UniSIM January 2012 Intake

littlepig

I dont understand the exams timetable man..all the modules i planned to choose i cant seem to find their codes in the exam timetables:s13:

btw the ucore module essential academic writing skills is usually on which day?

U see the calendar for the ucore think 2 session nia and the date is there. It's the work to be done that kills. heard that the second tutorial is the up lorry one

IceX

Powerpack leh bro! I seriously of the seriously think u shd reconsider leh... Hahahahahah.

Ure also biz rite! Hope we in same class! I chose
Management ob n fa n cor160

haha sis hopefully ah..btw how much did u have to pay?

potNPan

U see the calendar for the ucore think 2 session nia and the date is there. It's the work to be done that kills. heard that the second tutorial is the up lorry one

The 2.5CU ucores are all quite light I suspect. I took academic writing and personal financial mgmt. Both very little work.

I took one 5CU one and that was damn scary haha. Two solo assignments + exam. Workload felt like more than my regular subjects even.

viridian

The 2.5CU ucores are all quite light I suspect. I took academic writing and personal financial mgmt. Both very little work.

I took one 5CU one and that was damn scary haha. Two solo assignments + exam. Workload felt like more than my regular subjects even.

dont underestimate essential writing and personal finances..the 2nd tmas for both quite a lot of work. for essential writing you need to write a report totally based on yr research to the qn. for personal finance, a lot of calculations involved. we had a tough time for personal finance tma 2 cos the standard has risen. advise you to start yr tmas early.

onghuisi

1)Stats
2)OB
3)QM
4)Management

+ 2 UCore..

Planning to go home and choose this.

So judging by this, means I probably got to go to lessons 3 times per week huh?

i think u r taking too many subjects lol...the best is 4 subjects every semester regardless the credit unit. unless u r not working

simon_84

Cor167 is super time consuming...best not taken with other calculation main modules.

ANAN84

Cor167 is super time consuming...best not taken with other calculation main modules.

bro how is your prepartion for MA..

you got pratice process costings??

the last 2 sems papers for process costing is very different from lectuer's slides leh sianzz

and you got study thoery questions???

derekliu

oh no.....

now im demoralized :s22:

so reporting in!

business student.

1) Management
2) OB
3) Financial ac
4) COR160

anybody same same as me......

u straight away took one lvl 2 course? Not intending to clear all lvl 1 modules 1st?

Can skip the ucore for the 1st sem? I was thinking of the 4 lvl 1 course for 1st sem only. Mainly management, stats, OB and QM

potNPan

dont underestimate essential writing and personal finances..the 2nd tmas for both quite a lot of work. for essential writing you need to write a report totally based on yr research to the qn. for personal finance, a lot of calculations involved. we had a tough time for personal finance tma 2 cos the standard has risen. advise you to start yr tmas early.

Eh... I already completed both and that was my opinion of their workload... Subjective I suppose.

IceX

i think u r taking too many subjects lol...the best is 4 subjects every semester regardless the credit unit. unless u r not working

sigh cause I'm not getting any younger..target to get the degree in 3 years time..I chose 4 subjects mah..unless ur referring to the 2 U Cores..:o

Mrtesting

Help!

These are the only 4 courses offered for me

PSY107 Introduction to Psychology 1 1 5 181 965 AVAILABLE TUESDAY / WEEK 1 / TERM 1
PSY108 Introduction to Psychology 2 1 5 189 966 AVAILABLE TUESDAY / WEEK 1 / TERM 2
SSC109 Introduction to Social Sciences 1 5 238 1071 AVAILABLE MONDAY / WEEK 1 / TERM 1
SSC111 The Moral Compass 1 5 239 1072 AVAILABLE MONDAY / WEEK 1 / TERM 2

So basically, I can take all 4? And the other 2 will fall on the 2nd term?

