Android apps discussion for phones (No games)

genie47

IM+ only shows ads when you are in the app. And IM+ has push notification.

That I know. Just taking a jab at this ad supported thing that the app works are sort of stuck with. Wonder how many of us click on the ads from the apps? Does Google release data on this......for a price?

genie47

Yeah...it's as if none of the apps you use on Android has no ads..... :D I rather take ads over a decreased battery life. :D And if you think ads take up battery over IMO's constant connection, you know nuts about ads on Android. :(

I may know nuts about Android but I know good work when I see it and I know a ransom note when I see one.

I'd rather give donations to good work that came free without ads. So far, hateman (siMi folder) got some of my money and hopefully with some translation Aoyama (twicca) will get some from me as well.

kennyboy

I may know nuts about Android but I know good work when I see it and I know a ransom note when I see one.

I'd rather give donations to good work that came free without ads. So far, hateman (siMi folder) got some of my money and hopefully with some translation Aoyama (twicca) will get some from me as well.
Nvm lah...u happy can liao. You are the only person to donate or pay for apps. :D Meanwhile those in the know will continue enjoy battery savings with C2DM. :D Your poison, you drink it. :D

temasekcity

To Kennyboy, streaming in ads waste no battery and only C2DM saves battery. Why argue with him? Save your breath.

It is good to know you donate for worth causes and recognise developer's effort.

Vulpix

That I know. Just taking a jab at this ad supported thing that the app works are sort of stuck with. Wonder how many of us click on the ads from the apps? Does Google release data on this......for a price?

Not everyone is willing to pay for apps especially on the Android platform according to some of the surveys done this year by various sites. Ads are the only other way to get some income. If the author thinks ads are the way to go (as long as it's not intrusive and not the type that push ads to you like the recent scandal), I'm fine with an ad somewhere in the app. Don't hate the player, hate the game.

lobo76

Thanks, now we know you don't know how to comprehend English. :D

Or you don't understand the concept of context?:s13:

He say "no need for whatsapp". If the context was just to refer to it as just another app that allows pple to talk to each other... then there is, in fact, nothing special about this app. Why highlight this app at all? There are already plenty of app (also free) that can do the same job. You yourself mentioned the kik messenger as a better alternative to whatsapp.

Hence the obvious interpretation (to me) would be that it is to be a replacement for whatsapp. But what is whatsapp for? To talk to pple with whatsapp lor. It is this community that is already on whatsapp that makes it valuable.

Having wrote the above, I realised it required more thinking than you may be used to (though it was all in the background for me).... next time, I will try be clearer so that you can actually understand. There is however, a certain level, that I might not quite be able to reach... down. :s8:

kennyboy

He say "no need for whatsapp". If the context was just to refer to it as just another app that allows pple to talk to each other... then there is, in fact, nothing special about this app. Why highlight this app at all? There are already plenty of app (also free) that can do the same job. You yourself mentioned the kik messenger as a better alternative to whatsapp.

Hence the obvious interpretation (to me) would be that it is to be a replacement for whatsapp. But what is whatsapp for? To talk to pple with whatsapp lor. It is this community that is already on whatsapp that makes it valuable.

Having wrote the above, I realised it required more thinking than you may be used to (though it was all in the background for me).... next time, I will try be clearer so that you can actually understand. There is however, a certain level, that I might not quite be able to reach... down. :s8:
Again, it just shows you can't comprehend the proper English that genie47 wrote, and no amount of wrangling around you try will change that fact. :D

"No need to sign up for new account like Whatsapp."

I bet, if I say :

"No need to check for lack of intelligence in lobo76"

You would immediately lambast me for insulting you when I would be obviously praising your intelligence. :D

Thankfully, not many people here are as bad at comprehension as you...Thank God! :D

temasekcity

Kennyboy's English is very powerful. Check your "grammer" first.

Afterwhich, check again and make sure it is ISO UK standard.

temasekcity

Again, it just shows you can't comprehend the proper English that genie47 wrote, and no amount of wrangling around you try will change that fact. :D

Thankfully, not many people here are as bad at comprehension as you...Thank God! :D

Even GOD is helping him in English.

kennyboy

Not everyone is willing to pay for apps especially on the Android platform according to some of the surveys done this year by various sites. Ads are the only other way to get some income. If the author thinks ads are the way to go (as long as it's not intrusive and not the type that push ads to you like the recent scandal), I'm fine with an ad somewhere in the app. Don't hate the player, hate the game.
Don't bother lah....it's not logic they're after. It's me. :D As seen by my fan favorite coming in to join the +1 party after I added it to my ignore list. :D

genie47

Then my support will go to the players I want in the game. Those that don't use ads and do good quality work.

Well, then I will continue to support people like hateman, Aoyama and kgill7 with my donations.

genie47

Don't bother lah....it's not logic they're after. It's me. :D As seen by my fan favorite coming in to join the +1 party after I added it to my ignore list. :D

Soccer fans don't have logic when they support their favorite teams. I'll put my money with the ones that don't use ads.

genie47

Nvm lah...u happy can liao. You are the only person to donate or pay for apps. :D Meanwhile those in the know will continue enjoy battery savings with C2DM. :D Your poison, you drink it. :D

imo free lah. So far, I like the work of the guys whose work I like. Battery savings can be argued to another end but we don't want this. Good work not just good apps are worth supporting.

kennyboy

imo free lah. So far, I like the work of the guys whose work I like. Battery savings can be argued to another end but we don't want this. Good work not just good apps are worth supporting.
Of course man, whatever pleases you. :D

I like my Trillian but I dun feel the need to urge the whole world to use it. :D And I like my battery savings, so thanks for the recommendation anyway. :D

genie47

Only listen to the best... Class 95.5FM.

Huh? Your FM tuner off issit? Got 95.5 meh? ;) Haven't listened to radio for a long time. :s13:

Anyway, when pedantic stuff brought into a thread, can be rather telling of the situation.

kennyboy

Huh? Your FM tuner off issit? Got 95.5 meh? ;) Haven't listened to radio for a long time. :s13:

Anyway, when pedantic stuff brought into a thread, can be rather telling of the situation.
I apologize for my groupies. :(

I can stand by my own words, but not the crap that spurts out uncontrollably out of my followers' dirt encrusted holes. :(

So sorry...... :(

genie47

Ok back to Apps. I found a video of siMi folder. Gives you an idea how it is used. I think my English might be a problem to some from my explanation in the earlier post. :s13:

This is the first version when it was released. The new version I have has the mixed folders. The donate version is basically the same as the free version but I think there are more "unlimited options" that I might find useful. But as I have said, it might slow your phone if you added too many and it sort of defeats the purpose of the scrolling window where you have to scroll like forever.

For the "clean freaks". :s13: I think you can add the widget to Widgetlockr if you have it installed.

EDIT: Sorry. Just played with an "unlimited option". In the donate version, you can make folder of folders. So the organization can get deeper if you want it to. So far, I have not used it. Just played with it.

kennyboy

For those using Perfect Viewer, it now has PDF support.

Tried a little bit of it, seems to work fine for a 60+mb PDf.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.