How to travel from ximending to jinguashi to Jiufen?

rabakboy

Hi people

I'm staying at xi men ding going to jinguashi then jin gua shi to jiufen how can I travel there from public transport?

Please help ! Thanks in advance! :)

flakkgot

Hi people

I'm staying at xi men ding going to jinguashi then jin gua shi to jiufen how can I travel there from public transport?

Please help ! Thanks in advance! :)

u walk to the Taipei Metro ximen station, take the Metro to Taipei Main Station and transfer to the TRA trains which will take you to Ruifang station.

From there you can take a cab up to Jiufen/Jingguashi which will cost you about NT700 if i not wrong.

Gixxerfied

As per above..

Can take a bus labelled as Jinguashi from Ruifang Station if you want..Alot cheaper..About 20-25mins..Bus stop is directly opp Ruifang Station main entrance..The same bus will bring u past Jiufen Old Street as well..

bigdeal88

Hijack thread... Gixxer, if taking bus to jiufen right from ruifang station, then coming back is taking the bus opposite the road (like Singapore??)
Sorry couldn't find any details on coming back from jiufen to ruifang.

calkel20

Hijack thread... Gixxer, if taking bus to jiufen right from ruifang station, then coming back is taking the bus opposite the road (like Singapore??)
Sorry couldn't find any details on coming back from jiufen to ruifang.

Yes. The bus stop is opposite the 7/11 area.

juuzbe

As per above..

Can take a bus labelled as Jinguashi from Ruifang Station if you want..Alot cheaper..About 20-25mins..Bus stop is directly opp Ruifang Station main entrance..The same bus will bring u past Jiufen Old Street as well..

Hi may i know if the bus fare is paid per rides with EasyCard? Because I read somewhere mentioning that you can get the bus fare at the Ruifang station or what that covers 4 rides on the bus. Not sure if this exist. Thanks in advance for advice.

Gixxerfied

Hi may i know if the bus fare is paid per rides with EasyCard? Because I read somewhere mentioning that you can get the bus fare at the Ruifang station or what that covers 4 rides on the bus. Not sure if this exist. Thanks in advance for advice.

I pay per trip, can use card...

Are you talking about the one day ticket for the Gold Fulong route tour??

calkel20

I pay per trip, can use card...

Are you talking about the one day ticket for the Gold Fulong route tour??

Per ride is about 23NT from Ruifang to Jiufen/Jinguashi.

The Golden Fulong Route as per the link
Fulong route

IF u taking 3 rides, it's worthwhile.
Fulong route timetable
Attached is the schedule. The bus interval is quite spaced out. So if you are really hoping to hop around fast, then this might not suit you.

genie47

You can do reverse ride like me.

Take train to Fulong then take Gold Fulong Bus. Make sure sit on the right side of the bus. See the waves crash on the rocks damn shiok.

Then as the bus go into Shuinandong, don't get down. Wait until it climb all the way to the Gold Falls, get down. Not official stop but the bus driver will most likely let you come down. See the Gold Falls, then take any of the buses there to Jingguashi and then Jiufen.

But be warned. The train ride from TMS to Fulong can be as long as 1.5hrs. Can get bored to death.

calkel20

You can do reverse ride like me.

Take train to Fulong then take Gold Fulong Bus. Make sure sit on the right side of the bus. See the waves crash on the rocks damn shiok.

Then as the bus go into Shuinandong, don't get down. Wait until it climb all the way to the Gold Falls, get down. Not official stop but the bus driver will most likely let you come down. See the Gold Falls, then take any of the buses there to Jingguashi and then Jiufen.

But be warned. The train ride from TMS to Fulong can be as long as 1.5hrs. Can get bored to death.

Cos it's local train that goes to Yilan. Okay la. I like that side of view all the way to 苏澳。

juuzbe

Per ride is about 23NT from Ruifang to Jiufen/Jinguashi.

The Golden Fulong Route as per the link
Fulong route

IF u taking 3 rides, it's worthwhile.
Fulong route timetable
Attached is the schedule. The bus interval is quite spaced out. So if you are really hoping to hop around fast, then this might not suit you.

thanks all for advice. Am looking at jiufen, Jingguashi, then Keelung Night Market.

Looking at trying and experiencing the train ride along Pingxi Line too, stopping at Jingtong, Pingxi and Shifen stations to look see look see. Any special and unique things to see at these destinations? If yes, looks like need hours to cover liao. Thus unable to combine the above-mentioned JGS and JF into this, will be too much and tiring for my old and young.

Looks like have to split into 2 days trips. Will this be more advisable?

Gixxerfied

thanks all for advice. Am looking at jiufen, Jingguashi, then Keelung Night Market.

Looking at trying and experiencing the train ride along Pingxi Line too, stopping at Jingtong, Pingxi and Shifen stations to look see look see. Any special and unique things to see at these destinations? If yes, looks like need hours to cover liao. Thus unable to combine the above-mentioned JGS and JF into this, will be too much and tiring for my old and young.

You definitely need 2 days for all above..

