The Intel Z77 Motherboard Owners & Users thread

MacClipper

Already informed you guys much earlier in post #376 but you guys didn't read between the lines... of course, cannot say it until too obvious also lah. =:p

Wonder who will be the ones posting tonight... all power to them and 3570K! :)

persentio

Already informed you guys much earlier in post #376 but you guys didn't read between the lines... of course, cannot say it until too obvious also lah. =:p

That was only about ~4+ hours ago... (According to the post time) It looked more like those "special" reviewers or early adopters who get to specially have the stocks on press release day... Didn't know regular consumers can get also!

Only 3570K available tho? Got the 'regular' 3450 / 3550?

MacClipper

Had to keep it lower profile so at least my informer can get his chip too mah, if I make it too obvious and he can't get his chip, I die liao... lol

enenyi

Had to keep it lower profile so at least my informer can get his chip too mah, if I make it too obvious and he can't get his chip, I die liao... lol
must b parallel import one...coz local distros still under NDA so shops under them will hav to wait till the 29th date. Parallel importers have no restrictions on them other than the one Intel imposed but of course the buyers have to depend on the parallel import retailers to honour the warranty lor...

MacClipper

More Ivy Bridge benchmarks ... post #596

Eggy88 said:
I have realized that the thing with these chips is that temperature tests need to be done over an extended time. After 5min i saw 20c lower max temps then after 30min, even tho the water temp did not change much. The 6x120 GTX is able to keep it to ~4c air vs water, and the water temp only rises with ~2c during load. But it looks like the chip is slowly building up heat. With the 3770K's and HT @ 1.35v i got temps in the mid 50's after 5min, 10min was high 60's, 20min low 70's, and @ 25min it had jumped up to ~77c before i shut it down.
The tests that are showing prime runs on air/water after 5-6 min does not mean a thing. If they have air runs @ 5min with 80C it will for sure hit TjMax after 30min.

Er, now what's coming next? :eek:

MacClipper

And all that would be consistent with the theory that the present Ivy chips have a big problem of piss poor heat dissipation.

Wonder if you can only overclock Ivy and game/trancode or do any strenous crunching faster... but only for short spells before the heat builds up and shuts down the whole rig... just like a cheetah! :vijayadmin:

MacClipper

Part of the reasons for trapped heat - Intel cheaped out under the IHS for Ivy? Using paste instead of solder.
Overclockers Forums - View Single Post

attachment.php

Razor blade time? =:p

A delidded dead 2500K in comparison, the IHS is soldered - the yellowish rectangular patch is apparently a gold layer.

attachment.php

sharkapl

thanks for sharing mac...

just wondering would the bird dropping or 1 line thermal paste method would be better now after reading page 89

MacClipper

Think should be horzontal line to be keeping with the orientation seen in the photo shown in post #393.

But may not make much of a difference if the rate limiting step of thermal transfer is actually at the core -> IHS interface and not the IHS -> HSF interface. The fomer is more likely since early adopters have complained of heat build up over prolonged stress loading even with chilled water at 10C.

Really just too bad for now.

sharkapl

ya you are right, maybe its wiser to wait for a newer rev or stepping for now, 20c more heat just doesnt make sense for something "tick"

the worst thing is i am gg change from my cogage arrow to antec khuler 620, temps confirm a problem

FatalethaL

Think should be horzontal line to be keeping with the orientation seen in the photo shown in post #393.

But may not make much of a difference if the rate limiting step of thermal transfer is actually at the core -> IHS interface and not the IHS -> HSF interface. The fomer is more likely since early adopters have complained of heat build up over prolonged stress loading even with chilled water at 10C.

Really just too bad for now.

even if its bad rite now... what are the chances of intel producing IB wif a new stepping?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.