Manchester United - Theatre of Dreams - - Part 11

Shinji Kagawa

Would like to see him do more late runs into the PK box. Like what Scholes used to do.

We have been lacking a goalscoring midfielder.

I'm sure his presence will pose a threat to defenders also.

But not everyone as smart as Scholes, know when to go forward and when to stay back. :( :( :(

cracker

He's like the Bale now. Full of prospects before transfer and full of disappointment after that.

Bale had a terrible first few years at Spurs and his first goal came almost 1 year later? IIRC he was used more a defender before the previous Spur manager (Rednapp ?) asked to be a attacking midfielder. ( I might be wrong)
it was only in the last 2 years that he showed what he can do... run, scored goal... "fell" down in the box....etc etc

Hypernova

Perhaps we are lacking in creativity in midfield area.
This may be the reason why we are lacking of goals from open play this season.

Upon thinking about top teams around, they all have at least 1 player who is a natural no.10

Arsenal: Ozil
Chelsea: Mata, Oscar, Hazard
Man City: Silva, Nasri
Liverpool: Coutinho
Tottenham: Eriksen
Barcelona: Fabregas, Iniesta, Messi
Real Madrid: Isco
Bayern Munich: Kroos, Gotze, Muller

If we sell Kagawa, who are we left with then?
This type of player must keep within team regardless 1st team player or squad player.
uh not all the players listed are natural no.10. traditionally the no.10 refers to a player who has the ability to score goals like the no.9, yet is able to dictate play like the complete midfielder.

nowadays in modern football its hard to find a natural no.10 due to tactics favouring the passing approach instead of the target playmaker approach.

Swordsman

Perhaps we are lacking in creativity in midfield area.
This may be the reason why we are lacking of goals from open play this season.

Upon thinking about top teams around, they all have at least 1 player who is a natural no.10

Arsenal: Ozil
Chelsea: Mata, Oscar, Hazard
Man City: Silva, Nasri
Liverpool: Coutinho
Tottenham: Eriksen
Barcelona: Fabregas, Iniesta, Messi
Real Madrid: Isco
Bayern Munich: Kroos, Gotze, Muller

If we sell Kagawa, who are we left with then?
This type of player must keep within team regardless 1st team player or squad player.

rooney can play number 10 mah.

ash_flames

rooney can play number 10 mah.

Hahaz... thats also our problem.... Hardworking, can shoot, can score, can spray long passes... But when come to the creativity, working short passes, quick feet, (number 10 role) , still looses to many players.

And with out current setup, i.e must have wingers, rooney+RVP must play, HWZ bros want steel in midfield... I mean even if Ozil WAS to come to us, we will still have trouble slotting him in.

Moyes need to sort out what he want us to play and do it fast. Jan transfer window is coming in 2mths time. Better start scouting and prepare for it. Dun screw it up like previously please.....

Swordsman

Hahaz... thats also our problem.... Hardworking, can shoot, can score, can spray long passes... But when come to the creativity, working short passes, quick feet, (number 10 role) , still looses to many players.

And with out current setup, i.e must have wingers, rooney+RVP must play, HWZ bros want steel in midfield... I mean even if Ozil WAS to come to us, we will still have trouble slotting him in.

Moyes need to sort out what he want us to play and do it fast. Jan transfer window is coming in 2mths time. Better start scouting and prepare for it. Dun screw it up like previously please.....

don expect new signing in jan...

cracker

wa since when the jersey number will dictate the role ?

then RVP should be on the bench everyday

ash_flames

He is a play a maker, he can also through ball and assist from the middle, at the moment carrick has no fixed partner, what makes you think ozil cant play there?

When attacking ok lah... Asking ozil to do defending? Serious?

Machiam asking carrick to take over rio position. Can run, can defend, can tackle, have vision, dun go into tackle easily, can even spray more accurate long balls. :s13:

chengsun

Bale had a terrible first few years at Spurs and his first goal came almost 1 year later? IIRC he was used more a defender before the previous Spur manager (Rednapp ?) asked to be a attacking midfielder. ( I might be wrong)
it was only in the last 2 years that he showed what he can do... run, scored goal... "fell" down in the box....etc etc

Bale started as a defender. His 1st 21 (or 20 something, I can't remember) games for spurs, starting or sub, Spurs never win. It is Rednapp converted him to left winger.

Abderus

Just don't know why suddenly there seems so many problems with the whole team. Either the team suddenly all off form or it's just lousy management. But either way I dont think signing new players will work as moist seems to be lost.

cracker

When attacking ok lah... Asking ozil to do defending? Serious?

Machiam asking carrick to take over rio position. Can run, can defend, can tackle, have vision, dun go into tackle easily, can even spray more accurate long balls. :s13:

actually carrick had tolong tolong fergie dun make him play central defender..
it was a nightmare esp in the game against...ahem, everton... he was makaned by felliani.

cancer81

Liverpool have Gerrad, Glen Johnson, Sturridge. has henderson been selected?

Chelsea have Cole, Lampard, Terry?

Gunners have Wilshere, Walcott, The Ox, Gibbs

cancer81

Just don't know why suddenly there seems so many problems with the whole team. Either the team suddenly all off form or it's just lousy management. But either way I dont think signing new players will work as moist seems to be lost.
if you consider the current squad as world beating then it is way far off.

Plus age is catching up fast on several players in the key positions.

See why Pep dun want to come here? He see the squad he know the job too hard liao :s7:

ash_flames

if you consider the current squad as world beating then it is way far off.

Plus age is catching up fast on several players in the key positions.

See why Pep dun want to come here? He see the squad he know the job too hard liao :s7:

Got to agree with you.

Pep make barca play to their potential.

Jose make real play attractively.

Its fergie that make us look extra-ordinary. :s13:

Hypernova

my suggestions could be wrong, but these are some of the improvements that i think we need.

GK - no need to change for the time being
RB - need a good substitute
** - need a new one good enough for starting 11
LB - need a potential substitute who will eventually take over Evra
DM - need a player who is good defensively and probably play as a deep-lying playmaker
MC - no need to change for the time being
AM - no need to change for the time being
LW/RW - need to get a replacement as all 3 (Nani, Valencia, Young all not consistent, left with Zaha whom we still don't know much of) good enough to be starting 11.
FW/ST - no need to change for the time being

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.