You should,

Day X:
- Jinguashi(Reach about 0930H)
- Jiufen(Reach about 1130-1200)
- Keelung's Miaokou NM

Day X2:
- Whole of Pingxi Line
- Insert some other night market here

calkel20

Yes. Better to do that. Pingxi line one day. Then break in between for city tour. 3rd day go to Jinguashi/Jiufen/Nanya Rocks Etc.

Pingxi line: Pingxi, Shifen, Houtong :) Good enough for a day.

Just a tip, the stalls outside Ruifang and if you head straight out of Ruifang station and cross the road all the way still walking straight, there is a 美食街。The food is nice. Quite like the sashimi platter they serve there.

stanley_home

ruifang area food quite nice.

had the noodles beside the bus stop to jinguashi.
was great.

juuzbe

Yes. Better to do that. Pingxi line one day. Then break in between for city tour. 3rd day go to Jinguashi/Jiufen/Nanya Rocks Etc.

Pingxi line: Pingxi, Shifen, Houtong :) Good enough for a day.

Just a tip, the stalls outside Ruifang and if you head straight out of Ruifang station and cross the road all the way still walking straight, there is a 美食街。The food is nice. Quite like the sashimi platter they serve there.

yoohoo :s12:.. thanks bro for advice. Houtong station what's there to see ah? Earlier read about Jingtong that exhibits the old railway station... but not on Houtong. and Ruifang to Jingtong already almost 1hr journey.
The train fare covers unlimited rides right? But I don't think I will alight at all 9 stations lah.. hahaha... will alight at those worth visiting deh lah :p

Previously only visited Shifen (for sky lantern) then jiufen and JGS but via booked cab. Never have a chance to tried out these stations or their bus rides. Intend to get an experience of it.

For Ruifang makan street tips, thanks ya. Will look out for it. One more advice needed is the train from Taipei Main Station, is hourly run right? If I buy the fare will I need to buy in advance or just reach before the time and buy will do?
And also need to buy return at the same moment too? Any restricted timing for the return ticket bought?

juuzbe

ruifang area food quite nice.

had the noodles beside the bus stop to jinguashi.
was great.

thanks, so looks like have to grab my breakfast there instead. :s13:

last time went jinguashi like bo mi kia leh... got noodles at the bus-stop meh? :s13: never notice anything because was very quiet only the museum and nothing much.

fireworks79

yoohoo :s12:.. thanks bro for advice. Houtong station what's there to see ah? Earlier read about Jingtong that exhibits the old railway station... but not on Houtong. and Ruifang to Jingtong already almost 1hr journey.
houtong is oso a old coal mining town but now is full of cats. u can go take foto of the cats if u want
The train fare covers unlimited rides right?
u need to get the 1 day pass,only wif this pass then u r entitled the unlimited rides on the pingsi line
But I don't think I will alight at all 9 stations lah.. hahaha... will alight at those worth visiting deh lah :p

Previously only visited Shifen (for sky lantern) then jiufen and JGS but via booked cab. Never have a chance to tried out these stations or their bus rides. Intend to get an experience of it.

For Ruifang makan street tips, thanks ya. Will look out for it. One more advice needed is the train from Taipei Main Station, is hourly run right?
depend on the class of trains
If I buy the fare will I need to buy in advance or just reach before the time and buy will do?
u can buy on the spot, the trains will come quite soon unless u specific want to take a certain timing train

And also need to buy return at the same moment too? Any restricted timing for the return ticket bought?
dun need, just c when u wan to return, just buy n wait for the train unless u wan to reach tpe at a certain timing. Eg; reach tpe at 2200hrs, den u need to count back the time needed for the travel n wat is the train arrival time so tat u an reach tpe at 2200hrs
comment in blue

Gixxerfied

The train fare covers unlimited rides right? But I don't think I will alight at all 9 stations lah.. hahaha... will alight at those worth visiting deh lah :p

For Ruifang makan street tips, thanks ya. Will look out for it. One more advice needed is the train from Taipei Main Station, is hourly run right? If I buy the fare will I need to buy in advance or just reach before the time and buy will do?

Can just take local train..Can use easy card...Nt very long actually..My 1st trip to Ruifang i took tze-chiang le train to(Got seat = very shiok), return back to TMS i use took local train..

Recent trip just local train to Ruifang..

fireworks79

thanks, so looks like have to grab my breakfast there instead. :s13:

last time went jinguashi like bo mi kia leh... got noodles at the bus-stop meh? :s13: never notice anything because was very quiet only the museum and nothing much.
ruifang is a old re-supply town hence there r more shops n they opened slightly earlier as compared to jiufen, jinguashi, pingsi, qingtong etc etc

calkel20

Can just take local train..Can use easy card...Nt very long actually..My 1st trip to Ruifang i took tze-chiang le train to(Got seat = very shiok), return back to TMS i use took local train..

Recent trip just local train to Ruifang..

Pingxi line tix is unlimited ride but please note that the train interval is about 1 hour one ride.

Take local train from TMS, there is like departure to ruifang every 20 mins. If hourly, then it's those with seat allocation. Do not need to buy return. Well if you decide to use the UU card, remember to have about 200NT inside as the return will be around that price.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.