Also, I need to take a total of 4 U Cores (total 10cu)? (and at least one of each per "basket" ?)

simon_84

bro how is your prepartion for MA..

you got pratice process costings??

the last 2 sems papers for process costing is very different from lectuer's slides leh sianzz

and you got study thoery questions???

i'm currently fixated on process costing and ABC.
i hope they don't come out in FIFO method for process costing as i have no idea how to do...
will plan to practice more on budget and variance analysis, as for cost concepts, that question will be hard to spot...
quite scared that they come out cash budget and partial income statement as well.

theory questions, think i'm prepared to show hand.
maybe will concentrate on the limitations of ABC or the difference between job costing and ABC but that will depend if i have additional time to go read up.

spent too much time on FA already...

ANAN84

i'm currently fixated on process costing and ABC.
i hope they don't come out in FIFO method for process costing as i have no idea how to do...
will plan to practice more on budget and variance analysis, as for cost concepts, that question will be hard to spot...
quite scared that they come out cash budget and partial income statement as well.

theory questions, think i'm prepared to show hand.
maybe will concentrate on the limitations of ABC or the difference between job costing and ABC but that will depend if i have additional time to go read up.

spent too much time on FA already...

so you study only PPT slides arh???

CCB the process costings die die will come out in exams leh.. but so different from slides and text book also never offer smiliar questions to tackle .. see liao jin sian

haha theory questions i scare them come out in siminar 2.. whole ******* siminar i dunno they will come out question or not..

me now see internet for more process costing.. once that 1 clear liao can concentrate on others liao.. others are more easiler to me..

potNPan

sigh cause I'm not getting any younger..target to get the degree in 3 years time..I chose 4 subjects mah..unless ur referring to the 2 U Cores..:o

4 + 2 is... erm... not too bad lah. Would recommend if you're gonna do that at least pick both 2.5CU ucores. Don't pick 5CU U core if you taking so many subjects.

Help!

These are the only 4 courses offered for me

So basically, I can take all 4? And the other 2 will fall on the 2nd term?

Also, I need to take a total of 4 U Cores (total 10cu)? (and at least one of each per "basket" ?)

Yes. 2 first term, 2 second.

IIRC, four 2.5CU u cores or two 2.5CU + one 5CU.

simon_84

so you study only PPT slides arh???

CCB the process costings die die will come out in exams leh.. but so different from slides and text book also never offer smiliar questions to tackle .. see liao jin sian

haha theory questions i scare them come out in siminar 2.. whole ******* siminar i dunno they will come out question or not..

me now see internet for more process costing.. once that 1 clear liao can concentrate on others liao.. others are more easiler to me..

having go through some examples in textbook, i would say don't waste your time reading up now.
straight away go and practice, then follow the same format your lecturer gone through, sure can get the answers one unless you plug the wrong figure.
MA is plug and play for figures in process costing (WA) and tradition costing plus ABC.
only in budget, need some percentage calculation for inventory.

simon_84

u straight away took one lvl 2 course? Not intending to clear all lvl 1 modules 1st?

i took both econs in my 1st sem, some courses like finance has only one L1 module which is stats, the rest of the courses basically start from L2.

IceX

4 + 2 is... erm... not too bad lah. Would recommend if you're gonna do that at least pick both 2.5CU ucores. Don't pick 5CU U core if you taking so many subjects.

Yes. 2 first term, 2 second.

IIRC, four 2.5CU u cores or two 2.5CU + one 5CU.

haha most likely I only take 4 + 1ucore or 3+1 ucore liao..due to money issues sighhh...4+2 is too chor for me atm :(

littlepig

haha sis hopefully ah..btw how much did u have to pay?

me ah...meaning.. is $495.95 * 2 + $563.36 + $245.57 - $500 = $1300.83. HUAT AH!

Can skip the ucore for the 1st sem? I was thinking of the 4 lvl 1 course for 1st sem only. Mainly management, stats, OB and QM

management and OB is theory got exam. was actually thinking of taking QM instead of FA. stats not so coz if i take stats then 2 paper nia. abit too relax liao.

my death point is accounting i feel. so tot of breaking up study. one now. next sem one more. tgt i will up lorry one. hahhaahaha.

and ucore u can dun take ah. next sem then take lor.

haha most likely I only take 4 + 1ucore or 3+1 ucore liao..due to money issues sighhh...4+2 is too chor for me atm :(

take 3+1 ah like me lor!! then we can all study go class tgt. same same project group!!!!

remember jio me ok!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.