[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 3

bryando

Pingxi line is Railway aka TRA and not Metro..

From XMD, take Metro to Taipei Main Station then exit and head to TRA and take a train to Ruifang Station..Alight at Ruifang and get a ticket to Shifen Station.

To go Jiufen, exit Ruifang Station and board a bus to head up to Jiufen Old Street..

How should u plan?

- Jinguashi(Reach about 0930H)
- Jiufen Old Street(Reach about 12noon)
- Shifen
- Keelung Miaokou's NM or any other NM u prefer..

Also, you sure u wana go to that waterfall?? Not near Shifen Station, Not free and got opening hours..

Well, was hoping to take a look at the waterfall. Understand its quite a walk, and yes, aware that there is a fee involved and closes at 5pm (if i'm not wrong).....but just concern about how to get there.....

Gixxerfied

Well, was hoping to take a look at the waterfall. Understand its quite a walk, and yes, aware that there is a fee involved and closes at 5pm (if i'm not wrong).....but just concern about how to get there.....

Walk from Shifen Station roh... -> http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/taiwan-291/getting-shifen-waterfall-3678781.html

I intro my colleague go and she really went..Come back tell me and ask if i got go before, i said no..She then ask why i intro her?? End conclusion, nt worth the time and energy..

bryando

Walk from Shifen Station roh... -> http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/taiwan-291/getting-shifen-waterfall-3678781.html

I intro my colleague go and she really went..Come back tell me and ask if i got go before, i said no..She then ask why i intro her?? End conclusion, nt worth the time and energy..

Hmmm....time to reconsider then....cause saw some picts of the waterfall like quite amazing leh....power of adobe photoshop? Cause my first solo trip there, wanna try at least one day for scenery instead of the ususall all food and shopping....Any recommendations?

Gixxerfied

Hmmm....time to reconsider then....cause saw some picts of the waterfall like quite amazing leh....power of adobe photoshop? Cause my first solo trip there, wanna try at least one day for scenery instead of the ususall all food and shopping....Any recommendations?

Probably power of slow shutter + some PS...

- Yehliu
- Jinguashi
- Jiufen
- Keelung

If wan real good scenery, heard out of Taipei..

bryando

- Yehliu
- Jinguashi
- Jiufen
- Keelung

Hmmmm....first solo trip, so unlikely to be too adventurous and more of a chill and relax trip, so unlikely to travel out of Taipei, maybe next time. Think will consider Jiufen and Keelung cause heard quite a bit abt these 2 places. Possible to do both in 1 day??

calkel20

- Yehliu
- Jinguashi
- Jiufen
- Keelung

黄金瀑布 and shifen waterfall are two different things. I went or passby shifen waterfall. I think entrance is about 80NT, then we walked towards the station towards houtong side. And then wait for the next train. Please do not attempt hor, it's dangerous to do that, coz u need to go thru the tunnel.:s13:

If u see a light coming, u can never outrun it.:eek:

calkel20

aiya too bad. wah u go TW every 2 months?! you ish another banker? hahaha btw ya i looking at hostels along TMS and XMD side now..

No lor, i want to meet u but 只能插身而过。。。没缘分:(

The mentioned hostel is Nihao@taipei, go google for it.

bryando

黄金瀑布 and shifen waterfall are two different things. I went or passby shifen waterfall. I think entrance is about 80NT, then we walked towards the station towards houtong side. And then wait for the next train. Please do not attempt hor, it's dangerous to do that, coz u need to go thru the tunnel.:s13:

If u see a light coming, u can never outrun it.:eek:

So is 黄金瀑布 worth going? Is it near Shifen as well? heard something about a waterfall that requires about 20min walk to get there, not sure if its the one and the same.....

calkel20

So is 黄金瀑布 worth going? Is it near Shifen as well? heard something about a waterfall that requires about 20min walk to get there, not sure if its the one and the same.....

黄金瀑布 from TV and photos, should be worth to go. It's beside the road. So just hit the road and go lor.

nippp0n

I walked from shifen station to the waterfall before. At the start, I thought it was just a 20mins walk. In the end I took close to half an hour and I find that the effort to walk to and fro for that waterfall isn't worth it at all.

After taking some photos at the waterfall, I manage to get a cab back to the train station and it costs me NT200 and the cab ride took only 5 mins. -.-

Gixxerfied

It's nearer to Jiufen side of things..Source of water from the top where Jinguashi is if i'm not wrong..

The waterfall which u wanted to go to from shifen is nt the 黄金瀑布..

Gixxerfied

Just to confirm, this 黄金瀑布 is at Shifen, and there is easy directions there to get to?

Not the same..

Map for your reference...

A is 黄金瀑布

B is Shifen Waterfall

p1ly5o4.jpg

bryando

It's nearer to Jiufen side of things..Source of water from the top where Jinguashi is if i'm not wrong..

The waterfall which u wanted to go to from shifen is nt the 黄金瀑布..

Hmmmm...okay....now confused......need to go hit the guidebook when home tonite.....

calkel20

Hmmmm...okay....now confused......need to go hit the guidebook when home tonite.....

Mentioned earlier both different. The shifen one nothing great, can skip. Just go to the 黄金瀑布。。。 For long exposure, u need tripod. Which means u need to check in your tripod for your trip.

calkel20

Hmmmm....so 黄金瀑布 is nearer (walking distance) and nicer than he Shifen waterfall? more likely to target 黄金瀑布 then.....

CorrecT!:D
But shifen is also walking distance and need to pay, this one is free and go right time, u will enjoy the place more. Means hot hot afternoon!

Gixxerfied

Hmmmm....so 黄金瀑布 is nearer (walking distance) and nicer than he Shifen waterfall? more likely to target 黄金瀑布 then.....

Walking from where u alight from Bus 1062 would be about 1.8km..Which is actually similar to walk from Shifen Station to Shifen Waterfall(1.7km) using google map distance but Shifen probably need to detour....

If dont wan walk so much then transfer to another bus 891..

bryando

Walking from where u alight from Bus 1062 would be about 1.8km..Which is actually similar to walk from Shifen Station to Shifen Waterfall(1.7km) using google map distance but Shifen probably need to detour....

If dont wan walk so much then transfer to another bus 891..

黄金瀑布 it is then!
So its look out for Bus number 1062, I guess the bus-stop to alight should be pretty obvious or easy to spot?

Gixxerfied

黄金瀑布 it is then!
So its look out for Bus number 1062, I guess the bus-stop to alight should be pretty obvious or easy to spot?

The bus driver will usually announce..Can ask him to inform u when it's time to alight also..

This bus will also bring u to Jinguashi..And also Jiufen on the way up from Ruifang..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.