[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 4

Xiao_Alien

Just to check,

are the shops / Night market open on Qing Ming Jie ? 5th Apr 2014..
I've checked online that it is a national holiday in tw and ppl gets a off day from work for that day..

mata_hippo

hey guys here's part of my itinerary for my 1 week june trip in taiwan... there's 6 of us...

some of my qns are in blue...

can also give me some ideas/help/comments with activities at Gaoxiong?

any other comments are welcomed too...

thanks in advance!

day 1
Alishan
- arrive Taoyuan early in the morning
- go to Taoyuan THSR >>> get a cab to the THSR from the airport?
- take THSR to Chiayi
- go to accommodation, the Lauya Homestay recommended by Gixx.
- put down luggage etc. go Fengqihu explore
- go back accommodation chill

day 2
Alishan
- see sunrise
- check out
- make our way to Chiayi TRA
- take TRA to Gaoxiong

Gaoxiong
- Lotus Lake 莲池潭 >>> temples?
- Love River 爱河 >>> cafes?
- Liouhe Night Market 六合观光夜市

day 3
Gaoxiong
- Cijin 旗津

day 4
Gaoxiong
- what else can we do/see/eat?

day 5 to day 8
Gaoxiong
- take THSR to Taipei

Taipei
- etc.

Gixxerfied

Day 1 Taoyuan to Chiayi take TRA...Bus up to Alishan from HSR station frequency lesser and also about 20-30mins further..

mata_hippo

Day 1 Taoyuan to Chiayi take TRA...Bus up to Alishan from HSR station frequency lesser and also about 20-30mins further..
i'll probably arrange transport with the accommodation to pick us up, possible right?

TRA 3+ hrs leh :eek:

Gixxerfied

i'll probably arrange transport with the accommodation to pick us up, possible right?

Ok larx...Good to slp since u reach Lauya earlier also cannot check in if the room is not ready...Standard check-in time is 3pm oso..

You can ask them for the driver's contact..

mata_hippo

Ok larx...Good to slp since u reach Lauya earlier also cannot check in if the room is not ready...Standard check-in time is 3pm oso..

You can ask them for the driver's contact..
i understand that the check in timings r usually afternoon but we can leave our luggage n go do our activities 1st right?

a1v1n_

advice is to arrange transport like you mentioned. the other time i went, stayed at lauya as well.

wanted to take the public bus up, too low frequency, too many people. no way you gonna get up.

in the end shared a cab with a couple to where i needed to go.

a1v1n_

hey guys here's part of my itinerary for my 1 week june trip in taiwan... there's 6 of us...

thanks in advance!

day 1
Alishan
- take THSR to Chiayi

probably can take a bus to the THSR. its quite convenient.
331ggud.jpg

Adam80

advice is to arrange transport like you mentioned. the other time i went, stayed at lauya as well.

wanted to take the public bus up, too low frequency, too many people. no way you gonna get up.

sakura season you went?

going in march i going in march (satu orang/one pax)
think i use the number provide by them to engage driver at chiayi HSR station:o

calkel20

I haven even have the bergin shot you ask me change :s22:

mai la... go cheenatown pew pew pew later atb come and harass me I dunno how to answer :s8:

Ya, you are so right. That's y i dun jio u lor.

probably can take a bus to the THSR. its quite convenient.
331ggud.jpg

If not so big luggage, taking a cab maybe cheaper by like 10-20NT. So bus is still the way to go.

sakura season you went?

Sakura season, the bus frequency is high. So dun really need to engage driver.

Gixxerfied

Cos u took HSR??? From what i understand HSR bus frequency lower..

From TRA, a different storey..

sakura season you went?

Trust me larx..Take your time on TRA..You reach there so early, also nt like u going to cheong the main area since next day going for sunrise then continue main area also..

Reach Lauya already, take a break, enjoy the tea and view then engage a driver to bring u to Fenchihu where u can have your dinner as well..

