any nice dian xin in Singapore ?

thewiseone

Another one to add to the list of nice authentic cantonese dim sum (though a little more pricey)...

Asia Grand Restaurant @ Odeon Towers.

thewiseone

Ala carte but they have a section with a table to showcase some of the specialties that u can pick.

The place is crowded, so its best to make a reservation before going down (especially during weekends).

Their dim sum is as authentic as u can get, both the chef and the manager are HKers if i'm not mistaken. Be warned though, typical of many HK chefs, the food is a little heavy handed on salt.

This one is ala carte or buffet?

twtan14

Ala carte but they have a section with a table to showcase some of the specialties that u can pick.

The place is crowded, so its best to make a reservation before going down (especially during weekends).

Their dim sum is as authentic as u can get, both the chef and the manager are HKers if i'm not mistaken. Be warned though, typical of many HK chefs, the food is a little heavy handed on salt.

Thanks, will bring my mother to go try.

swatchie

IMHO, their dim sum slightly above average only. Nothing to crow about :o I only like their $28 peking duck :D Last time it used to be called Tsui Hang. :D

thewiseone

In Singapore's context, i think the dim sum is already much better than many of the other restaurants, even the more pricey ones. Its not the best but still ok. However, its their ala carte dishes thats really a cut above the rest, though somewhat ex. The wasabi egg plant with black sesame is nice. The spinach with fried shrimp and garlic is nice too... but its $22. I think most of the dishes are priced from $2X. There are also some baked cheese dish which i was not in time to try, they need 20 mins to prepare. Last order for lunch is 2:30pm.. so if u intend to try those dishes, make sure u order early.

IMHO, their dim sum slightly above average only. Nothing to crow about :o I only like their $28 peking duck :D Last time it used to be called Tsui Hang. :D

swatchie

In Singapore's context, i think the dim sum is already much better than many of the other restaurants, even the more pricey ones. Its not the best but still ok. However, its their ala carte dishes thats really a cut above the rest, though somewhat ex. The wasabi egg plant with black sesame is nice. The spinach with fried shrimp and garlic is nice too... but its $22. I think most of the dishes are priced from $2X. There are also some baked cheese dish which i was not in time to try, they need 20 mins to prepare. Last order for lunch is 2:30pm.. so if u intend to try those dishes, make sure u order early.

$20+/dish isn't really considered expensive. You will be surprised at the prices if you stepped into some of the higher end Chinese restaurants. :o

I don't know if Asia Grand improved their standards but my last meal there with 6-7 other people wasn't that great but maybe they have upped their standards to keep up with the competition :)

_m0r0n_

Red star sucks to core i think...dun dare to go there liao.
ermm..normally go wahlok and royal china..

quirkyhill

surprised to see a number of die hard red star fans here... i've read a lot of bad reviews about them online...

deodorant

New to dimsum scene here, tried YanTing the other day and thought it was "not bad." and also quite good value for money leh since I only needed to pay like $26/pax for it (considering 5 star hotel restaurant).

yanting1-9.jpg

yanting1-10.jpg

yanting1-7.jpg

(blogwhore link)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.