Newbie Seeking Advise

jamescy

Hi all,

I'm a 23 y/o that just started working ft whist studying for my degree.

I have a few thousand dollars lying around and i hope to get started on a little investing while i still have no financial burdens.

Hope to gain some insights on which kinda investments should i look towards.

Have been reading up on various threads and it seems like REIT is the more popular investment for newbies but stock prices are rather high at the moment.

Thanks for any sort of advises. :s13:

Cheers

staedtler_07

Perhaps you might want to read around for similar threads?

It's glad to hear you want to start this journey at an early age

jamescy

The 'few' thousand dollars is how few???

Right now i only have about 3K plus.
Still saving up monthly from my jobs while keeping my expenses low.

I read up your blog, great read and extremely motivational!

Saw you mentioning that it might be wise to save up more first as prices are high at the moment.

So i'm quite divided if I should save for more capital or just start with small investments as definitely my money won't grow much from bank interests. =/

jamescy

Perhaps you might want to read around for similar threads?

It's glad to hear you want to start this journey at an early age

Thanks!

I did read up several blogs as well as most threads here already. haha.

I guess i felt it's best to start now while my only concern is myself. I don't want to fall into the trend where I hesitate due to family commitments and expenses.

=)

Dividends Warrior

Right now i only have about 3K plus.
Still saving up monthly from my jobs while keeping my expenses low.

I read up your blog, great read and extremely motivational!

Saw you mentioning that it might be wise to save up more first as prices are high at the moment.

So i'm quite divided if I should save for more capital or just start with small investments as definitely my money won't grow much from bank interests. =/

Thanks for supporting my blog.

Yes. Better to save up more first.

Prices are high. North Korea war tensions. China got bird flu.

Wait for a dip before entering.

loftystew

Thanks for supporting my blog.

Yes. Better to save up more first.

Prices are high. North Korea war tensions. China got bird flu.

Wait for a dip before entering.

Apologies to TS for hijacking... but I think my following questions should benefit TS too.

Recently, I have become interested doing investment and have been reading your posts and blog on investing in REITs.

However, even after some reading (what is Yield, NAV, etc), I am still confused on what to do/how to get started. For example, how do I know when is the right time to invest in a particular REIT, which REIT to look at/consider, what is considered a good/bad investment or how to know/calculate what are the risks involved.

Maybe some background info about myself... I'm 24 years old, like TS, currently doing a PT degree and started working FT not too long ago (more than half a year) and I have totally no knowledge in investment.

I know I'm eager to start my first investment but I do not intend to jump into investing soon (probably like you said, wait for market to dip) till I know what I am doing and is comfortable in doing so. Can you kindly give me some advises or directions on what I should do/read/know to get me started on my journey to investing REIT?

Also, based on your experiences, how much capital do you recommend one should minimally have for investing? 10K? 20K? 30K?

I do know answers to my questions varies from person to person but the answers will at least give me some directions.

Thanks in advance.

terence89

Hi Jamescy, have sent you a pm for your reference. Kindly take a look. Thanks

Hi all,

I'm a 23 y/o that just started working ft whist studying for my degree.

I have a few thousand dollars lying around and i hope to get started on a little investing while i still have no financial burdens.

Hope to gain some insights on which kinda investments should i look towards.

Have been reading up on various threads and it seems like REIT is the more popular investment for newbies but stock prices are rather high at the moment.

Thanks for any sort of advises. :s13:

Cheers

Sinkie

1. Can try to do small investment in shares

http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.co...account-singapore-updated-2012-a-3628498.html

or

http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.co...ading-town-no-minimum-commission-3265890.html

2. Can try shares dividend investment

read up more in dividend warrior blog
Dividend Warrior

or even his thread
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/paging-dividends-warrior-4161384.html

3. Can try shares investment with odd lot market

http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/75206767-post190.html
But is under your name.
Up to you de
You want pay or dun pay got.diffeeent things...

Actually those with very small limit or capital but yet still want diversification, can consider investing in the unit share market one lah

What's unit shares?

Normally a lot is considered as 1000 share so for shares like starhub, u need minimum $4000+ but why not invest in unit share market? U do not need to buy 1000 shares minimum but can choose to buy like 2 shares? 500 shares or even 250 shares?

