S&CC rate for Ang Mo Kio TC is 18% higher than Aljunied TC’s

dreamer75

S&CC rate for Ang Mo Kio TC is 18% higher than Aljunied TC’s
May 20th, 2013 | Author: Contributions
Singaporeans should start demanding for lower S&CC rates

I refer to the ongoing *discussions* about Town Council Managing Agent Contract.

Teo Ho Pin questions transactions between WP and FMSS - Channel NewsAsia
No clear picture in sight

As a layman who did not pay full attention to the facts presented and discussed, it is hard to draw a conclusion. Hopefully, in the next few weeks, when further questions are asked and clarified, there would be a clear conclusion to the matter. In particular, whether if there are lapses in the management of town councils that should be rectified for the benefits of the residents, which brings me to the key point of this article.

Town council should deliver quality service with lower S&CC

What is the ultimate AIM of Town Councils? While I do not have the much sought after town council experience, my humble view is that town council should strive to provide quality services to residents while minimizing costs. This is what we normally refer as value for money.

S&CC charges are largely similar across different towns

Out of curiosity, I did a lookup on what the various town councils are charging residents for S&CC. For ease of comparison, I am only looking at the reduced S&CC rates published for 4-room flat by each town council. I could not find any rates for Sembawang-Nee Soon, Marine Parade, and Moulmein-Kallang. Please refer to the table below.

Town Council S&CC
West Coast 52.50
Holland Bt Panjang 52.00
Bishan Toa Payoh 55.00
Jurong 51.60
East Coast 52.00
Ang Mo Kio 61.00
Pasir Ris Punggol 50.50
Aljunied Punggol East Hougang 51.50
Sembawang Nee Soon NA
Marine Parade NA
Moulmein Kallang NA
Tanjong Pagar NA
Tampines 55.50

From the table, we can make two observations:

1. The rates hover around $50.50 – $52.50, regardless of the size of the towns.

2. Barring any deviations for the unknown rates, Ang Mo Kio appears to have the highest rate at $61 per month, followed by Bishan-Toa Payoh $55, and Tampines $55.50.

The above observations are troubling for me.

Are town councils motivated to minimize costs?

I find it hard to accept that regardless of population size for each town, the rates somewhat standardized around $50 per month for a 4-room flat. If we study marketing pricing, what normally happens is that a bigger market usually pays a lower rate, compared to a smaller market. The assumption is that bigger towns have stronger negotiation power, and therefore can deliver better services at lower price, or same price but better services.

From the table, it seems that the residents ended up as price-takers. Regardless of where you stay, the S&CC is very similar. Perhaps readers in Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Toa Payoh and Tampines can share if they enjoy exceedingly good services.

People should demand for lower S&CC rates

So while the discussion is ongoing about how much a town council managing agent is paid, and the contracting process, I think people in general should start asking why are the S&CC rates similar across different towns? Those in Ang Mo Kio may want to ask why are they paying the most? Why is there almost a 20% premium compared to the rest?

From the procurement point of view, is it not better that town councils band together and negotiate with the service providers? In so doing, the town councils will be able to dictate the terms of services, and achieve better services and lower S&CC for the residents.

I hope residents will start judging MPs’ performance with S&CC rates as one of the KPIs. Residents should be the price-setters, not price-takers. Afterall, town councils typically impose penalties on late or non-payment. It is time residents exercise their penalties at the polling booth when S&CC rates go up or services are poor.

S&CC rate for Ang Mo Kio TC is 18% higher than Aljunied TC’s - AsiaOne Forum

koxinga

People should demand for lower S&CC rates

The principle nowadays seems to be getting more value for money (e.g don't reduce cost, but get more benefits for the same cost) versus reducing cost.

I am thinking of downgrading my broadband (e.g save cost), but I am not swayed by the argument that I should get a bigger pipe for the same amount I am paying (e.g more value).

Providence

I stay in the Aljunied GRC. The town council's response to a problem which I called up is quite fast and efficient. I called up the town council regarding lift breakdowns and other facility problems a couple of times. No issue here. :)

Thumbs-up for the Workers' Party! The cleanliness of the estate is not bad as compared to the condition when it is under the Marine Parade GRC.

swathe

I stay in the Aljunied GRC. The town council's response to a problem which I called up is quite fast and efficient. I called up the town council regarding lift breakdowns and other facility problems a couple of times. No issue here. :)

Thumbs-up for the Workers' Party! The cleanliness of the estate is not bad as compared to the condition when it is under the Marine Parade GRC.

How come different experience for me? Their technician serviced a lift and forgot to turn off the lamp on top of the lift, wasting electricity.

Reminded them for weeks, they say no big problem.

stillgottheblues

I'm always against TC charges and questioning their charges but sadly almost all Sinkies agreed to paying premium charges for minimum services. Is the $5 fine for late payment still apply?

Providence

How come different experience for me? Their technician serviced a lift and forgot to turn off the lamp on top of the lift, wasting electricity.

Which lift company was that? Different HDB estates have different lift companies. I used to work in a company that installed CCTV surveillance systems at lift lobbies and inside lifts throughout the island last time. That company is the main vendor for this kind of work for HDB, Surbana and all the town councils.

Based on my work experience in that company, the Hougang TC always demanded an immediate camera change on the day of discovery from the company. The PR will be sent to the company on the same day as well. If there was a delay, the management would be screwed by the TC. The other TCs could still delay a bit and even 'close one eye'. But the Tanjong Pagar TC was also as strict as the Hougang one. Only these two TCs were quite 'on' back then.

The worst TC ever was Aljunied TC and it was under George Yeo back then. There were so many faulty cameras and the TC did not bother to renew the maintenance contracts or change those devices. In the end, the residents were quite unhappy with the TC back then. The housing estates were quite messy and most of the residents did not feel safe at their flats with faulty camera systems.

The moral of the story is I have visited a lot of housing estates in the past due to the job above. And seen a lot of things with my own eyes. Even communicated with the various TC personnel before. I could say the personnel in the opposition wards were quite 'on'. The Potong Pasir TC did not install any surveillance system because it claimed the area was safe.

The most common comment I ever heard from the TCs that were governed by the ruling party back then. "Budget constraint!"

cscs3

Same experience here. Not every time they response actually. It all depend which company is in charge.

Providence

The lift company that services the lifts at my block is Chevalier. I have no problem with this company or its servicing team at the moment. :D

The town council will call me to update me on the situation without fail. I find it a bit irritating to update me half a day. Hahahaha...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.