[SIC] So You Missed The Entire Stock Market Rally — Here's What You Should Do Now

AlphaOmega

2013 was a ridiculously good year for the stock market.

The S&P 500 had its largest gain 16 years and returned 30% to investors. The Dow had its biggest gain in 18 years.

But many investors still reeling from the financial crisis, chose to stay on the sidelines and missed out on one of the biggest years for the stock market.

In fact, a recent Gallup survey showed that only 52% of Americans are personally, or jointly with a spouse, invested in the stock market. This is the lowest level since 2008.

Understandably, those folks are probably kicking themselves now, but are worried that a correction could be coming this year, and are antsy about stepping in at the top.

"In practice you have to be empathetic," Seth Masters, CIO for Bernstein Global Wealth Management, told Business Insider in a phone interview. "Because you know saying I told you so doesn't help someone at all."

So what do you do if you missed out on last year's gains?

First, don't try and time the market. Don't make rash investment decisions because you missed out on a great rally.
Second, remember to base your asset allocation based on your financial goals, time horizon, and risk tolerance.
Third, accept that if you want to grow your wealth it will involve some amount of stock exposure and that there is no risk-free way to load up on stocks.

Investors make two commons mistakes after such a rally, Fran Kinniry, principal at Vanguard Investment Strategy Group, told Business Insider. They either extrapolate from last year's returns and take on too much risk. Or, they'll look at the run up not just last year, but the last five years and decide to wait till the market pulls back.

Instead Kinniry said, this should serve as a "great learning opportunity" for investors to "really not engage in market timing in the first place." Instead he thinks investors should "develop an investment plan that meets their goals, objectives, and risk tolerance, and rebalance continuously to that because the only thing you can do from missing out on that return is to learn from it."

Masters thinks along the same vein pointing out that investments, by definition, are about meeting some future goal, and that people should invest depending on their future goal.

That being said, there will always be risk in capital markets, but the only way to meet one's investment objective is "by growing your wealth by having exposure to return seeking assets like stocks that are risky," Masters said. "That was true a year ago, it's true today, and it's going its going to be true five years from now."

Of course that doesn't mean investors should just pile into stocks haphazardly.

For instance, there were some who thought they could gain equity exposure through high dividend yield stocks, which they thought had the added benefit of being safe. Instead this set them on the course of the "safety bubble," according to Masters. People overpaid for these stocks because of their perceived safety, while "what they were really doing was risky simply because the price had gotten so expensive."

The thing to note as the safety bubble deflates is that investors "haven't lost gobs and gobs of money," instead, "they have suffered an opportunity cost." This is because the one virtue of safe assets is that they are relatively less volatile. So, when they do go down, they don't go down a lot, so the economic and psychological damage from the unwinding of the safety bubble is quite modest.

But one thing is certain, if people do want to get back into stocks they should "recognize that they are taking a risk and don't imagine that there is a safe way of gaining exposure to stocks, there isn't.

"There will be bad years as well for stocks, but by definition if you basically sit on the sidelines all the time you will for sure only get returns from cash which we know will not even keep up with inflation," Masters said.

Read more: What To Do If You Missed 2013 Rally - Business Insider

---

All beginners who only getting started now should read this :D don't make a hasty, uninformed decision that you'll regret. :(

Tootooteh

Hello,

I bought cache when it was 1.273.. Now its only 1.1!!

What should i do?

Should i sell it and buy back at 1.1?
Advantage is that when the stock goes up, i can sell and recoup and the losses, and at 1.1, i will have a higher yield..

Or
Should i just hold on to it?

Hope someone can help.. thanks!

alexchia01

Hello,

What should i do?

Advantage is that when the stock goes up, i can sell and recoup and the losses, and at 1.1, i will have a higher yield..

Or

What was your intention when you first buy CACHE? To invest or to trade?

XsenseX

I personally think 2013 was a good year but not the best for investors.
If you count in risk management, yes, 2013 might be a good year with minimal risk.

The best year was actually 2009 at the start of the recovery. Many who buy at the mid of 2009 and sold in late 2010 had an average of 80% capital gains.

