DBS Altitude Visa Signature

frustrateddude

I have DBS ibanking but no credit card with them at all. My income is less than $80k. Tried applying and:

Your application is successful.
Thank you for your application. Your application for Credit Card(s) has been approved.
You should receive your card within 3 to 5 working days.

Do update again if u got your card.

btw I am one of those mentioned by anfielder.

lusunshine

I have DBS ibanking but no credit card with them at all. My income is less than $80k. Tried applying and:

Your application is successful.
Thank you for your application. Your application for Credit Card(s) has been approved.
You should receive your card within 3 to 5 working days.

Is your salary crediting account with DBS/POSB? If yes, that may be the reason for instant approval.

Daniel.Winn

I applied DBS Black Amex and it's on the way. CSO offered me Altitude (He didn't mention Visa or Amex) and I didn't know anything about it. Then, I rejected Altitude. Now, I'd read through this thread as many as I can.

Altitude Visa: $5 = 3 points
Black Amex: $5 = 2 points
If I consider only DBS, I should cancel my black Amex and reapply Altitude Visa, right?

Altitude Visa: $1 = 1.2 miles (no expiry) (up to 2k)
Citi PM: $1 = 1.2 miles (local) (Tax payment isn't counted) (no expiry)
Uni Privi: $1 = 1.6 miles (2yrs expiry + 3 years KF) (local)

My spending is not always over 2k. I would say around 1k average.
With my limited spending, I used UOB Mileage calculator. I can only go as far as South Korea, Japan after 2 years approx 38,400 miles.
My intention is to accumulate more points and can go more far places.

Altitude Visa: $192.60 ($96.30 for 1 sup card)
Citi PM: $192.60 (Supp card free)
Uni Privi: $256.80 ( 2 x Supp card free)

From the above, I think I'm more suitable with Altitude Visa considering no expiry points, can earn points for paying annual fee, I pay tax using CC and I don't need to apply sup card. Is this correct? Cuz I have no habit of using credit card in overseas. I would just use cash advance if I'm really in need. The only advantage of Citi PM, for my nature of spending, is PP where Citi's PP allow 2 persons free which I can forgo as I don't travel on Full service airline often too and I don't go so far.

For Petrol, it's not advisable to use Altitude card, right? Since I have DBS Esso card.

Sorry for the long post with many questions.

Daniel.Winn

Received DBS Black, DBS Altitude Amex and Live Fresh cards today.
Thinking of keeping DBS Black Amex as there might be some use.

Let's say change from Esso to SPC and get 5 x Rewards points. And, some other Amex exclusive stuffs.

Notice DBS Altitude Amex don't have PP. So, I'm gonna return it.

Gonna re-apply Altitude Visa and Citi PM.
Those months I think I won't hit $2k, I'll use Citi PM.
And, I think I have big purchase, I'll use Altitude Visa for max.

Btw, just sharing the info. I saw somewhere in flyer talk forum

In order for Altitude to match Citi PM cuz of $5 & $1 way of giving points respectively, breakeven point is $2450 for Altitude. It's not 100% correct tho. But, this is approximate figure.

hwmook

Let's say change from Esso to SPC and get 5 x Rewards points. And, some other Amex exclusive stuffs.

In order for Altitude to match Citi PM cuz of $5 & $1 way of giving points respectively, breakeven point is $2450 for Altitude. It's not 100% correct tho. But, this is approximate figure.

If you bother to read this thread, you would have know that Altitude give you 1.2miles per dollar and not 6 mile per $5 so whatever you read on other forums, forget it. They are paper generals like those in our army, talk only but no practical data. What $2450? All crap.

