M1, Starhub or Singtel ?

Knight_Rider

Aiyah all same one lah. Singtel fire the other 2 also kena what so it doesn't really matter. Who cheap use who because all control by big brother. Singapore so small impossible to have their own infrastructure. All borrowed one lah.

ussr_1991

Aiyah all same one lah. Singtel fire the other 2 also kena what so it doesn't really matter. Who cheap use who because all control by big brother. Singapore so small impossible to have their own infrastructure. All borrowed one lah.

But probably Singtel and perhaps Starhub throttle more speed like no one else.

What happen is all use the same infra, but different telco uses different equipment to connect to the Internet.

Not to mention about peering issue.

Read this which will prove why Singtel is the worst telco instead:

https://www.freenet.sg/#fn5

Knight_Rider

Hahaha yeah but everyday read in the forum people jumping ship so in the end still jump back so really all sama sama lah. Singtel really jialat if not their phone signal strongest I think a lot of people jump liao.

ussr_1991

Hahaha yeah but everyday read in the forum people jumping ship so in the end still jump back so really all sama sama lah. Singtel really jialat if not their phone signal strongest I think a lot of people jump liao.

Best mobile coverage is still M1. Somehow people are comparing prepaid between Singtel and Starhub but not M1. Wonder why.

kukathe

As a VQ customer, I can say that Xunlei blocks VQ's IP such that Xunlei is not compatible with VQ.

I can attest that Port 80 is not blocked based on various port scanning website.

BTW, port 22, 23 are known not to block as well.

BitTorrent no traffic shaping and I can upload in terms of several MB/s concurrently. (Like almost 20Mbps)

Though, upload speed is also depending number of connections, seeds etc.

So the only minus point for VQ is Xunlei other than cost (Which sounds a bit cheapo).

Thanks bro, VQ seems good, but the price...
What about other ISPs? Do you have any idea?

mlwang

So the only minus point for VQ is Xunlei other than cost (Which sounds a bit cheapo).

Just to share, I have been contemplating to go VQ or Starhub, the ataz vs the mediocre internet.

In the end I chose Starhub, because at almost the same price of VQ, I get starhub TV, and 1gb data plan.

Yes, VQ has PPTV, but the freedom VPN is only for 3 months, after that need to pay $10 per month.

Starhub throttle BT, but subscribing to a VPN service will be able to bypass the throttle??

So bottom line is, if you have $$, VQ is good if you want full bandwidth.

I dont need the full bandwidth, need more comprehensive entertainment package for the family, that's why I chose Starhub.

Do you really need landline?

Cable provide higher subscribed International speed than ADSL.

Some have good experience with Cable (Probably the block more on Red camp) while others preferred ADSL.

For basic use, it is worth to jump because the last mile connection using Cable is getting less when more are moving to fiber. So nowadays should not be that much of "dedicated" or "shared" bandwidth issue.

If you want fiber TP, it can always be done for free with M1's $49 plan that comes with 300Mbps instead.

You can downgrade to $39 plan for 200Mbps after 2 years then.

Gee thanks : that was exactly the kind of advice i was looking for :D Ok thing is

1. Elderly folks need landline but i already have MIO TV via phoneline
2. Even with Singtel 15Mbps actually for what we do (no online gaming, very light torrenting) we find it more than enough and having a $30/mth plan or under sounds about right
3. So i take it for torrenting cable bb is superior to dsl bb? Kindda concerned cos heard starhub peeps complain about youtube? I watch lots of youtube heh

ussr_1991

Gee thanks : that was exactly the kind of advice i was looking for :D Ok thing is

1. Elderly folks need landline but i already have MIO TV via phoneline
2. Even with Singtel 15Mbps actually for what we do (no online gaming, very light torrenting) we find it more than enough and having a $30/mth plan or under sounds about right
3. So i take it for torrenting cable bb is superior to dsl bb? Kindda concerned cos heard starhub peeps complain about youtube? I watch lots of youtube heh

With both Starhub and Singtel throttle a lot (Since I used Cable before I jumped to problematic Mio Home then now VQ and my block belongs to those last 5% bulk), I can't say that cable bb is superior to dsl bb for torrenting.

Since it was almost 4 years ago I jump ship from Cable (Due to the need to save on analog landline, and that time my conservative parents prefers analog line), things might have changed since both DSL and Cable are getting irrelevant as days go.

However, I can attest that for Singtel's 6Mbps plan for torrenting, it is either you can get a pathetic speed (Close to nil) to maxed out the speed for the same file. That also includes using Xunlei (Those Chinese movies / drama that has the thunder:// something one) to Xunlei stuffs.

Perhaps, you may refer to IDA broadband comparison for more details (Speed, packet loss etc). But I can say that Starhub is looks to set just charge users $2.10 until further notice for their digital line (Original price @ $10.49) VS Singtel's $9.81, unless one got Mio Home or Fiber plan.

So with the much lower startup fee + lower landline fee (Until further notice, for now is until "31 December 2013"), even if landline is charged $10.49, the value is still there.

tekster

Just to share, I have been contemplating to go VQ or Starhub, the ataz vs the mediocre internet.

In the end I chose Starhub, because at almost the same price of VQ, I get starhub TV, and 1gb data plan.

Yes, VQ has PPTV, but the freedom VPN is only for 3 months, after that need to pay $10 per month.

Starhub throttle BT, but subscribing to a VPN service will be able to bypass the throttle??

So bottom line is, if you have $$, VQ is good if you want full bandwidth.

I dont need the full bandwidth, need more comprehensive entertainment package for the family, that's why I chose Starhub.

if you do subscribe to a VPN, you won't even be watching suckhub channels.

you'd probably end up watching netflix or hulu which i think imo that it is better.

if you do end up subscribing tto a vpn,i'm sure you'd want something which leads china to catch up with yr asian shows as well.

Knight_Rider

M1 Multi Service Saver (For normal postpaid):

M1

But can other telco provide discounts for prepaid when bundle different service meh?

Hubber discount is 30% for mobile lines, cable TV and broadband. M1 discount only mobile line and less then multi line saver. Short changed?

ussr_1991

Hubber discount is 30% for mobile lines, cable TV and broadband. M1 discount only mobile line and less then multi line saver. Short changed?

True, for those who needs the Cable TV, it is a good choice as it is pocket $$ friendly.

Or else take the savings from mobile + Internet to cover Cable TV, which can be a lot.

And Starhub has the lowest paper value on mobile price. ($38 VS $39 VS $39.90)

Knight_Rider

True, for those who needs the Cable TV, it is a good choice as it is pocket $$ friendly.

Or else take the savings from mobile + Internet to cover Cable TV, which can be a lot.

And Starhub has the lowest paper value on mobile price. ($38 VS $39 VS $39.90)

According to M1 new sign up no more multi line saver liao. Only multi service saver which is max at 25% for mobile line only. So those enjoying 35% please stay put and dun go over to the new and more expensive saver's plan. Lucky I'm with the old plan. After Mio finish I am seriously going back to home hubbing. Mio really sucks.

lcheowl

You jump from which ISP? Any improvement?

I jump from M1.

The D-Link DVG-N5402SP is a big failure however, I managed to get it sway with the Dlink Dir-865L.

So far so good, only one thing I don't understand is why when I use IE, sometimes I need more than 1 click to perform the action or sometime after clicking a few times, nothing happen. Last time with M1, I don't have this issue. e.g when there is an attachment in my Hotmail, I click, sometime nothing happen.

Knight_Rider

Same with Singtel. Att in gmail needs chrome to open. IE click until die nothing happens. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.