Where to tailor clothes =D

natnai

so expensive ah? siao liao la have like 5 to alter leh

As in fold the cuff like french cuff like that.

Firstly, yes it is that expensive. You are probably better off buying new shirts.

Secondly, it is not possible to do them as French cuffs because the construction of a French cuff is entirely different from a regular sport cuff. The lining, thickness, width--these must all change.

desmond321

guys, i;ve just grad and gonna step into the working world. as a fresh grad with limited budget. I was wondering which tailors offer the best bang for bucks shirts? Then i can slowly upgrade from there.

made some research of my own reading this thread, is it safe to say for beginners, grandcity gives the best value? anymore?

really need some advice. thanks!

aspenx

Yesterday I went to Clancy to alter my suit jacket, which included shortening of the sleeve (non-functioning buttons), narrow the width of the sleeve, and taking in the waist and hips of the jacket. I was charged $230 dollars, I was honesty shocked. The service was good though.

Is that price the norm for such work?They also charged me $65 to narrow the waist, crotch of pants and length.

In the future I would rather spend extra and get a suit made for me in-person. @_@

You were charged a lot more than me. Mine included narrowing the shoulders too. I did it just across from Clancy by the way.

$190 for making a original CK I got at a bargin sale actually wearable. Pretty worth it to me.

My tailored suit costs me nearly $2000 in comparison.

LoneReaction

You were charged a lot more than me. Mine included narrowing the shoulders too. I did it just across from Clancy by the way.

$190 for making a original CK I got at a bargin sale actually wearable. Pretty worth it to me.

Thanks for sharing. Next time I will try the other shop! >_<

dissipate

Thanks for sharing. Next time I will try the other shop! >_<

Or next time can ask for quote first also.

Have done structural changes at the shop opposite Clancy also, eg taking in waist and hips, narrowing sleeve width, and even though the boss doesn't do it himself but hires other women to do it (at his shop), they are quite good. Have had no problems with them.

LoneReaction

Or next time can ask for quote first also.

I was noob so didn't know what needed to be fixed. Got quoted $100 over the phone for taking in chest, hips and waist. I think I will get them to explain to me why it costs so much again upon collection.

MsTickle

May b a repeat posting, but hubby tried Marcella and they're pretty good. Though they're quite limited in terms of fabrics and other customisation selections.

But they're cheaper than going to a dedicated tailor. Cost-cutting I suppose?

yamcancook

Once a month tailor review..

Dylan&Son
Side adjusters are placed in the wrong direction. This indicates that there is no pre-checks before delivery of goods to customers. Customer service was really disappointing. No hint of apology for the fault. It seems like a no-big deal for them. Big No-No for relationship marketing. Don't get me wrong. they give me the perfect fit for my clothes, but i am looking for a personal r/s with the tailor. Something long term, and not just transactional.

K.S @ 55. Collected my first pair of chinos from them yesterday. Was served by Matt and Clinton. Customer service was really marvelous, professional. Really outstanding wide range of colours, and there was even a fitting for my pants done before the actual pair was made. Looks like i will be staying here for quite a while..

Iris tailor.. might be trying out soon as well.

staedtler_07

Went to Kimdo this afternoon. Pleasantly surprise by their customer service as they directed me from their old premises to their new premises at 35 Tannery Lane, #10-05.

Although the shop was bustling with customers, they really took care of me when I was asking for tissue to wipe my sweat after the long walk from Potong Pasir MRT.

Took my time to select the suitable cloth for my shirt. Lots of reference to take from those clothes that are made and waiting to be collected. Chatted with the staff while waiting for my measurements to be taking and realize that most customers are repeat or recommended by friends.

Will post the result of the shirts from them after I collect from them 2 weeks time.

iV3RsOn

Went to Kimdo this afternoon. Pleasantly surprise by their customer service as they directed me from their old premises to their new premises at 35 Tannery Lane, #10-05.

Although the shop was bustling with customers, they really took care of me when I was asking for tissue to wipe my sweat after the long walk from Potong Pasir MRT.

Took my time to select the suitable cloth for my shirt. Lots of reference to take from those clothes that are made and waiting to be collected. Chatted with the staff while waiting for my measurements to be taking and realize that most customers are repeat or recommended by friends.

Will post the result of the shirts from them after I collect from them 2 weeks time.

they shifted again??? 2 weeks so fast??? I tailored with them last year and it took 1 month...

elpis55

No Apologies from Dylan?

