5 days london itenarary.

OKCATYEON

Day 1 - 21/09/2013 Saturday

7pm
Arrive at London

8pm
Arrive at hotel - Best western the boltons.

9pm
Venture around hotel area + dinner.

Day 2 - 22/09/2013 Sunday

8am - 4pm
Sightseeing, London open house day. Free entry for certain attractions!

5pm
Royal albert hall for McFly's concert, begins at 7pm.

10-10.30pm
Back to hotel

Day 3 - 23/09/2013 Monday

8am - ??pm
Manchester

Day 4 - 24/09/2013 Tuesday

London bridge (??)
London eye (??)
Big ben (??)
Romeo and juliet (??)
Convent garden
Picadilly circus
Oxford Street
Kensington high street

Day 5 - 25/09/2013 Wednesday

If day 4 not enough bring over to day 5.
(not planned)

Day 6 - 26/09/2013 Thursday

9am-1pm
(not planned)

2pm
Check-out and leave to airport.

gnixer

I got the Oyster card with some balance if you want.
but I will be back end of the month as now I'm in Milan.

aaron.ng91

Day 1 - 21/09/2013 Saturday

7pm
Arrive at London

8pm
Arrive at hotel - Best western the boltons.

9pm
Venture around hotel area + dinner.

Day 2 - 22/09/2013 Sunday

8am - 4pm
Sightseeing, London open house day. Free entry for certain attractions!

5pm
Royal albert hall for McFly's concert, begins at 7pm.

10-10.30pm
Back to hotel

Day 3 - 23/09/2013 Monday

8am - ??pm
Manchester

Day 4 - 24/09/2013 Tuesday

London bridge (??)
London eye (??)
Big ben (??)
Romeo and juliet (??)
Convent garden
Picadilly circus
Oxford Street
Kensington high street

Day 5 - 25/09/2013 Wednesday

If day 4 not enough bring over to day 5.
(not planned)

Day 6 - 26/09/2013 Thursday

9am-1pm
(not planned)

2pm
Check-out and leave to airport.

Didn't know there's a London Open House. Sounds great!

Just a suggestion, if you're going to Oxford/Regent street, you can give Kensington High Street a miss. Everything you can find in Kensington High Street can probably be found in Oxford/Regent Street. I live in South Kensington and I rarely even go Kensington High Street to shop :p

Besides walking around in Central London and visiting the attractions you mentioned, you might want to consider visiting some of the museums (especially Natural History Museum or British Museum), or even one of the market! (Camden or Borough)

OKCATYEON

Didn't know there's a London Open House. Sounds great!

Just a suggestion, if you're going to Oxford/Regent street, you can give Kensington High Street a miss. Everything you can find in Kensington High Street can probably be found in Oxford/Regent Street. I live in South Kensington and I rarely even go Kensington High Street to shop :p

Besides walking around in Central London and visiting the attractions you mentioned, you might want to consider visiting some of the museums (especially Natural History Museum or British Museum), or even one of the market! (Camden or Borough)

Yup we'll be visiting camden market!

I'm staying at best western the boltons, any idea how far it is to royal albert hall? It's 5mins from kensington station. Just afraid we can't get back to the hotel after the concert.

We'll be visiting some museums during the London open house, depending on which museum suits us more.

Thanks for your advice!

Ruriel

Sorry, hijacking thread again! :x

May I ask what time do the stalls at Camden market open, usually? And I think the whole Camden area (market stalls + shops) is pretty big right? Is it possible to look around the entire place within half a day? (Going for afternoon tea after that, so don't exactly have entire day to spare :( )

I want to try that ChinChin ice cream lab there! :lick:

aaron.ng91

Yup we'll be visiting camden market!

I'm staying at best western the boltons, any idea how far it is to royal albert hall? It's 5mins from kensington station. Just afraid we can't get back to the hotel after the concert.

We'll be visiting some museums during the London open house, depending on which museum suits us more.

Thanks for your advice!

It will be about 25 mins walk, or 2 tube stations away. If it was me I would walk (since I'm familiar with the place and its quite a nice stroll :p), but I would recommend you to take the tube station from South Kensington to Earl's Court.

You can try entering both locations in Google Maps UK and see what suits you. Google Maps is your best friend when travelling in UK. :)

Sorry, hijacking thread again! :x

May I ask what time do the stalls at Camden market open, usually? And I think the whole Camden area (market stalls + shops) is pretty big right? Is it possible to look around the entire place within half a day? (Going for afternoon tea after that, so don't exactly have entire day to spare :( )

I want to try that ChinChin ice cream lab there! :lick:

I think it should be 10am, according to this link: Opening Times | General Information. Yup, Camden is pretty big, and there are several sections to it. Half a day would be good enough for Camden, even if you take your time to slowly stroll and window shop.

