UOB PRVI Miles Platinum Card

Suleyman

Just to be clear, and only cause I'm really not versed in this - It is not allowed for one to declare more income than one actually earns?

To IRAS or the bank? Of course! In both cases, it is fraud. In the case of the bank, they may not take any action beyond cancelling your card the moment they find out, and putting a black mark on your credit report, making any future card or loan applications impossible. In the case of IRAS, you can be prosecuted and sent to jail as well as hit with fines.

I'm not trying to fool the bank that I am earning 80K a year. I am going to show that for the past 6 months I have earned 40K. If they accept based on that I don't see anything wrong if they choose to cancel my card later on if I don't earn at the same rate as the previous 6 months.
But at the rate of my spending on the card 5 - 8K monthly, I don't think they will cancel my card?

In another post, you seem to have indicated that you are a freelance? In this case, banks usually require 2 years Notice of Assessment from IRAS, or 1 year CPF contribution. So, they will have a clear indication of how you were doing over the last year (at least). You can try, but it is up to bank whether they will buy it or not.

In any case I've now seen the ANZ travel card that gives 2.8 miles per S$1 on overseas spend and it's 60K limit. So I think I have a much better chance getting that card.

That is a promotional rate until the end of year only.

NivlekBay

Can i check with everybody regarding the free limo transfer on the UOB Privi card. It is stated that any transaction that is air booking, hotel booking or tour package from a TOUR AGENT OR TRAVEL AGENTis applicable.

Have anyone tried and tested this clause? I will like to know if bookings such as (1) direct air boookings from airline websites and (2) direct bookings from online agents like Agoda, Zuji, etc are considered as tour agents?

Thanks.

Guys, anyone who has actually utilised this limo transfer care to advise on the above? May need to use this soon, want to confirm on this. Thanks.

hclee01

Guys, anyone who has actually utilised this limo transfer care to advise on the above? May need to use this soon, want to confirm on this. Thanks.

So far, my friend bought tickets from Zuji.com and utilized the service. He is waiting to see if he has been billed for the airport transfer. So far, no billing of the taxi transfer when he checks via internet banking

avault1810

To IRAS or the bank? Of course! In both cases, it is fraud. In the case of the bank, they may not take any action beyond cancelling your card the moment they find out, and putting a black mark on your credit report, making any future card or loan applications impossible. In the case of IRAS, you can be prosecuted and sent to jail as well as hit with fines.

In another post, you seem to have indicated that you are a freelance? In this case, banks usually require 2 years Notice of Assessment from IRAS, or 1 year CPF contribution. So, they will have a clear indication of how you were doing over the last year (at least). You can try, but it is up to bank whether they will buy it or not.

That is a promotional rate until the end of year only.

Thanks for your insight. It's a very helpful post.
Since it's not legal then of course I won't do it.

Now to get my brother to sup me a card.

hclee01

Thanks for your insight. It's a very helpful post.
Since it's not legal then of course I won't do it.

Now to get my brother to sup me a card.

How far off are you from S$80K annual income? If it is not too far off, there is no harm in applying as the bank may approve. I have a friend whose annual income is slightly less than $80K and got his card approved.

lifeishard

illegal? nope,i called up iras before,under declare is but over declare is not. Iras would only be too happy to accept your contributions but certainly this may be more of a issue to banks that gives you the credit card.

Another point to note besides the extra tax you have to pay is the medisave contribution. Income tax may not be an issue if you have kids as iras gives you the child rebate but no way you can excuse yourself for not needing to pay medisave as self employed.

Suleyman

illegal? nope,i called up iras before,under declare is but over declare is not. Iras would only be too happy to accept your contributions but certainly this may be more of a issue to banks that gives you the credit card.

Another point to note besides the extra tax you have to pay is the medisave contribution. Income tax may not be an issue if you have kids as iras gives you the child rebate but no way you can excuse yourself for not needing to pay medisave as self employed.

Chapter 224, Penal Code

Furnishing false information
177. Whoever, being legally bound to furnish information on any subject to any public servant, as such, furnishes, as true, information on the subject which he knows or has reason to believe to be false, shall be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend to 6 months, or with fine which may extend to $5,000, or with both; or, if the information which he is legally bound to furnish respects the commission of an offence, or is required for the purpose of preventing the commission of an offence, or in order to the apprehension of an offender, with imprisonment for a term which may extend to 3 years, or with fine, or with both.