I bought in LVS at $3.50, do look up on how much it is now …

AlphaOmega

If you count in risk management, yes, 2013 might be a good year with minimal risk.

The best year was actually 2009 at the start of the recovery. Many who buy at the mid of 2009 and sold in late 2010 had an average of 80% capital gains.

:eek: wah huat big big :D

but how you choose what to buy? out of tens of thousands of stocks how did you settle on LVS? is it based on numbers or what... or because you predict that with a recovering economy more ppl can afford to gamble? can share with me your thought process? noob here :o

Shiny Things

2013 was a ridiculously good year for the stock market.
[snip]
All beginners who only getting started now should read this. Don't make a hasty, uninformed decision that you'll regret.

Also, keep in mind that this is written for the USA, not Singapore.

We blew the doors off in 2013 - the SPX returned more than 32% - but the STI was off 1.5% in price terms, so basically flat in total return terms. So it's not entirely fair to write the Singaporean stock market off just because the USA had a good year - it's going to be Singapore's turn eventually.

XsenseX

:eek: wah huat big big :D

but how you choose what to buy? out of tens of thousands of stocks how did you settle on LVS? is it based on numbers or what... or because you predict that with a recovering economy more ppl can afford to gamble? can share with me your thought process? noob here :o

The key is abit of guts and getting lucky (for the big one) … Like what a lot of 'Full Time Investors' say …

Once you get lucky, don't self-imagine that you will get lucky every single time …

I always felt that one should always play with what they can afford (no contra)… Investments should never be about earning for daily expenses which is the reason why I could hold (when it dropped) after i bought in … and i didn't cash out (when i see the stocks doubled to $7 a few months later) to use the money to purchase anything. Its very tempting for anyone to just say, wow i can buy a car with that … Lets cash out.

The amount i gain never crossed my mind to be something i could get a nicer car with OR renovate my house with. If you had that in mind, you will exit and enter with less logic and more emotions. Which is generally bad for stock investment.

simon_84

Hello,

i bought at a higher price of 1.29, sold with paper loss of 276 bucks, never look back since and have removed cache from my watch list.

as reits are no longer performing, sometimes is better to be more selective about the reits you intend to hold.

Dividends Warrior

The key is abit of guts and getting lucky (for the big one) ….

Yup. Sometimes, we need to take a leap of faith. :)

When starhub lost the EPL broadcast rights in 2009, during the financial crisis, most people said that was really bad for starhub. I took a leap of faith and entered it.

In the end, starhub increased dividends instead and the price flew up from 2010 - 2013.:D

teerance85

Hello,

What should i do?

Or

I have a few lots of CACHE with an avg price of $1.24.

Are you investing for long term? If yes, hold and collect distributions.
Do you need any funds urgently? If no, hold and collect distributions. If yes, then sell because i doubt the price will go up to its pre 1.3x days.

But i would like to say this, never use REITS as a form of speculating or trading. Will never work. REITS if possible, should be keep for as long as eternity.

Yowzer

You held LVS until now?

chopra

You held LVS until now?

velton shushu clone. :crazy:
agree with him too. sinkie, me and a few others do not adopt RSP. we buy on dips....sharp dips...

My 2009 holdings are rewarded me very well compared to those bought in 2010, 2011 and so on.

So what I'm gg to do is simple. Profit out when the price is deemed high, or buy more in dips. 85% cash, 15%equity now. :)

zuoom

Erm. If you wan to look at the stockmarket.

Just look at the Japan one no?

But questions of sustainable or not pops up.

XsenseX

You held LVS until now?

Sold at $59 … Exit and Enter a few more time until like $70+ then i felt was a little overvalued and overbought liao so i switch my attention to other stocks ..

BTW, i only play US stocks.

noobishyang

Hello,

What should i do?

Or

Sell it and then buy it back? Pay 2x commission??

Why not just buy more, you pay only 1x commission. It's 1.09 now, actually it's a good chance for you to bring down your average price.

I bought 12 lots at 1.165, 7 more at 1.16, thinking of buying 2 more but not enough money in my cpf, want to buy with cash, but have to set aside for holiday and cny. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.