Starhub *Official* (SGX: CC3)

btr is? yea, correction time will sail back to 'refill fuel', by tat time must must must board liao

*better. Sorry for confusion haha.
Yea. Waiting for it to come back. Telcos damn power sia. Should have known lol. All seems so obvious in hindsight.

compro_1975

*better. Sorry for confusion haha.
Yea. Waiting for it to come back. Telcos damn power sia. Should have known lol. All seems so obvious in hindsight.

i now whack my cordlife first..... try to build up war chest for the bigger war next year~

Paul Lee

Hmm any increase due to iphone5 will be marginal, it would've been priced in long ago.

Agree. If you think about it, new phone launch is generally bad for the telco as they will need to spend more on phone subsidy, publicity and manpower to cater to the short-term rush.

Sure, they will gain some customers but they will lose many as well. So its like a game of musical chairs for telco customers when they upgrade. In the end, they end up canalising each other's customers with negligible actual increase in customers.

So expect next q numbers to be slightly skewed to reflect iphone 5 launched.

compro_1975

At the end of the day once u hav stake in all 3 telco, u hav the whole pie already

Paul Lee

yes, since starhub still no 4G and M1 offer the cheapest iphone 5 in signapore. confirm will rise to $3, believe me,

You are still not listening. Even if what you said is true and M1 sell more iphone 5 and get more customers, it would need to spend a whole lot more on hardware subsidy. And are you forgetting about all those associated costs of the launch??

So what has changed for M1 for it to be worth $3 now?? Nothing for now and certainly not the 'iPhone 5' factor. There may be a temporary boost but I dun expect it to stay at the current level for long. (Vested in all 3 telcos)

Carnage

If I'm not wrong, M1 subsidies for their phones is the highest while Singtel is the lowest. I'm assuming Apple sells the phones to all 3 telcos at the same price. At the same time, M1 plans aren't exactly costly so their revenue generation may not be that great with the new phone. It all depends on how you view the elasticity of demand for the mobile plans.

I think Singapore telco market is so mature to the extent that unless there's a huge innovation gap, otherwise everything remains largely equal. What will be bringing in the dough will be pay TV and other sources of revenue.

Having said that, I still don't see starhub dropping in share price even though their 4G network is the least established.

Dividends Warrior

If I'm not wrong, M1 subsidies for their phones is the highest while Singtel is the lowest. I'm assuming Apple sells the phones to all 3 telcos at the same price. At the same time, M1 plans aren't exactly costly so their revenue generation may not be that great with the new phone. It all depends on how you view the elasticity of demand for the mobile plans.

I think Singapore telco market is so mature to the extent that unless there's a huge innovation gap, otherwise everything remains largely equal. What will be bringing in the dough will be pay TV and other sources of revenue.

Having said that, I still don't see starhub dropping in share price even though their 4G network is the least established.

As shareholder, the good thing is, they are phasing out the unlimited plans and switching to tiered plans with data caps. ;)

But of course, some customers will complain.

compro_1975

As shareholder, the good thing is, they are phasing out the unlimited plans and switching to tiered plans with data caps. ;)

Cos with cap ppl will hit and end up pay more, new revenue pipe created

Carnage

Cos with cap ppl will hit and end up pay more, new revenue pipe created

Loving it. I wish there was better forms of competition though. Then you can really know whose service is better. Right now they are basically competing on price.

The services launched by Singtel are crap btw. Who uses their Defind! app in the first place?

digitalguy

bros, i have been chasing this starfug since last year dec.. (sadly i didnt buy, thinking that it will go down, asusual market is against my thoughts, lol). want to enter now (urge to buy since i have m1 and singtel), what would be the good price (<3.7)? Is it true, after dec (was told that ppl will sell down in year end normally) , the price may go down?

ahboy82

bros, i have been chasing this starfug since last year dec.. (sadly i didnt buy, thinking that it will go down, asusual market is against my thoughts, lol). want to enter now (urge to buy since i have m1 and singtel), what would be the good price (<3.7)? Is it true, after dec (was told that ppl will sell down in year end normally) , the price may go down?

buy bit by bit. so that if something drastic happen u can still avg down. if nth happen then u still on the boat. win win situation? lol :s13:

Genesisz

I would want to go in at the right timing.

It used to be less than S$3.00 dollar.

compro_1975

I would want to go in at the right timing.

It used to be less than S$3.00 dollar.

i also eye at green pipe for a few months, but then u think it will hav a correction to below $3? i doubt so... now setting eye on orange pipe at least something i can afford, then grow already, offload to buy in red pipe

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.