[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 4

cdoscorp

hey guys, any Hualien cab drivers to recommend?

Need one for 2 days local tour of Taroko & East Rift Valley + East Coast soon

Also need cab drivers contacts for Taitung & Yilan if you have any.

Thanks!:o
Is it recommended to engage a driver?
or isit possible to travel there via public transport?

Read on various blog that we can do cycling and see the pacific ocean... which beach is recommended?

calkel20

Is it recommended to engage a driver?
or isit possible to travel there via public transport?
Read on various blog that we can do cycling and see the pacific ocean... which beach is recommended?
Engage driver is better. Public transport into taroko is possible. But when you adds up, the difference is bare minimal.

Per Day engagement for Taroko by means of a sedan costs anything between 2.5-2.9k NTD at the train station.

Cycling yes, but prefer further south to rice padis or 60尖山. But now not into flowering season and winter, not the best time.

There is a 鯉魚潭,七星潭。Maybe try 七星潭。Feels nothing much too.

Dun miss out on 清水斷涯。

deepblue_82

Engage driver is better. Public transport into taroko is possible. But when you adds up, the difference is bare minimal.

Per Day engagement for Taroko by means of a sedan costs anything between 2.5-2.9k NTD at the train station.

Cycling yes, but prefer further south to rice padis or 60尖山. But now not into flowering season and winter, not the best time.

Dun miss out on 清水斷涯。

the beach is good.. 7 star ~~ nice

dorae178

strawberries, lavender - from now till next yr mar
cherry blossoms - ard feb to mar (depend on where u go)
if base on wat u post above, then after exiting from airport, go Taichung (including SML, cingjing n nantou) then return back to tpe
however for hualien part, abit tricky. cos it either u travel across cross island highway(stay overnight at cingjing) n go hualien via taroko park or from tpe take train down to hualien

thanks for ur help! after reading through some forums, this is the rough itinerary that i have:

Arrive at: 5.40am
Day 1 (Friday)
Collect luggage, go toilet, eat breakfast and buy sim card
Board bus to taoyuan HSR, from there take HSR to Taichung
Reach hotel/minsu in Taichung, put down luggage and rest. - any minsu or hotel to recommend?
Explore yizhong street for rest of the day and fengjia night market at night.

Day 2 (Saturday)
Fengjia night market at night.

Day 3 (Sunday) - Can be done in day trip or need to stay overnight?
Flying cow ranch
Strawberry farm

Day 4 (Monday)
Cingjing Sheep Farm (清境牧場)
He Huan Shan (合歡山)
Swiss Garden (小瑞士)
Old England (老英格蘭)
Will stay one night here for sunrise, any minsu to recommend?

Day 5 (Tuesday)
Lavender Cottage(薰衣草森林)
Carton King (纸箱王)
Moncoeur (心之芳庭)
If necessary, do not mind staying another day here

Day 6 (Wednesday)
Take HSR back to Taipei, put down luggage at hotel (cityinn XMD)
Guang Hwa IT Mall at 忠孝新生站
诚品书城信义旗舰店
Shida or Shilin night market

Day 7 (Thursday)
Wufenpu and raohe night market

Day 8 (Friday)
Wake up late, pack and check out of hotel but leave luggage at hotel.
Ding tai fung
Shifen 放天灯
KTV at ximending then collect luggage from hotel and proceed to airport.
Flight at 2.25am

does the above sound okay? should have free time on days 2, 6 and 7...want to make full use of our time in taiwan yet dun want to rush around like mad... :s13: any other places of interest that we should go?

*tried PMing The Taichung Driver for a quote but need to have confirmed itinerary first so...

deepblue_82

thanks for ur help! after reading through some forums, this is the rough itinerary that i have:

Day 1 (Friday)
Reach hotel/minsu in Taichung, put down luggage and rest. - any minsu or hotel to recommend?
there is alot of time if u are just going to taichung from airport.. u can take a bus.. there is also many places to go. nantou?

Day 2 (Saturday)
Fengjia night market at night. wah u just 1 day for fj? no need la

Flying cow ranch
Strawberry farm

Day 4 (Monday)
He Huan Shan (合歡山)
Swiss Garden (小瑞士)
Old England (老英格蘭)

Day 5 (Tuesday)
Lavender Cottage(薰衣草森林)
Carton King (纸箱王)
Moncoeur (心之芳庭)

Day 6 (Wednesday)
诚品书城信义旗舰店

Day 7 (Thursday)

Day 8 (Friday)
Ding tai fung
Shifen 放天灯
Flight at 2.25am

does the above sound okay? should have free time on days 2, 6 and 7...want to make full use of our time in taiwan yet dun want to rush around like mad... :s13: any other places of interest that we should go?

