Kyochiro's Ghostly Tales~

Soulblade

I spoke to a few Muslims and Christians before. Rebirth is generally not accepted amongst them. But the consequences of not preparing for it if it were true can be devastating

Well, they also don't believe animals have a soul and are meant as foods for humans.

BTW you will be surprised that some early Christians did believe in reincarnation but they were being declared as heretics and got wiped out..........

theReas

This is a story I hear from someone before. There was a man who used to be a Taoist/Buddhist. Then one day somehow his friends convinced him to convert. He has a lot of those idol figures. So what he does was shocking. Instead of going to temples and give back, he smashed every single piece of them. Heard many got Kai guang before.

Within 5 years, he contracted cancer and died and was given a Christian funeral. His relatives one day went to medium for some issue on another relative when this medium commented that they have this relative whom is another religion one now is in hell, complain hungry and no clothes.

They were shocked and asked why was he there? The medium probes further and told them that he was supposed to be bring up heaven by angels but the cow face and horse head intercept and told the angels of what this guy had done. After some discussion, the angels let them take him away cos the guy committed that grave act in the first place.

So the guy had requested for some offerings just like normal Chinese Taoist dead.

Dunno if it is a csb but I think the morale of the story is that when renouncing your former religion, you must do it properly not in any bun bridge way

wah lao like that i also sort of commit a grave mistake ****.

last time i damn young that time always like to climb up to the altar there and then play with the 香油火,i always use the joss stick red colour part and then go light it up with that fire and burn the joss stick pot's ribbon with it.

siao liao no wonder many years back when my late grand mother brought me and my cousin to a temple, the tua li ah pek said i am damn naughty so they only gave sweet to my cousin. :(

how ah sleepy? got remedy bo?

sleepyhealer

wah lao like that i also sort of commit a grave mistake ****.

last time i damn young that time always like to climb up to the altar there and then play with the 香油火,i always use the joss stick red colour part and then go light it up with that fire and burn the joss stick pot's ribbon with it.

siao liao no wonder many years back when my late grand mother brought me and my cousin to a temple, the tua li ah pek said i am damn naughty so they only gave sweet to my cousin. :(

how ah sleepy? got remedy bo?

Hearsay hearsay thing no need to be so serious one :s13:

BigbiGLameR

I've no idea because I did not ask. I think the deceased in the 2nd story seems like converted not too long before her death because the person who told me the story scolded those people who converted her and blamed them for her aftelife suffering.

Sometimes I think it is hard to tell. Like Vesso was asking earlier about Christianity. I mentioned that Christians who do not live like one have it worse after death.

Stating that these christian spirits are roaming and has no food to eat, it makes me wonder what kind of life have they been leading when they were still alive. Even for christian at CHC I have heard of guys going there with the intent of just wanting to bed the gals while calling themselves christian.

theReas

Hearsay hearsay thing no need to be so serious one :s13:

now i cant sleep liao :(

lol.

but seriously, your story does contain a little big of logic there mah.

i wonder after over at least 18 years liao, have they forgave me liao bo.

Soulblade

but seriously, your story does contain a little big of logic there mah.

i wonder after over at least 18 years liao, have they forgave me liao bo.

Well, in the coming Vesak Day, you can always join the local Buddhist centers or temples for the services regarding confessions and the purification of bad karma if you are really worried..........;)

theReas

Well, in the coming Vesak Day, you can always join the local Buddhist centers or temples for the services regarding confessions and the purification of bad karma if you are really worried..........;)

can shed some lights on this mah?

like last year, i almost every month will visit loyang tua pek gong to burn offerrings.

i wonder will that please them liao bo.

Soulblade

Sorry for making this thread so holy, people but I have to answer this question that was directed at me.

like last year, i almost every month will visit loyang tua pek gong to burn offerrings.

Here's one example.

35 Buddhas

Ven. Lama Zopa Rinpoche: "No matter what vows you might have broken (tantric root vows, or pratimoksha vows, or bodhisattva vows, or samaya vows) no matter what negative karma you have created, everything can be purified. Out of his incomparable kindness, Guru Shakyamuni Buddha revealed different purification methods, such as prostrations to the 35 Buddhas, who are all manifestations of Guru Shakyamuni Buddha, and recitation of their names. Recitation of each buddha’s holy name purifies tens of thousands of eons of negative karma. If for some reason you cannot do prostrations, it is still good to at least recite holy names of the 35 Buddhas every day. No matter how heavy the negative karma you have accumulated, the Buddha has revealed a method to purify it."

You can read more of it in that given link above.

Another method is do the 3-step-1-bow practice in Guang Ming Shan at the coming Vesak Day.

