M1 FIBRE BROADBAND DISCUSSION / NETWORKING SETUP / INFO / PROMO

ekin101

Further investigation...
1) My master room LAN connection is stuck at 100Mbps.
2) Bedroom 2 & 3 is able to get 210Mbps.

Give up liao... nothing much I can do le..

baiyun

did you try from the lan port or the telephone port that you mentioned...? I suspect it could be because of you use the telephone port, your desktop cannot get 200 when go thru hdb lan..
since your other rooms can get the 200M speed, so it's either a faulty cable in your master bedroom or because you are using the telephone port to connect to your desktop.

My place is a 10 yr old condo...

Haha.. My dell using LAN to USB.. And the cheapo unit only 100mbps as well. I already tried pulling direct lan from router to my gigabit desktop and getting 200mbps. But once go thru hdb LAN. It's capped to 100mbps

How old is your flat btw?

ngbc

The board might be around 4 years old. Ya.. I borrowed a gigabit card to install. The ONT and router is in the living room. Will be ugly to pull to my master room. So no choice have to make do with just 100Mbps HDB Lan. Good thing about HDB Lan is that phone digital line will work in all rooms on just a single connection into one of the port.

The phone line port can also be used for LAN connection which is what I did as my desktop is next to phone line port.

did you try from the lan port or the telephone port that you mentioned...? I suspect it could be because of you use the telephone port, your desktop cannot get 200 when go thru hdb lan..
since your other rooms can get the 200M speed, so it's either a faulty cable in your master bedroom or because you are using the telephone port to connect to your desktop.

My place is a 10 yr old condo...

I agreed with baiyun. Telephone point only require 2 pairs but gigabit require all 4 pairs of twisted wire to be terminated at the faceplate...

Aelinx

So anyone activate port 2? Im still waiting for M1 to contact me when they can activate.

At first when signing up, the staff tell me " No problem no disruption of internet service since is activating ONT port 2". Happily sign & set a date. Few days later send sms stating postpone the installation till further notice.

Call them last week and they inform that due to opennet problem and **** they cant activate port 2 yet.At the point of time I was thinking if you know earlier that opennet having lots of issue activating port 2, the M1 STAFF should inform the customer rather than keeping quiet.

Is totally unfair to customer. Now my starhub contract is up and paying the full price. M1 fiber signed and not installed.

And AhWise throw this question to you. So what if M1 fiber promotion is so attractive but M1 couldn't deliver the service at all? Blame on opennet when M1 didn't even take the initiative to inform customer the problem they might face when activating port 2 ? (Don't tell me you M1 don't know there such problem. That's really ********)

j_t_fusion

i believe the OpenNet capacity issue affects all ISPs but all of them still happily throw out all sorts of promo and attract people to sign.

i advise you to call up M1 and kpkb and get them to come up with a solution.

i last time waited for 3 months for M1 to upgrade me from white ONT (100mbps) to black ONT (200mbps), every month call and ask but always say capacity issue.

then one night i call and screw the operator up and a week later i got a call to schedule the black ONT installation.

weiyang76

i believe the OpenNet capacity issue affects all ISPs but all of them still happily throw out all sorts of promo and attract people to sign.

i last time waited for 3 months for M1 to upgrade me from white ONT (100mbps) to black ONT (200mbps), every month call and ask but always say capacity issue.

then one night i call and screw the operator up and a week later i got a call to schedule the black ONT installation.

I waited 6 months+. There was no refund or rebate, the only thing i receive was refund of the additional cost i paid for my previous plan (after it expires from 24-month promotion price) + 1 month free + couple of thirty dollars free also since they calculated wrongly the rebate. And continuation of the new contract minus the time I signed, so 1-year 6-months remaining.

I wasn't fussy since M1 isn't the one at fault, this OpenNet is really horrible.

So anyone activate port 2? Im still waiting for M1 to contact me when they can activate.

At first when signing up, the staff tell me " No problem no disruption of internet service since is activating ONT port 2". Happily sign & set a date. Few days later send sms stating postpone the installation till further notice.

Call them last week and they inform that due to opennet problem and **** they cant activate port 2 yet.At the point of time I was thinking if you know earlier that opennet having lots of issue activating port 2, the M1 STAFF should inform the customer rather than keeping quiet.

Is totally unfair to customer. Now my starhub contract is up and paying the full price. M1 fiber signed and not installed.