DevilCurseYou

If you bother to read this thread, you would have know that Altitude give you 1.2miles per dollar and not 6 mile per $5 so whatever you read on other forums, forget it. They are paper generals like those in our army, talk only but no practical data. What $2450? All crap.

the answer is one DBS point/2 miles per complete block of 1.666 dollar in a transaction. they dun give fractional points/miles

Suleyman

Why would you use DBS Black Amex for SPC? Even at 5x, that is earning 2 miles/$. Amex Rewards Card will earn you 3 miles/$ at SPC. Hit the 5k per annum spending and it works out to be 3.333 miles/$.

As an Amex card, you can get all Amex exclusive stuff, including those that require non-co-branded Amex cards.

It's nowhere near correct. The $2,450 number runs on a lot of assumptions, such as assuming that the average rounding is $2.50 and split into 45 transactions throughout the month. Not sure about you, but no way I come close to 45 transactions on one card.

Anyway, Citi PM has lost it's lustre for quite awhile now. With cards like ANZ Travel Visa or Citi Prestige earns 1.4 miles and do not have the rounding issues of DBS. However, for large spending months (like last month when IRAS gets their yearly hongbao from me), DBS Altitude Visa is king.

Daniel.Winn

I was just sharing mah.. I've been reading this thread for 50+ pages already. I know that I never say 6 miles per $5. I was talking about that rounding down to $5 that we lose compared to Citi PM $1.

Why would you use DBS Black Amex for SPC? Even at 5x, that is earning 2 miles/$. Amex Rewards Card will earn you 3 miles/$ at SPC. Hit the 5k per annum spending and it works out to be 3.333 miles/$.

As an Amex card, you can get all Amex exclusive stuff, including those that require non-co-branded Amex cards.

It's nowhere near correct. The $2,450 number runs on a lot of assumptions, such as assuming that the average rounding is $2.50 and split into 45 transactions throughout the month. Not sure about you, but no way I come close to 45 transactions on one card.

Anyway, Citi PM has lost it's lustre for quite awhile now. With cards like ANZ Travel Visa or Citi Prestige earns 1.4 miles and do not have the rounding issues of DBS. However, for large spending months (like last month when IRAS gets their yearly hongbao from me), DBS Altitude Visa is king.

For that calculation, yeah, based on 45 transactions. I also never hit that amount of transactions. The most I would say 10-12.

So, I should return the Black Amex. I juz checked that I must spend more than 1k/month for 5x Rewards for Black Amex.
Amex Rewards is a way to go for miles. Currently, DBS Esso gives me quite substantial discount. But, I wanna earn more miles now.
What about Amex Platinum instead of Rewards Card?

ANZ seems to have good one...
Citi Prestige cannot make it with my income lah. But, gotta give a try.

I still need second card for those months I don't hit $2k.

This CC thingy for newbie is too chim to understand.

hwmook

the answer is one DBS point/2 miles per complete block of 1.666 dollar in a transaction. they dun give fractional points/miles

Even if we take into account you would lose up to 2 miles per transaction with Altitude and up to 1 mile per transaction with PM, the difference is so minor that i am not sure its worth mentioning. Even with 45 transactions and losing an average of 0.5 miles more, that only work out to 22.5 miles. A $113 spend above $2000 already recover that difference so the $2450 is far from the truth.

DBS allow you to pay SP bills and income taxes at AXS. 1 Income tax paid at AXS can easily recover the few miles lost every month. Seriously that is not even a point worth losing sleep about. If anal about that few miles then just get a ANZ travel like Suleyman mentioned and a UOB Priv which give 1.4miles or 1.6miles per dollar.

hwmook

I was just sharing mah.. I've been reading this thread for 50+ pages already. I know that I never say 6 miles per $5. I was talking about that rounding down to $5 that we lose compared to Citi PM $1.

Hello, i am telling you DBS does not round down to $5 for DBS points, at the most is round down to $1.667 per DBS point so the round down is minimum. Those people who make those assumptions are all wrong about rounding down to $5.

sleeping

I have been a loyal card member citi PM since day 1 because of

1) They kick start this programme in Singapore which other banks are following.
2) The denomination is $1 while the local banks (DBS and UOB) is $5. Yes, some say it is insignificant, but still, it annoys me
3) Overseas spending of 2miles/$1 is good which it can convert to BA, Delta and Krisflyer.

