[Discussion] Ultra HD TV

hermes76

already out in market, a good to have or juz luxury?

since no content for that kind of resolution...yet

seriously i tot 1080p is very good already since most stay in HDBs

sunsetbay

invest a cheap TV first and wait for 2nd or 3rd generation 4K tv when the price will drop by half or more~ :s22:

hermes76

but then for domestic consumers want so clear for what? unless u like zooming into details...

mikezuper

I think 60" is a good size for Ultra HD Tv - A truly Visual Fest :D

But then a lot of questions:
1.) Where to get content?
2.) Can content fit into Blu-ray Disc? If not, new format?
3.) Current hdmi cable can support? Or must use at least hdmi v2.0?

I know the Samsung Home Theatre that I reviewed past two weeks has upscale function - but its not native leh :(

_dXter

Shld skip current 4k and wait for further maturity bothin content and tech specs.

sunsetbay

but then for domestic consumers want so clear for what? unless u like zooming into details...

before 1080p became mainstream, there's HD ready TV with a resolution of 1366 x 768~ the comments then were that you won't see the difference between FullHD & HD Ready if the tv is 42" & below~ the above statement is still true but the market moves quickly & now u hardly see any HD ready tv on the shelve~

now 4K vs 1080p, i foresee the same thing will happen, 4K tv will take over in 5yrs~ whether there's enough medias or not, its secondary~ :(

mikezuper

before 1080p became mainstream, there's HD ready TV with a resolution of 1366 x 768~ the comments then were that you won't see the difference between FullHD & HD Ready if the tv is 42" & below~ the above statement is still true but the market moves quickly & now u hardly see any HD ready tv on the shelve~

now 4K vs 1080p, i foresee the same thing will happen, 4K tv will take over in 5yrs~ whether there's enough medias or not, its secondary~ :(
Agree - so hold off our Bluray Disc purchase? :(

Windowlover

Electronic gadgets are like that, by the time we have 4K, maybe 8K coming on the way... This is electronic style,, else there is no improvement for all.

mikezuper

All your fav movies will then release in 4k edition...
sian... need to buy again :s22::s22::s22:

Ya lor ... siannnn

Electronic gadgets are like that, by the time we have 4K, maybe 8K coming on the way... This is electronic style,, else there is no improvement for all.

But I think 4K for 60" is very beautiful already - 8K probably good for 80" and above :D

But yeah, 8K is probably even more future proof :D

I only foresee my self getting 60" in the next 10-20 years =:p

megalord

I feel that high resolution is always good. I enjoyed the quality of UHD in TV as well as on monitors. Its definitely something visually noticeable.

petetherock

I feel that high resolution is always good. I enjoyed the quality of UHD in TV as well as on monitors. Its definitely something visually noticeable.
Well you have to sit close enough.
And there isn't enough content to justify the very high prices right now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.