You still get the dividend too

IMG_0035.JPG

If you can't match his portfolio, then buy fractional of it through the odd lot market even though price might differ and sometime can get bargin selling to desperate buyer lol

i did a snapshot comparison between odd lot market and board lot market

fsdR3tU.jpg

4. Can try poems share builder program

http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/68093454-post58.html

WHAT IS SHARE BUILDERS PLAN?
h1muM.jpg

- There are charges for dividend recieved.
- Shares (in unit shares) are bought on every 18th of the month in regardless whether dji drop -400 or dji rise 400 the previous night at their prefered timing in regardless when sti is at +50 or -50
- only 19 shares available
- shares are deposited in poems custodian account (please call and ask)

POEMS ODD LOT Market
tiTGt.jpg

so my views is as long your monthly investment is not more than $3500, you are better off investing in odd lot market yourself since (3500 x 0.28% = $10), at least you get to choose your own price and learn on your way + no dividend charges just that you need to be very discipline to invest every month
- shares goes into cdp

http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/68094358-post61.html

Ohh, so you're saying I should just get a normal trading account and buy odd lots every month or whenever i like? I think the amount of money i will be able to spare per month would be around 300-500..

is your choice..

if your amt is 300-500 and unless you are only targetting 1 share out of the 21 shares provided, then is advisable to go oddlot market to buy

M85Ou.jpg

because for every month of one time share purchase of $300 (up to $3500), your commission is still $10 in the unit share market (300 x 0.28% = $10 commission, (assuming you dont buy $10 each time but $300 at one go),

then might as well you do it yourself, at least you get to choose other shares such as reits or even counters like singpost or certain sector like commodities or even any one of the jardines and experience the feeling of buying and making your own decision.

5. Can try permanent portfolio strategy

http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.co...e-return-low-volatility-strategy-3896024.html

But dont really recommend unit trust or any form of structure despot or endowment or ilp which locked up funds for extended period :s22:

learn and acquire the art of investing yourself, so that it becomes a valuable skills even after you retire

Remember, when we do investment , it is always homework, opportunities and timing. It is not you want to start defensive investment, you can do it now or tomorrow and then see your investment grow everyday. That's applies to fixed deposit only.

Be patient and take your time to learn n read up about investment

sneggg

Sbp or odd lot market better?

Prices if stock in odd lot market same as the normal market ones?

Sinkie

Sbp or odd lot market better?

Prices if stock in odd lot market same as the normal market ones?

sbp has only 20 shares to choose from, its a lazy way to invest and you dont usually learn and when i work up the difference between oddlot and sbp, sbp cost slightly more especially for dividend investment :s22:

regarding price in oddlot market, it depends, not all shares in oddlot market has volume, but usually those popular shares (excluding bluechips) will have volume like 999 shares at different price level, if there is no volume, you can queue to buy and wait for seller to throw to you, some day there will be a huge spread as well, but some day if you can queue, you can buy cheaper than market price or you can sell higher than market price (recently i sold some china fish oddlot at 90c when market was doing 55c :s22:)

for the oddlot bluechip, there is generally volume everyday, and the spread is tight, and price is just a few bids different from the market, for example genting doing 1.50, oddlot probably doing at 1.49

give and take and so small amount investment usually dont expect the same price as the market price :)

Dividends Warrior

Haha worst case is when fund get stucked in ilp or unit trust, just ask dividend warrior :s13:

Ya.....my biggest financial mistake.....:(

Hopefully it is a blessing in disguise.

Who knows maybe market will dip next year. Timing just perfect for me to use my 50k....:s22::s13:

jamescy

Thanks for all the help guys.

Just wondering, for odd lots right?

is the procedures the same?

set up dbs vicker etc?

I'm prolly looking into saving the bulk of my cash for the market to dip while using small amounts to garner some experience. Advise?

staedtler_07

Odd lots will be heavy on transaction cost, so you will have to weigh your pros and cons properly to decide if it's finacially sound to buy them.

You can do so via the POEMs Odd-Lot market.

Sinkie

Odd lots will be heavy on transaction cost, so you will have to weigh your pros and cons properly to decide if it's finacially sound to buy them.

You can do so via the POEMs Odd-Lot market.

i did a snapshot comparison between odd lot market and board lot market

fsdR3tU.jpg

dudepunk

Hi guys,

Just wanna say thank you to Sinkie and DW as well as other forumers for asking questions n for all the replies!
Been a lurker and am also in the same situation as TS, 23 yrs old, studying n working at the same time. ( like got quite a few of us around ah!?)

Off topic: but TS what you studying n working as?

Thanks again to all for sharing of your wisdom, has benefitted me!
Cheers!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.