That sucks, I was still thinking of giving him one more chance. hmmm will think about it.

Share more details about the whole experience?

Dylan&Son
Side adjusters are placed in the wrong direction. This indicates that there is no pre-checks before delivery of goods to customers. Customer service was really disappointing. No hint of apology for the fault. It seems like a no-big deal for them. Big No-No for relationship marketing. Don't get me wrong. they give me the perfect fit for my clothes, but i am looking for a personal r/s with the tailor. Something long term, and not just transactional.

K.S @ 55. Collected my first pair of chinos from them yesterday. Was served by Matt and Clinton. Customer service was really marvelous, professional. Really outstanding wide range of colours, and there was even a fitting for my pants done before the actual pair was made. Looks like i will be staying here for quite a while..

staedtler_07

they shifted again??? 2 weeks so fast??? I tailored with them last year and it took 1 month...

Hope I can collect them in 2 weeks time though I am not in a hurry to collect them. I'll cross my fingers and hope it'll be a faster process? :s13:

i.curtis

Wow! I have heard about the very poor customer service at Dylan but I didn't think it was that bad! Big no no to me!

Had similar experience with you at KBKS, their customer service is indeed very good and made me feel very comfortable with them! And agree on their huge selection of cloth to choose from.

Show us what you made from KBKS!!

Dylan&Son

yamcancook

Wow! I have heard about the very poor customer service at Dylan but I didn't think it was that bad! Big no no to me!

Had similar experience with you at KBKS, their customer service is indeed very good and made me feel very comfortable with them! And agree on their huge selection of cloth to choose from.

Show us what you made from KBKS!!

No Apologies from Dylan?

That sucks, I was still thinking of giving him one more chance. hmmm will think about it.

Share more details about the whole experience?

Dear both, I will definitely share the outcome of my entire experience after i have collected the altered chinos from Dylan. I had just sent it in for the side adjusters to be replaced. Please do certainly patronize Dylan and give them a chance, and not depend on my indepndent review. I do not* wish to have the tailor to come after me on sabotaging their business in anyway. However, what i am doing is to provide details in this thread is to give a real first-hand experience of what i have encountered. I have also contributed a positive review on them a few pages back.

Regarding on the pictures of my latest commission from KS, i will upload one soon, otherwise, please pm me, and i will let you guys know on my instagram account, where you can view the pictures.

aspenx

Reviews

Please do certainly patronize Dylan and give them a chance, and not depend on my indepndent review. I do wish to have the tailor to come after me on sabotaging their business in anyway. However, what i am doing is to provide details in this thread is to give a real first-hand experience of what i have encountered. I have also contributed a positive review on them a few pages back.

I have posted both positive and somewhat a little negative reviews on Dylan earlier in the thread too. Guess the thread is too massive for most of the newcomers to go through.

At my last purchase, Dylan (himself) made a mistake with my order. I was billed 3k+ when I only made two shirts (400+). Somewhat nonchalant semi-apologetic attitude but it was fine with me. Better than when they got my pants' length wrong once and the SA was insisting it was correct before Dylan measured it again to confirm.

Anyways, the overall end product is still very good and the fit and quality are consistent imo. I have had experience with other tailors that can't get the fit right even when I gave them a sample of the kind of pants fit I want. Suit fit was the best for me. Don't feel so safe commissioning other tailors to do mine. Especially when they can't even get pants right with a sample? Wished I had more occasions to wear my suit besides when I travel.

yamcancook

I have posted both positive and somewhat a little negative reviews on Dylan earlier in the thread too. Guess the thread is too massive for most of the newcomers to go through.

At my last purchase, Dylan (himself) made a mistake with my order. I was billed 3k+ when I only made two shirts (400+). Somewhat nonchalant semi-apologetic attitude but it was fine with me. Better than when they got my pants' length wrong once and the SA was insisting it was correct before Dylan measured it again to confirm.

Anyways, the overall end product is still very good and the fit and quality are consistent imo. I have had experience with other tailors that can't get the fit right even when I gave them a sample of the kind of pants fit I want. Suit fit was the best for me. Don't feel so safe commissioning other tailors to do mine. Especially when they can't even get pants right with a sample? Wished I had more occasions to wear my suit besides when I travel.

Grammer edit .. i do not wish* the tailor to come after me..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.