*tried PMing The Taichung Driver for a quote but need to have confirmed itinerary first so...

do u have a driver for taichung and cj?
bloody wall of text. haha
if u wan u can go by other way..
airport to hualien then to cj to taichung to tpe
i have tried it.. its ok not rush...
coz since u are on the 5.40am..

dorae178

do u have a driver for taichung and cj?
bloody wall of text. haha
if u wan u can go by other way..
airport to hualien then to cj to taichung to tpe
i have tried it.. its ok not rush...
coz since u are on the 5.40am..

ahahah already tried spacing out the text liao...
have not hired a driver yet but planning to get one so need to plan itinerary first.

that was the plan initially, but switched taichung city with the farms cos bf said might be too tiring to keep travelling around so will be staying at taichung first.

oh yeah forgot add in danshui...

Day 6 (Wednesday)
诚品书城信义旗舰店
dan shui lao jie and fisherman's wharf for sunset

Gixxerfied

ahahah already tried spacing out the text liao...
have not hired a driver yet but planning to get one so need to plan itinerary first.

that was the plan initially, but switched taichung city with the farms cos bf said might be too tiring to keep travelling around so will be staying at taichung first.

oh yeah forgot add in danshui...

Day 6 (Wednesday)
诚品书城信义旗舰店
dan shui lao jie and fisherman's wharf for sunset

What time reach back Taipei?

Dont expect great prices from Guanghwa for IT related stuff or electronics..

dorae178

What time reach back Taipei?

Dont expect great prices from Guanghwa for IT related stuff or electronics..

that depends on whether day 5 is a day trip (i.e. go back to taichung hotel at night), in which case will take the early 8am HSR and reach taipei at 9am or if staying overnight at lavender cottage will probably reach taipei at 12pm...

yep went there during our trip in may this year, the prices for IT stuff really not cheaper than sg and some things might even be more ex...we are going there for our Chinese RPGs... :D

days 3, 4 and 5 can be switched around since so far we only confirm staying overnight at cingjing farm...

Gixxerfied

that depends on whether day 5 is a day trip (i.e. go back to taichung hotel at night), in which case will take the early 8am HSR and reach taipei at 9am or if staying overnight at lavender cottage will probably reach taipei at 12pm...

yep went there during our trip in may this year, the prices for IT stuff really not cheaper than sg and some things might even be more ex...we are going there for our Chinese RPGs... :D

days 3, 4 and 5 can be switched around since so far we only confirm staying overnight at cingjing farm...

Cos if you reach at 12, head to Cityinn to deposit ur luggage then head out again for Guanghwa + 诚品书城信义旗舰店.. Finish this 2 at about 3+ 4pm?

Then go Danshui Old Street before Fisherman Wharf is likely to miss the sunset..

By the way, when is ur trip?

dorae178

Cos if you reach at 12, head to Cityinn to deposit ur luggage then head out again for Guanghwa + 诚品书城信义旗舰店.. Finish this 2 at about 3+ 4pm?

Then go Danshui Old Street before Fisherman Wharf is likely to miss the sunset..

By the way, when is ur trip?

28 mar - 5 apr...going for 8 days but still feels like i dun have enough time to see whatever i want to see!

hm in that case, will shift the bookstore to day 7, before wufenpu, since the bookstore opens at 10am...

i would say we have to reach fisherman's wharf by 4pm, since their sun sets earlier than ours?

Gixxerfied

28 mar - 5 apr...

hm in that case, will shift the bookstore to day 7, before wufenpu, since the bookstore opens at 10am...

i would say we have to reach fisherman's wharf by 4pm, since their sun sets earlier than ours?

For that period, i estimated at about 6pm..

And a gentle reminder, you can book your rooms direct with the hotel on 1st Jan..They are open for reservation in the early morning of 1st Jan..Which means somewhere around 0020H, after 31st midnight..

speedboat

Dun miss out on 清水斷涯。

thxs for the info :)

ups for any lobangs on good Hualien cabbies :)

cdoscorp

Dun miss out on 清水斷涯。
Thanks for the info

I will be going in april only.
So shall draw out the itinerary and ask for feedback again.

deepblue_82

Day 1 (Friday)

Day 2 (Saturday)
Fengjia night market at night.

Flying cow ranch
Strawberry farm

Day 4 (Monday)
He Huan Shan (合歡山)
Swiss Garden (小瑞士)
Old England (老英格蘭)

Day 5 (Tuesday)
Lavender Cottage(薰衣草森林)
Carton King (纸箱王)
Moncoeur (心之芳庭)

Day 6 (Wednesday)
诚品书城信义旗舰店

Day 7 (Thursday)

Day 8 (Friday)
Ding tai fung
Shifen 放天灯
Flight at 2.25am

i feel day 3-4-5... u can take a driver.. can cut down ur rushing to 2 days..
4 and 5.. 1 day ok ordy..

jastan

I would be travelling to Taipei from 31/1/14 - 5/2/14. Huat ar! chinese new year period...:s22:

so far no itinerary planned...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.