special, imho...I think I am better off managing my wealth myself....but if you are looking into lifestyle, the new uob privilege banking looks good, but now need 350K, I suppose you have that's why you are asking, the uob privilege reserve banking needs 2 millions...got yacht for you to use

Yeah, it's more for lifestyle. Wealth management I will do it myself too. Why did you say UOB Privilege banking is good?

Others for consideration are:-

HSBC Premier
StdCht Priority
Citigold
etc

Cheers

WindBoi

wow u r only 30? u write like u had many years of experience! i think u r an IT professional from yer blog...how did u get yer financial education to write and analyse relatively informatively??

alot of hard knocks and reading. i am an operations and support engineer by day . just read observe and learn. there are younger guys out there haha.

i am quite risk adverse actually.

friendlyguy

$100 -> $200 is 100%.

In SG penny stocks, using percent is almost as good as bluffing urself. 0.005 cents becomes 0.01 is like upz 100%.

Anyway ur frend's a broker, and I have seen countless broker doing front-running on a small scale. All trying to sms/call out frends to buy when they receive big buy orders, else loggin into different frends account to make the cut.

Try betting with 20mil OPM, I see if he can up by 50% to 30mil.

Sorry off topic. Let's get back to TS's original topic.

I lost 60% of my money since I followed him.
Want to wait for the right issue 1:20, 1 for 20 new shares. And I don't have much money to buy it, can I sell my right at the cash market? My broker gave wrong info right issue 1:1, then suddenly price went down lots.. my shares decreasing to 60%, now still at 40% cash only without shares. Then has additional 22.4% of the right share which the price is 1. Sian.

iPrideFS

Be it at 30yo, 40yo, or 50yo... your savings in bank should just be for Emergency and daily uses. Keeping more is not really saving, because the interests rate is very much lower than inflation.

friendlyguy

Be it at 30yo, 40yo, or 50yo... your savings in bank should just be for Emergency and daily uses. Keeping more is not really saving, because the interests rate is very much lower than inflation.

losing money on inflation is better than losing money in stock market.

friendlyguy

I agree. Many children in Singapore are indeed stressed up. The parents oso stressed up. Not really a conducive environment to bring up a child.

i figured tat i dun need to "get married" for kids. Reason being the world, Earth, have had enough of humans. Just India and China alone would supply enough human beings to keep this economy going.

Our gahment is also aiming to achieve the New York City style. No pri/sec/jc schs. Everyone is imported. Just pure working adults in their 20s-40s in the highest paying sectors.

I'll rather end the misery than to try have kids, bring them to the world and suffer.

The fundamental Law of one price tells me if an accountant in SG makes 150k sgd/yr vs accountant in India or China makes 50k/yr. Then sooner or later everyone will flock over to us, the higher paying country and soon end all high salary...

Even with my 100k Portfolio churning 1k-2k a month, eventually things get more expensive, and I'll to increase to 150k, 200k just to get enuff passive income. sian.

you both don't want to marry? so jin emo...
what if you are the only son?
people will look that you are selfish although you think your children will suffer if they are born to this world

augustman

I always got banks and insurance ppl telling me to invest in UT or watever plans they have becos inflation is rising and having cash in banks is useless.

Is it really that necessary to 'beat' the inflation rate?

augustman

people will look that you are selfish although you think your children will suffer if they are born to this world

I'm only son also and I dont think its selfish not to have kids.

I see so many ppl bring kids to this world and what the kids has is a maid as a mother. Issnt that worse??

Having kids just becos its seen as a natural thing to do doesnt mean its right.

If u treat your parents and yourself with respect, why bother about what those aunties will say?

friendlyguy

I'm only son also and I dont think its selfish not to have kids.

I see so many ppl bring kids to this world and what the kids has is a maid as a mother. Issnt that worse??

Having kids just becos its seen as a natural thing to do doesnt mean its right.

If u treat your parents and yourself with respect, why bother about what those aunties will say?

I am the only son, I am afraid my father wants the grandchild. But a son will be cute too..but nowadays, it is very expensive to bear a child.

Why don't you marry a woman who wants to take care a child?
btw, so you don't want a child, then will you marry? how to convince your bride not to have child?

Dividends Warrior

Thank goodness I am not the only son! :s13:

Still have a brother to pass on the family name.

iPrideFS

I always got banks and insurance ppl telling me to invest in UT or watever plans they have becos inflation is rising and having cash in banks is useless.

Is it really that necessary to 'beat' the inflation rate?

Is it really necessary to maintain your purchasing power? =)

Dividends Warrior

you don't want to marry? want to be lonely in your old days?

I dunno about other people, but "fear of loneliness" is not a good reason for me to get married.

There are other ways of solving loneliness. Close friends, siblings, a pet etc.....

Secondly, being married does not guarantee that you would not be lonely.

augustman

I am the only son, I am afraid my father wants the grandchild. But a son will be cute too..but nowadays, it is very expensive to bear a child.

Why don't you marry a woman who wants to take care a child?
btw, so you don't want a child, then will you marry? how to convince your bride not to have child?

if i got married and my wife wants a kid, then i dun mind lah.

I just feel that most families dun spend enough time together. Parents work and work... and kids grow up with maid.

augustman

There's alternatives mah.

I just sick of ppl telling me that beating inflation is very important. Invest in anything is better than cash in banks. LOL...

friendlyguy

japan no need to beat inflation, they face deflation :D
gold is power.

I dunno about other people, but "fear of loneliness" is not a good reason for me to get married.

There are other ways of solving loneliness. Close friends, siblings, a pet etc.....

Secondly, being married does not guarantee that you would not be lonely.

quite true, sometimes girls make you crazy. the most hapiness I am when I always visit my cousin every weekend. Play with her children, her son is quite cute still 1 yr old. her husband is friendly too, he and I play stocks.

Friends also good, but how they all are married?

if i got married and my wife wants a kid, then i dun mind lah.

I just feel that most families dun spend enough time together. Parents work and work... and kids grow up with maid.

I thought you don't want kids. NOT true, my cousin left her job to raise children!! find the modest wife, no need the career women whatever, the most important she can cook and raise children.

homer123

losing money on inflation is better than losing money in stock market.

Well said..I lost more than 100K in the stock market during last 5 years. If I have keep cash, the inflation erosion will be less than 5 k.

jeronleow

I am 26 and only have $30k. I started saving only 1.5 years ago. I have about $5k+ in ILP on unit trust that I stopped because of all the negative remarks about them. However I leave the money in it to grow with no penalty if I were to withdraw them. Where to buy unit trust with no insurance linked?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.