[Official] Singapore Blue Chips CD tracking thread

Carnesir

High barrier to entry also means next time if Myanmar were to prosper u are potentially looking at a monopoly

yuki11

today drop again. any recommendation which of the 3 telcos to enter at current prices?

Rinezz

DW, need your help.

at current price :-

singtel $3.59

starhub $3.90

m1 $2.90

at this level, what is the dividend yield ? TQ in advance .

at ft.com market data - for singtel they show 4.49%

Dividends Warrior

DW, need your help.

at current price :-

singtel $3.59

starhub $3.90

m1 $2.90

at this level, what is the dividend yield ? TQ in advance .

at ft.com market data - for singtel they show 4.49%

Singtel 3.59, the yield is around 4.68%

Starhub 3.90, the yield is 5.1%

M1 2.90, the yield is 5%

*Assuming they maintain their dividends.
:D

Sinkie

So, a paper loss is also not a loss unless you sell =:p

yeah, a paper loss will become a realised loss when there is a sudden emergency need for funds.

then u really lan lan have to cut liao :(

eveee99

yeah, a paper loss will become a realised loss when there is a sudden emergency need for funds.

then u really lan lan have to cut liao :(

True, so only invest with the money you can afford to lose and NEVER use your emergency fund. :D

deweylim

M1 2.90, the yield is 5%

Hi all

Can ask you guys something? How much yield is consider decent for the risk to your principal? 5% might look high but it is because of the is risk to your principal. IE, the stock dropping these few days.

Is there such a thing? Or just something the level of risk you can stomach?

Carnesir

M1 2.90, the yield is 5%

Then u have to look at payout ratio with respect to free cash flow

Starhub and m1 are pretty high iirc. Singtel payout ratio is lowest. But they have potentially higher costs to pay in future because of Myanmar?

Carnesir

Hi all

Can ask you guys something? How much yield is consider decent for the risk to your principal? 5% might look high but it is because of the is risk to your principal. IE, the stock dropping these few days.

Is there such a thing? Or just something the level of risk you can stomach?

Up to individual... If one is resistant to price, a 5 percent yield for many years is considered very good returns to me. But I have to ignore the noises of the economy and it takes alot of discipline..

Is like bonds lah. Just that bonds are very boring but at least the returns and capital are guaranteed as long as the issuer is solvent

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.