Sony W series discussion thread - 46/55w704a etc

ssaloon

Is there anyway to remove/disable the "unsupported format" display on the tv when viewing media?

It says unsupported format, but the file plays just fine. I'm using a 46w704 btw.. thanks!

ganster

Is 47W804A a good choice? Anyone know which shop offers the best price with or without freebies?

Thank you.

josephsbs

went Sony outlet at Clementi West (HDB shops opposite West Coast Plaza) yesterday and was told this deal:

model: 55W804A
price: $2,299
warranty: 5 yrs (for now), covers parts & labour, transport excluded???
freebies: 4x 3D glasses, 1x Sony tablet

is this a good deal?

update:
checked info from Sony website 21/11/13
RRP: $2,599
freebies:
6x Passive 3D Glasses (4pcs packed in box)
1x One-Touch Remote Control
1x Xperia Tablet S (32GB, 3G & Wi-Fi)
1x Free wall installation

verdict: not really a good deal, unless just wanna pay less, not bothered about freebies (2x glasses & one touch remote less)

alpha29

went Sony outlet at Clementi West (HDB shops opposite West Coast Plaza) and was told this deal:

is this a good deal?

Did you ask abt the 55w904A?

josephsbs

nope, didn't wanna pay so much for a TV which i probably watch only on average about 1+ hour a day

Windowlover

Did you ask abt the 55w904A?

Have no time to go to this shop yet, but give a call to them.
They informed standard package from $350 voucher , 4 pcs glass and remote...

If have better offer prices, do share. $3250..

happychai

Free gift should claim from Sony store?

I though the promotion free gift should get the same?

went Sony outlet at Clementi West (HDB shops opposite West Coast Plaza) yesterday and was told this deal:

is this a good deal?

update:
checked info from Sony website 21/11/13
RRP: $2,599
freebies:
6x Passive 3D Glasses (4pcs packed in box)
1x One-Touch Remote Control
1x Xperia Tablet S (32GB, 3G & Wi-Fi)
1x Free wall installation

verdict: not really a good deal, unless just wanna pay less, not bothered about freebies (2x glasses & one touch remote less)

josephsbs

dunno leh, think the "repackage" the freebies and come out with an in-house deal ba.
that's why price is lower, but less gifts.
shop's staff did mention that if we want Sony's promo deal also can :p

sunnycrowe

Stil aiming for 46w954.. Now stil selling at 2599.. With free tablet s.... If tablet z lte I wil hoot one liao

cheong79

Issit all W series come with build-in DVB-T2 tuner.

Secondly, Is best denki Warranty 5 additional warranty can be trusted, any problem when call for service?

I just wants to get the basic model 32" W674a but was told panel one yr warranty only.

Carnage

Have no time to go to this shop yet, but give a call to them.
They informed standard package from $350 voucher , 4 pcs glass and remote...

If have better offer prices, do share. $3250..

Wow about 1k more.

IMHO, I don't really notice any better colour production between this and the 804. The framerate frequency is also good enough to me.

Windowlover

USB terminal at rear side can watch other video format like mkv, RMVB etc through thumb drive ?

josephsbs

Secondly, Is best denki Warranty 5 additional warranty can be trusted, any problem when call for service?
suggest you check with Best what they mean by "5 additional warranty"...
. 5 years warranty means you get standard 3 years Sony warranty + 2 years in-house warranty from Best Denki
. additional 5 years warranty means (in plain English) you have a total of 8 years warranty (3 years Sony warranty + 5 years in-house warranty from Best Denki)

NOTE!!!
whatever that's agreed verbally, get them to write down in BLACK-N-WHITE!!!
had a bad experience with reseller "C" becos we forgot to make sure the salesman's words are recorded in B&W. salesman say warranty is on-site but when item spoil, service staff say no on-site, if want need to pay separately. really felt cheated!

i called Sony Customer Information Centre (6544-86oo) the other day to ask about the 5 vs. 3 years warranty and why electrical resellers (e.g. HN, Best, Courts, etc) gives only 3 years. the customer service officer said the 5 years is a special privilege/benefit given to Sony centres for displaying/selling "only" Sony products while other resellers display/sell their direct competitors' products alongside. also, those centres are encouraged to sell their products at RRP instead of discounted pricing.

hmmm... Sony centre at Clementi West also sells other products leh. but i also notice that it brandish Sony brand at its main signboard and displays non-Sony stuffs at the rear corner, "hybrid" sales model... whahaha

sunnycrowe

I never buy from Sony centres cos the price is retail price, no inhouse offers or freebies.. 3 yrs warranty is gd enuf..

eyz

in fact, i'd checked with courts on their extended warranty and part of it covers accidental drop, which I don't think any manufacturer will cover. they will also replace a similar range model, if replacement parts are not available.

however, whether there is any hidden clause to it, it still need scrutiny.

happychai

sony center can match the dealer pricing right?
eg. HN or C selling at 1480 for 704w, I think Sony can sell it at 1500?

slight different with 5 years warranty, i think is good buy ?

axialv

those aiming for sony TVs should hold prob back for one more day at least...

Sony Days promotion starting tomorrow. banners are up at best denki but brochures and promo info not out yet.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.