Mattress - which brand / types?

shock8

can anyone recommend me? looking for a queen mattress + bed frame with budget of 1.2k

CyberTron

Is same too for car. Ya can make do with Korean or Japanese or u can spurge on a conti car. Even luxury car u have like Lexus and bmw, mercs, etc.

So look at number of Lexus vs Bmw on the road.

So ya can tell those driving bmw or mercs how much they can save driving Lexus while they can get similar comfort.

So the market for those willing to pay more than 5k mattress , chances they cannot be bothered reading up forums to get the value.

Another way ya can look is one trying to save more while one just try to just earn more.

derrickgoh

There are two sayings. One is "you pay for what you get". The other is "pay peanuts and you get monkeys".

Of course that is not to say that everything cheap is lousy or everything expensive is good. But people are not stupid. Even rich people can be quite stingy and ngeow when it comes to certain things.

If a $1,000 ABC brand mattress is really as good as or almost as good as a $10,000 Simmons mattress, who is stupid enough to buy the $10,000 mattress? Even if the person is a millionaire, he will have better things to spend his money on.

The question now of course is, is the $1,000 mattress REALLY as good or almost as good as the $10,000 mattress? The only way is to find out by personally testing it out. Manufacturers can claim 101 things but if you try it out yourself and don't like it, what's the use?

If you personally tried out both mattresses and can't tell the difference between the $1,000 mattress and the $10,000 mattress, then seriously why bother buying the $10,000 mattress? But of course if you can tell the difference and you feel the $10,000 mattress is A HELL OF A LOT BETTER than the $1,000 mattress then I would say its worth every penny.

A good mattress which you feel comfy with is a worthwhile investment. I have slept on a sh*tty mattress and a good mattress before and believe me, the difference is telling. Whether you get a good night's sleep or not makes a lot of difference. You can wake up feeling refreshed or wake up feeling as though you never slept at all.

Just keep one thing in mind. Most showrooms are air-conditioned and certain types of mattresses (memory foam I believe is one) feel more shiok when in cold environment. The issue is, when you are back home, will you also turn on the aircon every night. If yes then ok lah. If no, then the mattress which feels so shiok in the air-conditioned showroom may not feel that shiok in your warm flat with only a fan spinning.

ton188

@ton188 - Any recommendation for queen size, budget $800. :o:s11: $$ all spend on wedding.:(

lol i understand... wedding can be a pain if your dollar is not planned well.

Well I have some perspective and ideas of saving money.

You could go for the 499 queen size first... and then when you are ok after 5 years time, you could change for a better one. Then not so painful.

Well this is thinking in your perspective.

just my 2 cents from a fellow Singaporean ;)

ton188

There are two sayings. One is "you pay for what you get". The other is "pay peanuts and you get monkeys".

Of course that is not to say that everything cheap is lousy or everything expensive is good. But people are not stupid. Even rich people can be quite stingy and ngeow when it comes to certain things.

If a $1,000 ABC brand mattress is really as good as or almost as good as a $10,000 Simmons mattress, who is stupid enough to buy the $10,000 mattress? Even if the person is a millionaire, he will have better things to spend his money on.

The question now of course is, is the $1,000 mattress REALLY as good or almost as good as the $10,000 mattress? The only way is to find out by personally testing it out. Manufacturers can claim 101 things but if you try it out yourself and don't like it, what's the use?

If you personally tried out both mattresses and can't tell the difference between the $1,000 mattress and the $10,000 mattress, then seriously why bother buying the $10,000 mattress? But of course if you can tell the difference and you feel the $10,000 mattress is A HELL OF A LOT BETTER than the $1,000 mattress then I would say its worth every penny.

A good mattress which you feel comfy with is a worthwhile investment. I have slept on a sh*tty mattress and a good mattress before and believe me, the difference is telling. Whether you get a good night's sleep or not makes a lot of difference. You can wake up feeling refreshed or wake up feeling as though you never slept at all.

Just keep one thing in mind. Most showrooms are air-conditioned and certain types of mattresses (memory foam I believe is one) feel more shiok when in cold environment. The issue is, when you are back home, will you also turn on the aircon every night. If yes then ok lah. If no, then the mattress which feels so shiok in the air-conditioned showroom may not feel that shiok in your warm flat with only a fan spinning.

On paper, what you are saying is all true.

Do not forget, I am not your next door neighborhood commoner that works as a salesman whom dreams to be a sales man in the mattress industry.

I grew up from this industry, I know all the pieces of nonsense that people give to each and every consumer out there that blindly give in their thousands to something that is so normal, something so easy to make.

I wish to emphasize that there are no technology in a mattress.

Each and every component in the mattress are made from materials that a traded on indexes, Stainless steel, latex, cotton, etc and so on.

No company can manufacture the fabric, manufacture the springs, manufacture the latex or the foam all IN HOUSE.

We simply put all the goods together we get from our suppliers, (there are global suppliers for bedding components) and lay it one on top of another, just like a hamburger.

If the component that are not even made by the brands itself, how can you claim that the "mattress is special" and it is of certain technology?

From a manufacturing perspective, they are the same.

What brands are selling to you is a comfort point.

And this comfort point is priceless.

Remember I am not comparing with ASEAN brands, they are not in the same league of what we are talking here. There are companies that uses **** components, hence why people are skeptical about "not so prestigious" brands out there.

But what if there is a brand that is Singaporean, and if it can relate to our attitude of kia si, kia su?

I wish to be the example. In Singapore so far we are the only mattress label, that actually knows how to make mattresses, that actually is in the industry for a long time, that is serious and passionate about mattresses.