When done with a virtuous motivation, the 3-step-1-bow practice is a powerful way of accumulating vast merits and purifying past negativities. By physically engaging in the practice, verbally expressing homage to the Buddha and mentally having a positive attitude,one creates very extensive good karma in a short time. Below is some
info on the benefits of bowing to the Buddha.

Prostrations are done in order to express reverence to the Triple Gem and to inspire a posture of devotion, modesty, and openness. It alsobrings the additional benefit of curbing pride and arrogance. Those who are humble open themselves to the guidance of others and thus become capable of learning and growing. By bowing down before the image of
the supremely enlightened Buddha one prepares oneself to accept his teaching and guidance leading up to the attainment of enlightenment.

By doing prostrations, you purify obscurations and receive the
enlightened qualities of the holy body, speech and mind of a buddha. Even putting your hands together at your heart is a prostration. The sutras explain that making even this simple gesture to a holy object has eight benefits:

In future lives you will receive a good body with perfect shape,
organs and senses. You will receive perfect conditions so that your practice will be successful and your wishes fulfilled, and

you will be able to work for the teachings and sentient beings.

You will be able to live in morality. (Without morality, there is no happiness in future lives, liberation or enlightenment.)

You will have devotion. (Without devotion, there are no
realizations.)

You will have a courageous mind. (Without a courageous mind you cannot continue to practice Dharma or do extensive bodhisattva work for the teachings and sentient beings.)

You will be reborn as a deva or a human being.

You will achieve the arya path.

You will achieve enlightenment.

Another ten benefits of prostrations are mentioned:

You will achieve a perfect golden body like Guru Shakyamuni Buddha.
You will be extremely beautiful.
You will have an enchanting voice. Without fear or shyness, you will be at ease among holy beings and other people.
You will make devas and human beings happy.
You will become magnificent in appearance.
You will be able to be with Guru Shakyamuni Buddha and his disciples, the bodhisattvas and arhats.
You will have great wealth.
You will be reborn in the higher realms.
You will quickly achieve enlightenment.

celestite

GUYS!! BRING THIS BACK TO GHOST STORY THREAD LEH!!

Want to talk about what religion please start your own thread for it!!

AUTUMN&WINTER

GUYS!! BRING THIS BACK TO GHOST STORY THREAD LEH!!

Want to talk about what religion please start your own thread for it!!

Not all religions believe in ghost realm. The 2 main religions that acknowledge the existence of ghosts are Buddhism and Taoism. So, ghost stories naturally related to these 2 religions. They are related.

Infectant

If possible, return to the same temple to apologize. If it makes you feel better, burn offerings at the temple.

Infectant

Think alot more is last minute convert, no strong faith. Thus, go into limbo and suffer.

Don't know if its karma or what that allow the other side to perceive things differently. Read somewhere that there is a mantra/chant that purify and convert anything, even waste into 'food' for the other side. Anything can be offer to them as long as chant and purify it, so that nothing in this world is go to waste. Probably that should be the way, i.e. to always chant when throwing away food or stuffs, make it better for the otherside to consume, also helps accumulate more merit.

Bian Shi Zou, Gan Lu Shui Zou, Pu Gong Yang Zhen Yan etc

Infectant

In fact, I have more similar true stories to tell but as what you said would spark arguments which I also think so , so better don't tell too many.

They'll probably insist its not their kin, but evil spirits with the intention of wrecking havoc in the family.

theReas

If possible, return to the same temple to apologize. If it makes you feel better, burn offerings at the temple.

that altar was placed inside my grandmother house.

its not at any temple.

thats why last time when no body was watching over me, i would just climb up there and then play the fire loh.

well literally playing with fire. :o

Tiny potato

Not religious discussion here leh..

Share my friend's fishing one. Let's just say he's a bit unlucky..

On one of the night, the tide is nice, tide at the highest at 12am so my friend and anothrr guy went to this fishing spot at sembawang park, there's a beach there too.

So while waiting for the tide to begin to lower, they park at this spot underneath a huge tree. So after an hr of quietness, at ard 1-2am.. He felt someone throwing pebbles at him. His friend a bit puzzled, say he crazy lah. So late where got people...

Then he felt again..he turned ard and saw a pair of eye like thing in the bush, red color, looking at him. Stun, he Faster pack up, drag his friend and run.

Let's just say, we no longer dare to go there fish at night Liao...

firebrand83

Some food for thought. We always see ghosts and spirits being portrayed as malevolent, in some cases they are but mostly because of misfortunes during their lifetimes that caused them to be so eg untimely death, murdered, wronged. So the next time we hear or even see these beings, we could spare some compassionate thought on their piteous state as well

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.