Buyer's Guide II: Extreme, High-End, Mid-Range, Budget, and Entry Level Systems - Part 2

KeYoKe

wah, biostar is a board to avoid? knnccb :x:x

I read the review posted comparing asus/gigabyte vs asrock, the thin board sounds scary and I scared after some usage (become too hot or what) the board burnt then jialat sia..

my fren using their p67 board i find it still ok for budget build. if got the budget, just extend ur budget for ur peace of mind and for the lifespan of ur mobo.

brands i usually used are Asus, giga and MSI higher end mobo

truewt

my fren using their p67 board i find it still ok for budget build. if got the budget, just extend ur budget for ur peace of mind and for the lifespan of ur mobo.

brands i usually used are Asus, giga and MSI higher end mobo
ya that's where I want to head also.. higher end mobos, but the thing is if I go for i5 seems like redundant to get these higher end boards. Then fall back to the discussion of ASrock over the rest :D

KeYoKe

ya that's where I want to head also.. higher end mobos, but the thing is if I go for i5 seems like redundant to get these higher end boards. Then fall back to the discussion of ASrock over the rest :D
Asrock extreme 6 with i5 3570k will do =)

nipp0n

Hi Shifus,

Time to upgrade my computer again. If possible, wish to reuse some of my old components. Please advise. Nothing intensive. At most play winning eleven. :)

Below is what CPUID tells me:
CPU - AMD Athlon, 64 x2 4000+
Mainboard - AMDR690A-M2T
Memory DDR2 - 2gig
Graphics - ATI Radeon HD 4770 (I believe is Powercolour)

I have DVD Writer, dont need blueray writer.
Want to change to bigger monitor. Min 21"

Hope to get a rig that can last at least 5 years, playing winning eleven. Ha ha

Thanks!

What is your budget? Need OS? What is your PSU brand and how long have you been using the PSU?

swchong

What is your budget? Need OS? What is your PSU brand and how long have you been using the PSU?

Wah, must open my computer to look at the psu. Can't remember.

Yes prefer to use win8 once I upgrade.

Maybe budget about 500? Just plucking figure from the air

truewt

He don't intend to oc, get such a high end board and oc processor a bit waste of money. :(
eh maybe in future itchy hand I will OC :D:D

and duno to hoot the best card anot.. will it get irrelevant fast in 1 year when HD8xxx series come out :(:(

KeYoKe

He don't intend to oc, get such a high end board and oc processor a bit waste of money. :(

true if thats if he dun pc la...

eh maybe in future itchy hand I will OC :D:D

and duno to hoot the best card anot.. will it get irrelevant fast in 1 year when HD8xxx series come out :(:(

if u plan to oc den jus stick to my combo... if not jus downgrade to asrock z77 extreme 3 with i5 3470 which cost ard 432 according to e pricelist from PCT.

no matter wad, if u hoot a higher end card, when the 8xxx series come out, the performance will still be between the mid-high end card. so i find it relatively ok la.

so u can dun upgrade for the 8xxx series and only upgrade when the 9xxx series come out :s13:

truewt

true if thats if he dun pc la...

if u plan to oc den jus stick to my combo... if not jus downgrade to asrock z77 extreme 3 with i5 3470 which cost ard 432 according to e pricelist from PCT.

no matter wad, if u hoot a higher end card, when the 8xxx series come out, the performance will still be between the mid-high end card. so i find it relatively ok la.

so u can dun upgrade for the 8xxx series and only upgrade when the 9xxx series come out :s13:
hahaha ok but no resale value liao tech hardware these days :(:(

my old card is hawk 5770 i think really no value liao.. probably hand down to my bro when i upgrade

and NZXT i'm reading their chassis reviews.. wah the 820 very faps and steam but the damage is X_X.. but the original phantom is it better than 410? top up 30 dollars more feels like it's a better buy than 410.. though it is 4kg more

KeYoKe

hahaha ok but no resale value liao tech hardware these days :(:(

my old card is hawk 5770 i think really no value liao.. probably hand down to my bro when i upgrade

and NZXT i'm reading their chassis reviews.. wah the 820 very faps and steam but the damage is X_X.. but the original phantom is it better than 410? top up 30 dollars more feels like it's a better buy than 410.. though it is 4kg more

ya ur card worth at most 100 now.. no choice =)

hahas casing to me as long as design appeals me and airflow good with appropriate dust filters which will keep dust out, imhappy liao. and my fractal r3 case is doing this quite well

truewt

ya ur card worth at most 100 now.. no choice =)

hahas casing to me as long as design appeals me and airflow good with appropriate dust filters which will keep dust out, imhappy liao. and my fractal r3 case is doing this quite well
hey bro thanks i check out the reviews for that case you have.. what's the damage?

eh you mean my card is worth 100 2nd hand or 1st hand lol.. very big difference :D:D

KeYoKe

hey bro thanks i check out the reviews for that case you have.. what's the damage?

eh you mean my card is worth 100 2nd hand or 1st hand lol.. very big difference :D:D

err mean ur card worth 100 2nd hand

the case i have is EOL liao. now is fractal design r4 with more features... damage ard 129-139

truewt

err mean ur card worth 100 2nd hand

the case i have is EOL liao. now is fractal design r4 with more features... damage ard 129-139
wah still can sell for 100 2nd hand?? then I can cash out instead of handing down to my bro :D:D:D

truewt

haha can can.. see how la maybe just give my bro :D:D be a good brother lol

thinking of hooting everything one shot.. but the monitor i very dilemma whether to wait for show anot.. show got significant discount everytime.. and my current monitor is fine :D:D

nipp0n

haha can can.. see how la maybe just give my bro :D:D be a good brother lol

thinking of hooting everything one shot.. but the monitor i very dilemma whether to wait for show anot.. show got significant discount everytime.. and my current monitor is fine :D:D

During Sitex, i don't see any discount for Dell monitor. Sitex selling for $269, Tradepac selling for $255. But i'm not so sure about the rest of the brand.

truewt

During Sitex, i don't see any discount for Dell monitor. Sitex selling for $269, Tradepac selling for $255. But i'm not so sure about the rest of the brand.
hahah but SITEX famous for carrot chopping right? no discount and sell old stock..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.