Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

mingfreakrsx

How is the outdoor and indoor reception at Punggol?
With a built-in DVT2 TV, do I need to buy the margon antenna or can use existing HDB antenna?

If you have a DVB-T2 TV, you could just buy a indoor digital antenna or if your house has MATV wall point connection(not SCV point), you could try it. :)

matrix05

If you have a DVB-T2 TV, you could just buy a indoor digital antenna or if your house has MATV wall point connection(not SCV point), you could try it. :)

What is the required spec for this indoor digital antenna (this is not Margon mentioned earlier, right?) ? DVb-T2 or the regular ones before-all-these-confusion will do?

mingfreakrsx

What is the required spec for this indoor digital antenna (this is not Margon mentioned earlier, right?) ? DVb-T2 or the regular ones before-all-these-confusion will do?
There's one digital antenna which many recommend here: Daiyo EU1702 Digital Indoor Antenna. Cost around $64

sunsetbay

but then looking at this ...

don't think so leh ...

under the product overview, it puts a footnote "Please note that Starhub SCV point in Singapore is not for DVB-t reception" & at the tech spec above "Supported TV standards: DVB-T2, DVB-T, VHF-/UHF band"~

the msg shld be targeting to Sg buyer, if the dvb-t2 dun work, they shld also put a footnote to inform buyer~ even if it works, i feel the price for a usb tuner is abit ex leh~ :s22:

zenify.me

Hello,

I bought the Draco HDT2-7300 STB from Fairprice Xtra last week. I used the provided Draco digital amplifier and attached it to a AC/DC 5v adapter. This was followed by connecting the digital amplifier to my outdoor passive UHF antenna. Once done, I did an Auto Scan on the STB and found MediaCorp's 7 DVB-T2 & 4 DVB-T channels. The DVB-T2 channels consist of 4 HD & 3 SD channels. The DVB-T channels consist of 1 HD & 3 SD channels.
The AV quality received is excellent. Finally no snowy and ghost images on FTA!
Now coming to my query, I understand this STB is able to do Timeshift recording. However, I haven't been able to figure that out. The supplied user manual isn't of help either. Could I please have some assistance on this ?
Your assistance on this matter is appreciated.

Nathan

is it worth buying a DVB-T2 STB at this price point or it is better to wait since analogue broadcast will still be around for some time.
I understand that I will still require an indoor antenna to the STB, I am considering getting an indoor antenna for my TV since it is now positioned far from my HDB SCV terminal point. Are there any recommended indoor antenna models?

cscs3

is it worth buying a DVB-T2 STB at this price point or it is better to wait since analogue broadcast will still be around for some time.
I understand that I will still require an indoor antenna to the STB, I am considering getting an indoor antenna for my TV since it is now positioned far from my HDB SCV terminal point. Are there any recommended indoor antenna models?

If you have old TV and planning to get a new one, it is best to go for those support T2 as is going for almost at the same price. If you already jump in to new TV without T2 tuner, then only way is to get a STB.

Do take note there is some different between build in vs STB. At lease you need additional power point, cable interface to TV and separate remote control.

PoloBoiBoi

under the product overview, it puts a footnote "Please note that Starhub SCV point in Singapore is not for DVB-t reception" & at the tech spec above "Supported TV standards: DVB-T2, DVB-T, VHF-/UHF band"~

the msg shld be targeting to Sg buyer, if the dvb-t2 dun work, they shld also put a footnote to inform buyer~ even if it works, i feel the price for a usb tuner is abit ex leh~ :s22:

The most important thing is if it is v1.3.1 compliant

If not it will be just like my usb dvb t2 from aliexpress

Can lock onto channel but cant decode anything :(

sunsetbay

The most important thing is if it is v1.3.1 compliant

If not it will be just like my usb dvb t2 from aliexpress

Can lock onto channel but cant decode anything :(

if its v1.3.1 compliant, will u spend $149 to buy or not~? i think aliexpress will come out with cheaper v1.3.1 pc tuner a matter of time~

moi pci-e t2 cards also can't work, now using it as dvb-c & t tuners~ but when mediacorp started testing T2 channels last yr, my card was able to recv until they upgraded to 1.3.1~ :vijayadmin:

PoloBoiBoi

if its v1.3.1 compliant, will u spend $149 to buy or not~? i think aliexpress will come out with cheaper v1.3.1 pc tuner a matter of time~

moi pci-e t2 cards also can't work, now using it as dvb-c & t tuners~ but when mediacorp started testing T2 channels last yr, my card was able to recv until they upgraded to 1.3.1~ :vijayadmin:

kinda ex ... but still can consider abit

aliexpress are tiong merchants ... they dont put what version the receiver is de ... really impossible to tell unless you buy and test

nathan7305

To do timeshift recording, just go to the menu and select timer setting. From there choose Record, Channel, and your time of recording. I have done it. The only setback is that while recording is on, you can only watch one other channel which is fixed by the STB and not one of your choice unless you choose to watch from your own TV tuner instead of the tuner on the STB.
Hello Seehong,

Thank you for your kind assistance. I can do Timeshift recording now.

Nathan

mingfreakrsx

Got the LG 42LN570T and connect it to my MATV but didn't get any signal so switched to the usual SCV point and got all analog local channels, SuperSports Arena, History Channel and TV1. :D

cscs3

Got the LG 42LN570T and connect it to my MATV but didn't get any signal so switched to the usual SCV point and got all analog local channels, SuperSports Arena, History Channel and TV1. :D

Your case may be same as mine. Private apartment, MATV not working, may be due to many years no one use it. Now we have to try to get management to make it work again due to DVB-T2 as the stupid Starhub point will not support it unless you use their STB.

nathan7305

If you are using an outdoor UHF antenna, you should be receiving very good signal. The amplifier is probably not needed. You can verify this by doing a manual scan, channel by channel, for chans 27, 29, 31, 38 and the latest test transmission on chan 33. Note the signal intensity and signal quality for the different channels with and without amplifier.

Amplifier can increase signal strenght but at the expense of signal quality. This is because the amplifier itself adds noises (=<3db according to specs) to the amplified signal.

As pointed out by AnDyLe0, just plug in a usb hdd and you are on the way. Thumb drive, card reader with SD card or equivalent also can.

However, if you are still stumped after an external drive is attached... the quick answer is the "pause" button on the remote will start the time shift function. To resume, press the "play" button.
Mrsun18,

Initially, I used the Draco STB without the digital amplifier, channel scan failed.
Upon attaching digital amplifier, channel scan was successful.
Update : total 13 channels received, 9 on DVB-T2 (including 2 test) and 4 on DVB-T

nathan7305

If you are using an outdoor UHF antenna, you should be receiving very good signal. The amplifier is probably not needed. You can verify this by doing a manual scan, channel by channel, for chans 27, 29, 31, 38 and the latest test transmission on chan 33. Note the signal intensity and signal quality for the different channels with and without amplifier.

Amplifier can increase signal strenght but at the expense of signal quality. This is because the amplifier itself adds noises (=<3db according to specs) to the amplified signal.

As pointed out by AnDyLe0, just plug in a usb hdd and you are on the way. Thumb drive, card reader with SD card or equivalent also can.

However, if you are still stumped after an external drive is attached... the quick answer is the "pause" button on the remote will start the time shift function. To resume, press the "play" button.
Mrsun18,

I have configured Timeshift as per the advise from Seehong

nathan7305

actually u don't have to use any power adapter for the amplifier... just goto Settings on ur Draco stb and turn on "antenna power"... the stb will provide power... no need external adapter.

for the timeshift and pvr functions... just plug in a usb hdd to draco stb and pvr function will be activated.
AnDyLe0,

Will the "antenna power" option work on a passive UHF antenna ? Have you tried it ?
As for Timeshift recording, I am able to do so now, as per the advise of Seehong.
Thank you.

mingfreakrsx

Your case may be same as mine. Private apartment, MATV not working, may be due to many years no one use it. Now we have to try to get management to make it work again due to DVB-T2 as the stupid Starhub point will not support it unless you use their STB.

I tried connecting to the MATV then my dad told me that the point is sort of spoilt so there's no signal for anything. I'm staying at a HDB block of like 20years already. :)

mrsun18

I tried connecting to the MATV then my dad told me that the point is sort of spoilt so there's no signal for anything. I'm staying at a HDB block of like 20years already. :)
If you know how to do it, trace the cable to see where it leads to. If it is still connected to HDB's matv, feedback to HDB.

mingfreakrsx

If you know how to do it, trace the cable to see where it leads to. If it is still connected to HDB's matv, feedback to HDB.

Not quite sure on how to trace so didn't bother to do it. Since I've got mio TV so don't really matter but will try to get the Daiyo to try in the future. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.