Maybank used to be my favourite, but they decided to reduce in benefits.

All in all.
- Local spend - ANZ Travel Card
- Overseas spend - Citibank PM
- Clothes and shoes (local and overseas), Groupon, Qoo10, Amazon - Citibank Rewards
- Air tix in SGD - Maybank Horizon

Now trying to figure out, what is the card that I need to use for big ticket item (>3K).....and also groceries

hwmook

I have been a loyal card member citi PM since day 1 because of

1) They kick start this programme in Singapore which other banks are following.
2) The denomination is $1 while the local banks (DBS and UOB) is $5. Yes, some say it is insignificant, but still, it annoys me
3) Overseas spending of 2miles/$1 is good which it can convert to BA, Delta and Krisflyer.

Maybank used to be my favourite, but they decided to reduce in benefits.

All in all.
- Local spend - ANZ Travel Card
- Overseas spend - Citibank PM
- Clothes and shoes (local and overseas), Groupon, Qoo10, Amazon - Citibank Rewards

Now trying to figure out, what is the card that I need to use for big ticket item (>3K).....and also groceries

1) Who care? I only care about end results.
2) How many times must i repeat that DBS altitude is not $5 block but is in per $1.667 for every DBS point aka 2 miles block. It annoy me when people spread false information.
3) Not very useful because most of my overseas spend is online and there are much better cards for online spend. For non-online overseas spend, UOB One give 2% more cash rebate so its more worth it to use UOB One for cash unless you absolutely want the miles.

For air tickets bought online, you should use DBS womens instead of Maybank. =:p

Daniel.Winn

Hello, i am telling you DBS does not round down to $5 for DBS points, at the most is round down to $1.667 per DBS point so the round down is minimum. Those people who make those assumptions are all wrong about rounding down to $5.

Even if we take into account you would lose up to 2 miles per transaction with Altitude and up to 1 mile per transaction with PM, the difference is so minor that i am not sure its worth mentioning. Even with 45 transactions and losing an average of 0.5 miles more, that only work out to 22.5 miles. A $113 spend above $2000 already recover that difference so the $2450 is far from the truth.

DBS allow you to pay SP bills and income taxes at AXS. 1 Income tax paid at AXS can easily recover the few miles lost every month. Seriously that is not even a point worth losing sleep about. If anal about that few miles then just get a ANZ travel like Suleyman mentioned and a UOB Priv which give 1.4miles or 1.6miles per dollar.

Okie lah.. Since I'm not using it yet, I just perceive through the readings and it confuses me. Anyway, I just cancelled the rest of the cards and applied Altitude Visa. Will try to spend and see the calculations. Cuz of this AXS thingy, I'm considering DBS Altitude Visa. If it's only a few miles, then, I can forget about the others.

shiwei71

Hihi! Need some help here.. after reading the different thread and post, I would like to ask if online transactions will earn dbs points for altitude card? Is there any difference if I pay my bills via the provider or vbox site and via axs machine? Thanks in advanced!

lcpteck

Hihi! Need some help here.. after reading the different thread and post, I would like to ask if online transactions will earn dbs points for altitude card? Is there any difference if I pay my bills via the provider or vbox site and via axs machine? Thanks in advanced!

Haven't read the fine print but I believe all transaction types generate points except for installment plan transactions. Try reading the T&Cs on this card in their website.

bagegar

When I maxed out DBS Women's online $2K limit, I use ANZ Travel Card for air-tickets. ANZ Travel card gives 2.8 miles/$ vs 2 miles for MayBank Horizon card.

I use either UOB Prefered Visa Paywave (10x pts) or EZ-Link (10x pts) for SuperMarkets.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.