Windows 8 - Reviews & Feedbacks come in!!

E_T

But you already can mah... unless you want Aero transparency. You don't have to use the Start screen except to search for your app.

Anyway I've grown to like to Start Screen because when I'm not working, the Start Screen is like a super-charged Windows 7 Gadget display. Searching for apps & data is also much faster than the old Start Menu.

All textboxes also have automatic spell-checking.

i1magic

But you already can mah... unless you want Aero transparency. You don't have to use the Start screen except to search for your app.

Anyway I've grown to like to Start Screen because when I'm not working, the Start Screen is like a super-charged Windows 7 Gadget display. Searching for apps & data is also much faster than the old Start Menu.

All textboxes also have automatic spell-checking.

Aero Transparency is nice ... but not a must. Sad to know that Windows 8 ... don't have this feature anymore.

How about the driver support now?

Where to get the cheapest Windows 8 Ultimate? I remember some $18 lobang right?

i1magic

If you have intention to upgrade, buy the license at $18 first then download the ISO file but dun install first. Catch the offer first.

Can share the link?

So this one ... after purchase ... we will get a CD-Key? And then we can use this CD-Key on any Windows 8 Ultimate 64 bits that we download?

matrix05

Aero Transparency is nice ... but not a must. Sad to know that Windows 8 ... don't have this feature anymore.

How about the driver support now?

Where to get the cheapest Windows 8 Ultimate? I remember some $18 lobang right?

Aero Trans is close to useless. This was the killer feature in Vista. It is good that they kill it.

i1magic

Can share the link?

So this one ... after purchase ... we will get a CD-Key? And then we can use this CD-Key on any Windows 8 Ultimate 64 bits that we download?

Why u dun want to search leh? Anywayz...

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/windows-8-338/[sic]-windows-8-s$18-3952177.html

This is for Win8 Pro. No Ultimate edition anymore. Do it by tomorrow.

Gam xia very much. Search liao ... sometimes don't know whether the link is legitimate or not.

This one apparently is for upgrade ... can the cd-key be use for fresh Windows 8 Pro 64 fresh install?

_dXter

Gam xia very much. Search liao ... sometimes don't know whether the link is legitimate or not.

This one apparently is for upgrade ... can the cd-key be use for fresh Windows 8 Pro 64 fresh install?

Yes. It's a full license key.

i1magic

Yes. It's a full license key.

Aiya ... need Windows 7 full license key leh. *sianz* ... Don't have. =(

messi1986

How come windows 8 pro cannot read Chinese? Those files in Chinese all square now... Any ideas? :s11::s11:

BlitzStryker

Lol reboot alr then can read Chi?

Just dl the chi language pack. Unders Control panel,system and security,window updates,then go optional updates. See if you have dl alr anot

messi1986

Lol reboot alr then can read Chi?

Just dl the chi language pack. Unders Control panel,system and security,window updates,then go optional updates. See if you have dl alr anot

Must doenload then can see? Thanks.. I will try tonight... :):)

E_T

Cannot leh... Still cannot display... :(:(
Think you should refresh your Win8. By default, Win8 can read Chinese characters. You don't need to install Chinese IME or display language. (previously called language pack).

This is for Win8 Pro btw. There's a minor bug that affect some users where Chinese filenames can't be read but adding a file with a Chinese name on your desktop should solve this problem.

Worse case is to install Chinese Display settings in Control Panel -> Language which will change your Windows to Chinese interface. You can change it back to English but since everything is in Chinese, you must find your way to Language again to change.

i1magic

I just gotten a new Dell notebook and it comes with Windows 8.

Now .. I want to reformat the 1TB harddisk and partition 200GB for C drive for OS and programs ... and the rest put it as drive D.

So how do I get Windows 8 installation on a USB drive so that I can reformat and reinstall Windows 8 on it again?

I have tried Windows 8 for awhile. Seems quite ok. Really not used to Metro, most of the time on "Desktop".

siduki

i have chi language pack installed on my laptop but sometimes when i turn on my laptop the chinese characters become square? after a few reboots then the chinese characters appear. why like that? :s11:

i1magic

i have chi language pack installed on my laptop but sometimes when i turn on my laptop the chinese characters become square? after a few reboots then the chinese characters appear. why like that? :s11:

I loaded chinese input ... but haven't really tested extensively. But so far ... quite ok.

JadziaK

Just bought a Asus S46 on Sun. Was previous ly using Windows 7 Pro & find the Windows 8 platform quite a huge learning curve. Windows 8 is designed more for touch screen laptops so the Asus S46 made me jump thru quite a few hoops to get things done. A few issues: cannot connect to Wireless N, cannot only get the G connection. Other laptops at home don't have this issue. To my horror, now the system doesn't recognise the DVD drive. Tried assessing the "uefi" settings via the start menu & the option for "uefi" has also gone missing!!! Argghh! Don't know what is wrong with this laptop. Is it a lemon? Restoring the laptop now , keeping my fingers cross that things will be ok. 😖😖

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.