Anyway when i met up with FW79 the other time at Chiayi TRA, we just brought the bus ticket on the spot..Bus was not even 90% full.. :s13:

We went during the season but luckily nt during the announced festival..

calkel20

Cos u took HSR??? From what i understand HSR bus frequency lower..

From TRA, a different storey..

Trust me larx..Take your time on TRA..You reach there so early, also nt like u going to cheong the main area since next day going for sunrise then continue main area also..

Reach Lauya already, take a break, enjoy the tea and view then engage a driver to bring u to Fenchihu where u can have your dinner as well..

Anyway when i met up with FW79 the other time at Chiayi TRA, we just brought the bus ticket on the spot..Bus was not even 90% full.. :s13:

We went during the season but luckily nt during the announced festival..

As long as not weekends, then should be alright. Since one person, no risk ma. Can always squeeze on the bus.

calkel20

thanks in advance!

day 1
Alishan
- take THSR to Chiayi

day 2
Alishan
- see sunrise
- check out
- make our way to Chiayi TRA
- take TRA to Gaoxiong

Gaoxiong
- Lotus Lake 莲池潭 >>> temples?
- Love River 爱河 >>> cafes?
- Liouhe Night Market 六合观光夜市

day 3
Gaoxiong
- Cijin 旗津

day 4
Gaoxiong
- what else can we do/see/eat?

day 5 to day 8
Gaoxiong
- take THSR to Taipei

Taipei
- etc.

Can plan a trip to E-da 世界。 Or go to Kenting Marine park/国家公园。Eluanbi Lighthouse.

I am sure you are quite pro in your plan liao, since you last traveled alone and did all those hikes.

Why ah? This time got gf going izzit?

mata_hippo

Can plan a trip to E-da 世界。 Or go to Kenting Marine park/国家公园。Eluanbi Lighthouse.

I am sure you are quite pro in your plan liao, since you last traveled alone and did all those hikes.

Why ah? This time got gf going izzit?
this time with classmates so cannot anyhow when book things or do activities have to take into consideration their preference... i myself is anything one...

u mean a day trip out of gaoxiong to kenting?

mata_hippo

thanks all for the comments/advices...

anyway. whether THSR or TRA, the tix from taoyuan to chiayi need to book to ensure got space or quite safe?

i guess chiayi to gaoxiong no need book in advance...

and gaoxiong back to taipei THSR book also?

OKCATYEON

Cityinn 1/2/3 or hotel 73 or dandy da'an.

Which one you guys recommend? Price difference about 30/n.

calkel20

this time with classmates so cannot anyhow when book things or do activities have to take into consideration their preference... i myself is anything one...

u mean a day trip out of gaoxiong to kenting?

Yap. It's worth it. Per pax about 350NT/way. So ask your friends about it. Can check with minsu to provide driver etc. Initially i wanted to take bus, but then consider the time and cost, like save only 50Nt, might as well share cab.

thanks all for the comments/advices...

anyway. whether THSR or TRA, the tix from taoyuan to chiayi need to book to ensure got space or quite safe?

i guess chiayi to gaoxiong no need book in advance...

and gaoxiong back to taipei THSR book also?

Taoyuan to Chiayi, book early.
Chiayi to Kaohsiung, book if you think necessary.

Just checked thru app, Tzechiang, 1h15m, 245NT
Chukuang, 1h53m, 189NT
Local, 2h, 158NT.

HSR from Kaohsiung to Taipei, definitely got seats one. But whether you can benefit from the 35% discount is another thing.

calkel20

Cityinn 1/2/3 or hotel 73 or dandy da'an.

Which one you guys recommend? Price difference about 30/n.

CityInn 2 and 3 recommended. The rest, never stay before. But for 3 pax, i will say justsleep. But the cost is on the high side.

OKCATYEON

CityInn 2 and 3 recommended. The rest, never stay before. But for 3 pax, i will say justsleep. But the cost is on the high side.

2 pax haha Ok thanks will most probably stay cityinn 3. Inn2 standard room has no windows right?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.