Suleyman

Some old UNI$ were expiring so did a transfer to KF Miles. Miles was posted in my KF account within 2 days.

Nice!

nixiak

I want to ask if anyone has been in a similar situation.
I'm the card owner however I'm not the one traveling.
Let's say I bought the air tickets for my brother's trip using the Prvi card,does he still get the limo and travel insurance under his name?

IntelFlash

I want to ask if anyone has been in a similar situation.
I'm the card owner however I'm not the one traveling.
Let's say I bought the air tickets for my brother's trip using the Prvi card,does he still get the limo and travel insurance under his name?
no, asked before, he must be travelling together

princessy

Is there a conversion fee to miles for this card? If we dont spend more than $50k annum, will there be an annual fee, can it be waive off easily?

hclee01

Is there a conversion fee to miles for this card? If we dont spend more than $50k annum, will there be an annual fee, can it be waive off easily?

Conversion fee is S$20 per transfer. Well, you can request for annual fee waiver. If they do not waive, you can always cancel and reapply a few months later.

anfielder

Since this is quite a new card, nobody would have been charged an annual fee yet. But in general UOB should be quite ok...

yantao

Since this is quite a new card, nobody would have been charged an annual fee yet. But in general UOB should be quite ok...

It's worthwhile to pay for the annual fee if they are giving free miles like Citi PM.

Venomrush

effing strict, no joke. no $80k no talk. $79k, maybe can appeal. can appeal hor, no guarantee.

Same as their 50k cards.

wrong. im earning less than $80k. approved

meh, but Citi PM is miles. DBS is points. For people who doesn't necessary like miles, they can use points to redeem something else.

that's +1 for overall flexibility

and.. DBS does offer you a chance to get 1.6/$. Citi PM doesn't... noooo way :p

that's another +1

And let's see the bonus:
- Citi PM => Renew and get 10k miles
- DBS => Renew get 5k DBS pt = 10k miles

I can use pt for something else, +1 for DBS

You can say Citi PM offers another bonus 10k miles if annual spend is min $50k. Let's do the math:

$50k/12mths = $4,166.70 per month
=1st 2K is 1.2/$, so ignore. let's look at the $2,166.70 above which yields 0.4/$ more than Citi PM:

$2,166.70 x 12mths = $26,000.40
$26,000.40 x 0.4/$ = 10,400 miles
10,400miles from DBS > 10,000 miles from Citi for a $50k annual spend.

and.. what if your annual spend is like.. $40k? you get NOTHING from Citi PM, but you still get extra 0.4/$ from DBS Visa.

DBS still wins! :s13:

And if you are a bigger spender, DBS Visa pwns Citi PM until dunno where. Just that this new toy from UOB is the real challenger.. like everyone said, the only prob is AMEX. I guess one can just get UOB Amex + DBS Visa for the best of both worlds.

DBS wins in terms of depositing miles into your KF.
DBS pay $45 annual fee = unlimited transfer to KF
Citi = $20 i believe for each transfer

Suleyman

DBS wins in terms of depositing miles into your KF.
DBS pay $45 annual fee = unlimited transfer to KF
Citi = $20 i believe for each transfer

You need to transfer points twice a year for the DBS scheme to be better than Citi. Now, unless you are those big spender who are transfering miles multiple times per year, this doesn't make sense, as I can just do a big one time transfer for Citi at just $20. With DBS, no transfer that year also have to pay $45.

So, I don't see how DBS is better in this aspect.

swordspirit

Received a msg few days back and call UOB to check. Apparently, if you had sign up somewhere in August - September 2012 on the card, there is a signing up bonus of 5,000 miles if you can spend $5,000 within 3 months the card is approve. and the bonus miles will be debited into the account on 28 Feb 2013.

nixiak

Received a msg few days back and call UOB to check. Apparently, if you had sign up somewhere in August - September 2012 on the card, there is a signing up bonus of 5,000 miles if you can spend $5,000 within 3 months the card is approve. and the bonus miles will be debited into the account on 28 Feb 2013.

I received that sms on 20 Sept. I called them and asked. Turns out it applies to only those who received the promo mailer when they got their card approved.

Is what you said really true, I gotten my card in August but I did not get the mailer. Disappointed when I saw the SMS...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.