Kiwi8

The Straits Times
Published on Mar 09, 2013

Citizens have every right to expect privileges

I AM riled that some people have labelled government moves to sharpen the distinction between citizens and non-citizens, by extending certain privileges to the former, as "xenophobic" ("Urgent need to fix integration woes: Nair"; Thursday).

Citizens born and bred here have every right to expect these privileges, be it priority in securing places in primary schools or in property ownership.

In fact, most countries around the world practise some form of positive discrimination in favour of their own citizens, in return for their fulfilment of certain obligations such as paying taxes and performing military service.

Those who have served national service are all the more entitled to concessions or prerogatives in the light of their contributions to the defence of our nation.

I do not believe this demeans the value of national service; rather, such privileges serve as a token of appreciation and recognition of service to the nation at the cost of some personal sacrifice.

Of late, there appear to have been worrying recriminations of xenophobia being lobbed every time any policy or proposal is deemed unfavourable to foreigners residing in Singapore. This is especially so in the wake of the Government's recent release of the Population White Paper.

The rising consciousness of what it means to be Singaporean and the discussion on what kind of future we want for our country should not wantonly be decried as chauvinistic or even jingoistic.

Rather, it should be viewed in the context of a nascent stirring of our sense of national identity, and of wanting to preserve our way of life, which is in danger of being diluted.

Although I concede that "Singaporeans first" cannot mean "Singaporeans regardless" in our open economy, I make no apologies for urging the Government to give precedence to citizens in some respects.

The relationship between the state and a citizen is based on a social contract.

The Government is obliged to protect the rights of its own people and to look after them, in exchange for the discharge of certain responsibilities, sense of loyalty and commitment to nation-building.

Otherwise, citizenship would have scant value.

Marietta Koh Ai-meng (Mrs)
Copyright © 2013 Singapore Press Holdings. All rights reserved.
A rare letter published in the ST, which explains why citizens have every right to expect privileges.

NTB2DO

Should we also ask if politicians have every right to expect privileges?

Oh our politicians don't need to "expect" lah; they are already enjoying the privileges liao--like paying themselves million dollars of salaries (despite their self-admitted lack of "20/20 foresight" in implementing policies)..

ponpokku

Should we also ask if politicians have every right to expect privileges?

having the chance to serve the populace ish already a privilege.

what else they want?

knn ppl give them chance to talk about their ideals leh. they think everyone so free listen to them no need to work ar?

cscs3

A rare letter published in the ST, which explains why citizens have every right to expect privileges.

Question is how to define privileges? Does one who pay more taxes mean he must has better privileges?

ponpokku

Question is how to define privileges? Does one who pay more taxes mean he must has better privileges?

lol u stupid again? pay more taxes means what? he earn more money. and where the money comes from?

from other ppl who buy his products and supported his business.

now, what better privileges are u talking about? =:p

xdivider

when your leader exempts opposition ward people from NS for depriving them of software they funded or making them wait donkey years for upgrade while bootlickers like u get it earlier, tell me...............

Inix

People are really missing the point. Whats the use of having privileges that actually resulted from getting more as compared to PRs or foreigners when we all got more in the past?

Case in point. School fees. Sharpening differences resulted in PR's fees being differentiated from citizen fees. All looks very good, but both actually rose at the same time. Only we rose less, than the PRs. So got diff meh?

monk..

born and raised here and served NS...these deserved more and better privileges.
paying more taxes does not equal to more and better privileges..it means you are rich or getting high salaries...if dont want to pay more taxes..then move to another country..but then it does not mean paying less taxes either..

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
Being born and raised here is not by choice. Unfortunately, neither is NS. Still, someone who was not born here but raised here and performed NS, that person is as much a Singaporean as any.

Even if a child had been brought here in his/her tweens, if he/she successfully integrates into Singapore's society, that child should be included.

Carnage

The fact that PRs and foreigners are complaining about this only goes to show how big the differences are being mooted compared to previous times.

Fact is, citizens should have preferential rights granted because of where we are born.

Alot of PRs complain that they pay taxes so why are they being discriminated. It's not discrimination, it's just improving the citizen's priviledges. They can just as easily move to another country, they don't hold allegiance to this country after all.

But how many of them will go? Not many. They will only complain but they are used to Singapore's environment, our safety and political stability. Why would they want to leave especially those from 3rd world countries where it's proven that their government doesn't work. These people hold PRs in Singapore for several decades, most already started families here. They don't want to convert to Citizens because the differences were too minute to bother. Now that the differences are widening, maybe it's time for them to change their stance instead of complaining.

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
The fact that PRs and foreigners are complaining about this only goes to show how big the differences are being mooted compared to previous times.

Fact is, citizens should have preferential rights granted because of where we are born.

Alot of PRs complain that they pay taxes so why are they being discriminated. It's not discrimination, it's just improving the citizen's priviledges. They can just as easily move to another country, they don't hold allegiance to this country after all.

But how many of them will go? Not many. They will only complain but they are used to Singapore's environment, our safety and political stability. Why would they want to leave especially those from 3rd world countries where it's proven that their government doesn't work. These people hold PRs in Singapore for several decades, most already started families here. They don't want to convert to Citizens because the differences were too minute to bother. Now that the differences are widening, maybe it's time for them to change their stance instead of complaining.

The differences will become more distinct as the years go by. And if the authorities come down hard on employers who practice preferential recruitment at the expense of Singapore citizens, then it may actually demonstrate some kind of incentive to be a citizen.

Some PRs find it beneficial to stay in Singapore but they must also find it beneficial enough to convert to citizens. Otherwise, we'll be considered no more than a mere stepping stone.

Jarlaxle

The differences will become more distinct as the years go by. And if the authorities come down hard on employers who practice preferential recruitment at the expense of Singapore citizens, then it may actually demonstrate some kind of incentive to be a citizen.

Some PRs find it beneficial to stay in Singapore but they must also find it beneficial enough to convert to citizens. Otherwise, we'll be considered no more than a mere stepping stone.

how do u know that govt will come down hard?

anyway, i feel that "as the years go by" is not good enough.
it shld be implemented asap.

as the saying "justice delayed is justice denied"
delaying such employment policy is denying employment to singaporeans.

i want to read the news article that BANKS are having problem filling positions rather than hawker, food court, construction industry, etc.

then im convinced, theres a need to look into foreigners lol

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
how do u know that govt will come down hard?

anyway, i feel that "as the years go by" is not good enough.
it shld be implemented asap.

as the saying "justice delayed is justice denied"
delaying such employment policy is denying employment to singaporeans.

i want to read the news article that BANKS are having problem filling positions rather than hawker, food court, construction industry, etc.

then im convinced, theres a need to look into foreigners lol

Ermm... I didn't say they will. I just said if. I agree that it should be implemented ASAP but the effect won't be felt till a few years later.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.