Samsung Galaxy S3 - It's Finally here!

carey

iphone696.jpg

Just out of the box - haven't had a chance to play with it much as it came around 10pm last night...

Question - I downloaded a few apps from the Google Marketplace - the apps manager said they are installed but I can't find those apps to pin onto the home screen? :s22:

Is it because I never put in my SIM card? hahah

Still using my fruit phone for now - cos I haven't transfer all my junk out

Which leads me to my next question - what's the best way to do data migration from fruit phone to S3?

carey

porting over of number is rather easy, as the telco will handle everything for u. jus need to w8 for ur number to be ported over lor. would take a few days i think.

sian leh. y new line sign up can waive off sim card charges but existing lines re-contract from big 3g sim card to microsim card need to pay? machim penalise ur existing customer right? talking abt orange anyway.. the cso die die dun wan to waive off for me...

No leh, both Red and Green gave me a free micro SIM card even though I didn't ask for it - already using one on my fruit phone...

Red one even comes with an adapter...hahah

jedi5diah

I dont prefer neither ui. But small text looks much better on htc one x. Also i like the ability to toggle on off flash player from menu button on the one x. No text reflow is also frustration on samsung but i think can live with it.

i believe text reflow is in the settings, maybe its not auto but double tap like aosp browser.

JuXn5566

iphone696.jpg

Just out of the box - haven't had a chance to play with it much as it came around 10pm last night...

Question - I downloaded a few apps from the Google Marketplace - the apps manager said they are installed but I can't find those apps to pin onto the home screen? :s22:

Is it because I never put in my SIM card? hahah

Still using my fruit phone for now - cos I haven't transfer all my junk out

Which leads me to my next question - what's the best way to do data migration from fruit phone to S3?

press and hold the icon in Apps, then u can pin to homescreen.
Apps is the page where u find all your apps, homescreen for shortcuts and widgets.

masashi

Anybody have problems fixing the travel adapter? I can't seem to fix the 2 parts together no matter what :(

XasakuraX

No leh, both Red and Green gave me a free micro SIM card even though I didn't ask for it - already using one on my fruit phone...

Red one even comes with an adapter...hahah

mine is orange :( previously using those normal 3G sim card. then s3 need microsim mah. the staff didnt even ask me lah. i hv to tell him i need microsim then he orh.:s8: then i ask him gt waived off not he said no... unless i sign new line, then it would be waived (cos corp plan) :s22::s11: i called 1627, also same reply.....

a bit lame to switch number jus for that $20 right, so LL pay lor...

yar i know red gt give free microsim card n adapter.. haiz... too bad i chose to stay w orange...

any orange-ers that is renew contract and converting to microsim and the staff waived off ur charges? :o

carey

press and hold the icon in Apps, then u can pin to homescreen.
Apps is the page where u find all your apps, homescreen for shortcuts and widgets.

Nope, it's not there...hahah

I am not a complete tech noob =:p

The download page is blank :(

Is it because I never insert SIM card?

Oh how to off the DLINK (something) function - wrong photos from my network are showing up in my gallery :s13:

InOrAn21

i just got the new S3! May i ask how do u all change the ringtone from your MP3? It is like no settings for me to set at all.

TIA

bhkpop

I didn't know... FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF :mad: Thanks!

Chill bro hahaha... Never mean to dish you :D
I thought that it is obvious that it would be three legged output one, standard in singapore ma.. Sorry if I offended you ;)

carey

Mind sharing that configuration?

You never know that it should be pull up?

The courier did give me a printout of how to configure the settings

Let me get home and scan that in - should be a big help to everyone...

How come they never give to everyone ah? :s22:

masashi

Also one more thing. For the phone itself, I can't seem to find the Samsung unlock option anyway under the settings...Is it only available to the European sets?

carey

i just got the new S3! May i ask how do u all change the ringtone from your MP3? It is like no settings for me to set at all.

TIA

Similar question - those ringtone that I made for my fruit phone - will they work in the S3? hahah

jedi5diah

I thought it's supposed to be used as a 2 pin plug sia.... :(

it gives u a choice to use 2 or 3 pins...so they don't need to repack for us market...

try under settings/security screenlock...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.