AsiaBox Full HD Media And Apps Player

toopidpaka

I'm an asiabox owner... a very disappointed one. Content not good enough, buffering ever so often for most of the shows. Only the ability to add apps is saving it. Good for families fun though: all shows in the vod apps are heavily censored. No naked scenes, no f*** word. Frequent buffering trains your kids' patience.

lorettatay

I'm an asiabox owner... a very disappointed one. Content not good enough, buffering ever so often for most of the shows. Only the ability to add apps is saving it. Good for families fun though: all shows in the vod apps are heavily censored. No naked scenes, no f*** word. Frequent buffering trains your kids' patience.

time to switch to neomedia d70 liao lor

beyondaction

Thanks Raceworld. Any comments by the rest. I was at sls yesterday. Looking at asiabox. The lady offer me $220 w/o wifi dongle. She said price will go up for this coming IT show. She also mention next week new app for internet browser will be updated. Was following D70 thread also with interest. I intend to terminate mio, starhub, upgrade to m1 fiber and get 1 of these devices.

if you want to have live tv and lots of content, go for D70.
If you want to have user friendly interface and karaoke, go for asiabox.

I'm using asiabox om M1 100MBPS fiber, mimimal buffering issues.
No major complains, but no 2012 content until now.

I'll consider switching to D70 if I run out of shows in watch in asiabox.

Cheers!!

tekster

if you want to have live tv and lots of content, go for D70.
If you want to have user friendly interface and karaoke, go for asiabox.

I'm using asiabox om M1 100MBPS fiber, mimimal buffering issues.
No major complains, but no 2012 content until now.

I'll consider switching to D70 if I run out of shows in watch in asiabox.

Cheers!!

Yea really is pui chao nua. Can't even find sherlock holmes. Damnzzzz

beyondaction

Asiabox HDII for IT show tomorrow?

Saw that Amconics is having a show booth tomorrow at the IT show, showcasing the 2012 Asiabox??!!!!

Seems like they just add stickers beside the HDII and call it 2012 model!!

kd2000

I bought Asiabox at IT Show. The content is far from what they advertised or showed during the show. Although the list shows there are thousands of movies, most of them are trailers only or the quality is very bad. LE TV and Very HD apps are not working or when it works it's only at very low quality. And so far I've not found any 3d movies so the two 3d goggles they gave are useless. As a media player, it's not bad. I stream my movies from my NAS and it works fine.

stl_67

I bought Asiabox at IT Show. The content is far from what they advertised or showed during the show. Although the list shows there are thousands of movies, most of them are trailers only or the quality is very bad. LE TV and Very HD apps are not working or when it works it's only at very low quality. And so far I've not found any 3d movies so the two 3d goggles they gave are useless. As a media player, it's not bad. I stream my movies from my NAS and it works fine.

Hi, how do you stream the movies from NAS? anything tips i can read.
i bought 1 and quite dsiappointed.

Luzhiseng

Try to set to local DNS ,record down the current DNS just in case u want to set it back.

beyondaction

Asiabox HDII

Hi, I was at the IT show and saw the demo as well. The demo only showed the good part and did not showed the reality of it. After the demo, I tried to search for latest 2012 TVB serials using Asiavod and there are only 2 serial previews.

The content for asiabox is really disappointing if you are looking for the latest serials and movies.

I bought one during Sitex last year and still using it to watch older serials that I have missed. If you want latest content, I would think Neomedia D70 is a better choice.

However, the user interface is not as nice as Asiabox. You would need to know what to search for as their search function is good. And the best part, no buffering issues at all when I saw the demo.

I'm still using Asiabox until I run out of things to watch. And hopefully by then, 2012 content are in. If not, no choice but to get Neomedia D70. Oh, did I mention that they have tons of live TV as well. Thumbs up for D70.

Last thing, I heard of complains that the intial setup for wifi connection for D70 can be a pain. So if you are a noob like me, asiabox is better. But with limited contents.

Cheers.

kaedetseng

i also bought during the recent IT show, was using it to stream karaoke, but the buffering took forever !!! Am using Starhub fibre 100mbps ... :(

stl_67

i also bought during the recent IT show, was using it to stream karaoke, but the buffering took forever !!! Am using Starhub fibre 100mbps ... :(

Starhub 100mbps should be super fast and sufficient right?

i bought the unit to SLS and get it tested. The karaok buffering is ok leh.:s11: The told me that they are only using 12 mbps ..

I am using 6mbps at the moment

robtan99

It may be your setting behind the wireless router that is causing the slowness.

Maybe you want to DMZ the IP for media player to be out of the network.

longman77

since yesterday start live VOD & TV just showing "could not play, retrying" when play the movie.
but Le TV & VeryHD no issue. :(

jerkov88

I will sue Asiabox

I bought an Asiabox in Singapore and now the machine has ruined my marriage. I watched so many shows i practically fell asleep infront of the TV while it was still playing. I neglected my wife and kids and when i woke up from the stupor, I find out it has ruined my life. I also suffered from blindness from staring at the TV screen all day. Now that i'm blind and all alone, I am considering suing them for overloading my brain.

asiaboxSUX

My asiabox caught fire...

I plug my asiabox to my old tv and the power cable to my wall socket. Somehow i spilled water onto my asiabox and it caught fire. Luckily my whole family was at home to put out the fire if not i sure ganna burn to death !! WTH.. asiabox so ez tio fire meh?!?! Either my TV dun want me to watch asiabox or god wants me to study hard for my exam.. ZzZzZzZzZzZzZ !!

asiaboxSUX

since yesterday start live VOD & TV just showing "could not play, retrying" when play the movie.
but Le TV & VeryHD no issue. :(

at least you could watch something.. i cannot watch anything elsee !!! asiabox and tv both burnt...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.