Like again I said, time will tell,

Your money, your choice.

I love international brands, always had, always will. Because to me it is of no cost, I can get them free through consignment.

I just feel it is really overpriced.

Again once more, I reemphasize YOUR MONEY, YOUR CHOICE.

I appreciate people whom uses google.

go google USA mattress shops. you probably know what I am talking about.

this time not just 2 cents, this is my personal perspective.
tony

chopra

actually good mattress is only developed in recent decades.

apparently, some ppl claim that slping on the ground (korean style thin mattress) is better for the spine.

different sch of thoughts.

ton188

BTW,

I despise any sales man whom say that their mattresses are cooling.

for once I will say it in scientific perspective with the most logical sense.

Singapore temperature at night average is 28-30 degrees (when it is not raining)
So with this statistic, I can say as a Singaporean I know better, I sometimes do not sleep on aircon, but I will wake up in the middle of the night to turn on my aircon.

brands whom claim this kind of cooling function, do not give a flying F about you. They just say that to make you feel good, when actually they are like bluffing a 3 year old kid.

Google the temperature, google our humidity, and for goodness sake already, invest in an aircon.

2 cents from an honest Singaporean with no brands in mind, nor mattress, SOFA ALSO anything that you sit on, if it doesnt warm up, your body has a problem.

* I will blog about this officially once I get inspiration on how to write it nicely ;)

Nakedtoes

ok lar mattress cheap and expensive one got different.... dun believe use for few month later.. those cheap one the springs got sound one... so enjoy the sound when u turn:s13:.. the most important is try the mattress with yr partner and get the best u can afford..

that time we go mattress hunting try almost all the brands and model... finally settle with slumberland.. abt 2k with bedframe. not too shabby The sister brand VONO also not bad...and cheaper..

ton188

actually good mattress is only developed in recent decades.

apparently, some ppl claim that slping on the ground (korean style thin mattress) is better for the spine.

different sch of thoughts.

lol bro, before I came to life, my dad already made good mattress for people to enjoy.

Please understand the fact that, your grandparents sleep on mattresses, your parents sleep on mattresses, and you are too, and probably your child will too.

The reason why you see more higher quality mattresses is probably because you go to places which cannot survive selling you a mattress for 400-900 dollars.

Because if they do, they will fold up.

I yahooed this.
Orchard Rd is 16th most expensive retail location

check the psf price and do your math.

understand how much robinsons, courts and big shops operate.

Please also understand this is just rent, what about their advertisments?

you noticed them on papers literally almost every fortnight?

several pages of fullpage color ads.

My philosophy is simple, "do not tell me you can give people more value when you advertise full page ads and be at lavish malls or location." simply BS.

My personal opinion as a business person.

ton188

Is same too for car. Ya can make do with Korean or Japanese or u can spurge on a conti car. Even luxury car u have like Lexus and bmw, mercs, etc.

So look at number of Lexus vs Bmw on the road.

So ya can tell those driving bmw or mercs how much they can save driving Lexus while they can get similar comfort.

So the market for those willing to pay more than 5k mattress , chances they cannot be bothered reading up forums to get the value.

Another way ya can look is one trying to save more while one just try to just earn more.

Cars are different slightly,

they made the engines different. they make the chassis to be aerodynamic. They make and plan the spaces inside the car.

they really build and are MEGA FACTORIES style.

They have R&D on it and it is heavily funded.

Mattresses have no R&D, even if a brand claims it, it is seriously LOL. I will know. Probably you guys will not. (hint my buttocks are R&D material)

In a mattress, it is like a hamburger, using high quality components basically is foolproof. It cannot go wrong. even if someone were to hire VERA WANG for their mattress, for goodness sake, what kind of major BS is that. If the component is good and it is comfy, it is it. Not because of VERA WANG, it is because of how you feel about the mattress.

No one size fit all mattress.

ton188

ok lar mattress cheap and expensive one got different.... dun believe use for few month later.. those cheap one the springs got sound one... so enjoy the sound when u turn:s13:.. the most important is try the mattress with yr partner and get the best u can afford..

that time we go mattress hunting try almost all the brands and model... finally settle with slumberland.. abt 2k with bedframe. not too shabby The sister brand VONO also not bad...and cheaper..

yea, basically you got the concept right.

So long as you are comfortable with the price point.

Even when it is spoilt, you throw it away, hence it doesnt hinder with your life, nor give you problems or find excuses to keep it because you find it a waste to throw it away.

A mattress has ALWAYS been a consumable, NEVER an asset.

Got your smell doesnt mean can sell $100 dollars more.

It is worthless after you sleep on it.

Do not bother thinking about from an investment perspective.

Buy and throw when it is not good anymore.

Haley86

sorry if this is a little off topic, but does anyone have a waterbed mattress? I tried one last week and was just wondering if it's a novelty or there's people who actually sleep on this type of bed every night.

ton188

sorry if this is a little off topic, but does anyone have a waterbed mattress? I tried one last week and was just wondering if it's a novelty or there's people who actually sleep on this type of bed every night.

on theory this is "awesome"

but water will be artificial to sleep on, too soft...

Imagine having whoohoo time, when u kneel, you do not get support...

it is just pathetic. not forgetting it is expensive.

I will not spend money on :
1. artificial
2. challenge the norm
3. give trouble to myself

Just my thoughts and personal opinion. Dont know if you share the same view with me.

2 cents.

SgAhBui

actually, for a non-air con bedrm, wat type of mattress is most comfortable? i heard foam type will trap a lot of heat, rite?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.