And AhWise throw this question to you. So what if M1 fiber promotion is so attractive but M1 couldn't deliver the service at all? Blame on opennet when M1 didn't even take the initiative to inform customer the problem they might face when activating port 2 ? (Don't tell me you M1 don't know there such problem. That's really ********)

It's frustrating. But you should have expected this from M1! :) :) Go ViewQwest and see if you face this issue next time and tell us also!

ekin101

I agreed with baiyun. Telephone point only require 2 pairs but gigabit require all 4 pairs of twisted wire to be terminated at the faceplate...

I tried both 2 ports in my room. All the same. 1 was the Lan port. 100 Mbps only. 2 pair wire can reach 100mbps? Maybe they connect wrong for master room.

4.30am update: I finally fix a point in my masterroom and is able to get 200Mbps! One of the PIN in the other end was dented and possibly no contact to the lan cable i sort of pull the pin out abit. Thanks for the tips guys!

ngbc

I tried both 2 ports in my room. All the same. 1 was the Lan port. 100 Mbps only. 2 pair wire can reach 100mbps? Maybe they connect wrong for master room.

4.30am update: I finally fix a point in my masterroom and is able to get 200Mbps! One of the PIN in the other end was dented and possibly no contact to the lan cable i sort of pull the pin out abit. Thanks for the tips guys!

Wow, you stay up till 4.30am to fix the problem ?:s22:
Anyway, glad to hear that it's fixed, enjoy your speed :)

waiken

should have sub con to other telco to manage anyway openet now belongs to stinktel liao right?:s22:

lilacblu

Where to Return the modem ?

Hi all,

I've jumped ship to starhub. Where can I return the modem hardware myself? Is it any m1 outlet? It's not convenient to get an appt for the guy to come to my house to collect.

Thanks!
:)

NWT1978

Hi all,

I've jumped ship to starhub. Where can I return the modem hardware myself? Is it any m1 outlet? It's not convenient to get an appt for the guy to come to my house to collect.

Thanks!
:)

cable modem? M1 Service Centres.

Fibre ones... prepare to be collected by them... termination and collection fees applied...early termination fees also if u terminate early =:p

PS. prepare to hit by capacity issue when u jump over to another isp for Fibre :eek:

AhWise

OpenNet informs M1 when its close to the activation date and thus M1 is not able to inform customer earlier on.

Read post #2, 1 of the hwz brother propose a solution, its a tentative workaround solution for recontract customer. However if you jump ship from other ISP, then only can use port 2 which really have to wait for OpenNet activation.

Understand your frustration, coz definitely you are not the only 1 having this issue. So for those who jump ship, pls note port 2 are having alot of issues at OpenNet side, all ISP are facing this issue. So if you are a customer jumping ship from other ISP or from M1 to other ISP. Likely you might experience the OpenNet capacity issues. People whom we assist to sign up we will inform them on this issue should there be a requirement to activate port 2. Read most of the post here you will know I have openly inform everyone that port 2 has capacity issue.

Aelinx

OpenNet informs M1 when its close to the activation date and thus M1 is not able to inform customer earlier on.

Read post #2, 1 of the hwz brother propose a solution, its a tentative workaround solution for recontract customer. However if you jump ship from other ISP, then only can use port 2 which really have to wait for OpenNet activation.

Understand your frustration, coz definitely you are not the only 1 having this issue. So for those who jump ship, pls note port 2 are having alot of issues at OpenNet side, all ISP are facing this issue. So if you are a customer jumping ship from other ISP or from M1 to other ISP. Likely you might experience the OpenNet capacity issues. People whom we assist to sign up we will inform them on this issue should there be a requirement to activate port 2. Read most of the post here you will know I have openly inform everyone that port 2 has capacity issue.

Well , just to be clear im not saying you are hiding any info or whatsoever nor anything against you. It just that m1 should do better in relaying message to all counter staff rather than hearing from them its a no problem issue or hearing from CSO that counter staff dont know this type of issue at all.

And not many people will check forum for such issue or stuff. For me i only started reading this section after im getting this stupid shyt. opennet is your vendor for activation of fiber , if they are having problem service provider should know better and able to relate such information to staff and customer. At the end of the day service provider should not make their problem into customer problem.

Yes no one point a weapon at any customer to sign up. But signing up with false information given by service provider staff is just waste of time and money . Is like signing up for nothing with a contract bound and you cant do much about it.

bundy

My contract is up now, to recontract, if taking the 200 mbps plan, is here any downtime? Any promo now?

j_t_fusion

My contract is up now, to recontract, if taking the 200 mbps plan, is here any downtime? Any promo now?

free 6 month subscription... promo ends 20th dec...

but no worry, christmas period most probably will have similar promo.

you currently using white or black ont?

if white ont confirm got downtime, and confirm need wait long long for opennet to make the switch.

nevertheless it is still best to recontract asap so no need to pay the "full" price for the plan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.