Well, I've tried the ChinChin ice cream once. Looks pretty cool but the ice cream didn't really impress me :p

Ruriel

I think it should be 10am, according to this link: Opening Times | General Information. Yup, Camden is pretty big, and there are several sections to it. Half a day would be good enough for Camden, even if you take your time to slowly stroll and window shop.

Well, I've tried the ChinChin ice cream once. Looks pretty cool but the ice cream didn't really impress me :p

Awesome, thanks! :D

Haha, okay I shall lower my expectations a little then. =:p

OKCATYEON

It will be about 25 mins walk, or 2 tube stations away. If it was me I would walk (since I'm familiar with the place and its quite a nice stroll :p), but I would recommend you to take the tube station from South Kensington to Earl's Court.

You can try entering both locations in Google Maps UK and see what suits you. Google Maps is your best friend when travelling in UK. :)

Thanks! Will see if i'm tired after the concert :)

Anyway how safe is London at night? That's my other concern.

aaron.ng91

Thanks! Will see if i'm tired after the concert :)

Anyway how safe is London at night? That's my other concern.

Depends on where you are. Kensington / Chelsea area is one of the safest areas in London. I've been returning to my apartment late at night quite often, and it feels pretty ok. Then again, thefts are not unheard of and you should still take precautions.

Areas such as Piccadilly, Leicester Square, Covent Garden where most people are should be relatively safe in my opinion. I would be more concerned with people who are there to club and become drunk/rowdy late in the night, especially during weekends.

Some of the more "notorious" areas in Central London would be near the Kings Cross area. Or as you move further east and south of London.

Ruriel

Depends on where you are. Kensington / Chelsea area is one of the safest areas in London. I've been returning to my apartment late at night quite often, and it feels pretty ok. Then again, thefts are not unheard of and you should still take precautions.

Areas such as Piccadilly, Leicester Square, Covent Garden where most people are should be relatively safe in my opinion. I would be more concerned with people who are there to club and become drunk/rowdy late in the night, especially during weekends.

Some of the more "notorious" areas in Central London would be near the Kings Cross area. Or as you move further east and south of London.

Darn I'm staying around King's Cross. Pullman St Pancras, to be exact. :( But I don't think I'll be hanging out too late... so hopefully it'll be fine.

OKCATYEON

Thanks for all the info! Looking forward to my trip to London! :D

nashrul91

I just came back from london recently and i stayed at megaro hotel just stones away from St Pancras Stn. I think its fine for me and i normally go out for a walk alone myself at night just to take some fresh air. as for sightseeing, i took the Original Bus Tours. As i'm travelling with 2 small kids, it's easy to take that bus tours cos u can stop at any bus stop and it covers most of the places that u mentioned. well, u can google the company and find out more. u could also ride their cruise which will go near the tower bridge(better known as london bridge) for FREE.

if u got a day to spare, why not go to paris for a day trip via train. furthermore, u're staying near St Pancras and the train leaves from there. just set off early and it should be enough to cover the city. just be wary of pick pocket.

all the best for ur trip!

Laneige

i stayed twice at hmm forgot name liao.... near hyde park. opposite the primark? the hotel has a restaurant where we makan the fish n chicken or pork chop. wasay best dishes in London sia. cant imagine at hotel. before that dont know jiak simi end up jiak KFC :(

cant rem Covent Garden is more happening on Sunday or what. but most shops close early.
we went to one of the restaurant near a phmaracy to jiak and very nice. i think its italian restaurant. prices also ok

buy tea if u siao tea. Convent Garden has the popular tea shop. offhand cant remember name liao. whittard?

i was at london for 3-4days n we took a trip out to Bath and the Stonehenge. v good trip. enjoy a lot.
some of the bus tours, the bus come v slow one. interval super long. 2nd time i went i didnt take those liao. i take the normal bus.

OKCATYEON

i stayed twice at hmm forgot name liao.... near hyde park. opposite the primark? the hotel has a restaurant where we makan the fish n chicken or pork chop. wasay best dishes in London sia. cant imagine at hotel. before that dont know jiak simi end up jiak KFC :(

cant rem Covent Garden is more happening on Sunday or what. but most shops close early.
we went to one of the restaurant near a phmaracy to jiak and very nice. i think its italian restaurant. prices also ok

buy tea if u siao tea. Convent Garden has the popular tea shop. offhand cant remember name liao. whittard?

i was at london for 3-4days n we took a trip out to Bath and the Stonehenge. v good trip. enjoy a lot.
some of the bus tours, the bus come v slow one. interval super long. 2nd time i went i didnt take those liao. i take the normal bus.

We already planned 1 day for manchester, not sure if it will be too rushing to plan another day to bath.

Laneige

We already planned 1 day for manchester, not sure if it will be too rushing to plan another day to bath.

oh ya might be too rush
i went to this museum see dino skeletons. ok la. FOC but wish i visit those museum with artifacts

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.