Very disappointed with Hitachi internal HDD

shokbakgoc

How fast you can install win 7 depend on:
1. is the install disc/thumb drive integrated with updates all the way to current month?
2. your PC speed/memory
3. your broadband speed

In my case, windows update with OS and Office take less than an hour with modern hardware. Ever done a netbook which took 5-6 hours due to item 2 mentioned above.

Not sure whether my system configuration is too old but it's ok for my needs. It's Pentium E5700 Dual Core with 4GB RAM. I also thought the installation/update will be quite fast and I can do in the morning then afternoon go out. In the end I was babysitting my computer from morning until night just for windows installation/update.

That's the problem. Try installing 7.1 straight. way less updates

Very old system? Is the installation disc without SP1?

The installation disc came with SP1 and yet over 200 updates to download & install!!
they came in several batches - 1st prompt about 140 updates, 2nd prompt about 40 updates, 3rd prompt another 20 or so and continue to prompt for some more ... I thought it would never finish detecting and updating and restarting.

Mclairs83

you never do before don't talk so much. you wipe your system and reinstall win 7 and see. over 200 updates to install.

LOL. I do installation of Windows 7, until i don't even need to see what instructions they tell me to do.

If you google enough, you can even do download Win7 ISO and installed OS with latest patches without going through the Windows updates.

sadly, coming over and complain about HGST drives and your frustration of your stupidity while clearly everybody here knows about mechanical drives failure rate are higher than usual now.

Mclairs83

Not sure whether my system configuration is too old but it's ok for my needs. It's Pentium E5700 Dual Core with 4GB RAM. I also thought the installation/update will be quite fast and I can do in the morning then afternoon go out. In the end I was babysitting my computer from morning until night just for windows installation/update.

The installation disc came with SP1 and yet over 200 updates to download & install!!
they came in several batches - 1st prompt about 140 updates, 2nd prompt about 40 updates, 3rd prompt another 20 or so and continue to prompt for some more ... I thought it would never finish detecting and updating and restarting.

The installation disc that given by the manufacturer are usually SP1 RTM which is release during early 2011. So meaning u needed to update 3yrs worth of updates.

So of course you will take one whole day on your donkey PC. So don't blame anyone. but yourself being suay and never read enough.

shokbakgoc

LOL. I do installation of Windows 7, until i don't even need to see what instructions they tell me to do.

If you google enough, you can even do download Win7 ISO and installed OS with latest patches without going through the Windows updates.

sadly, coming over and complain about HGST drives and your frustration of your stupidity while clearly everybody here knows about mechanical drives failure rate are higher than usual now.

First you said I'm bluffing when I said my windows update took 1 day. Now you said I'm stupid.

Microsoft don't have this Win7 ISO download and installed OS with latest patches from their official website. If you're trying to say to download from pirated sources, get lost lah.

Mclairs83

First you said I'm bluffing when I said my windows update took 1 day. Now you said I'm stupid.

Microsoft don't have this Win7 ISO download and installed OS with latest patches from their official website. If you're trying to say to download from pirated sources, get lost lah.

Does microsoft claim that downloading Win7 from pirated sources and using geniune COA cdkey is illegal?:s22:

No.

shokbakgoc

Does microsoft claim that downloading Win7 from pirated sources and using geniune COA cdkey is illegal?:s22:

No.

who knows what is included in the ISO or whatever downloaded from pirated sources? you shouldn't even suggest such a thing.

yukita

actually... imo, Hitachi is one of the better brand hardisk. too bad my regular supplier dont sell hitachi. so next choice is WD.

seagate is one of the "not so good", a friend rma hardisk cos got issue, get back a refurb, which spoils after few months of use... now in process of rma again.

Mclairs83

who knows what is included in the ISO or whatever downloaded from pirated sources? you shouldn't even suggest such a thing.

1) Download from pirated sources, read the description & comments first, and download accordingly and use your genuine CDKEY. which probably will finished everything within 4hrs?

2) Safest method - Use Autopatcher for Windows 7 and slipstream patches into Win7 ISO and create a USB bootdisk/burn cd. (which i doubt you don't even know how to use and will find it troublesome)

3) Install using your traditional method and update 200 over patches and stop grumbling over in the forum about taking 1 whole day to do patching. as you want to take the easy way out without reading more.

your choice.:s22:

shokbakgoc

actually... imo, Hitachi is one of the better brand hardisk. too bad my regular supplier dont sell hitachi. so next choice is WD.

seagate is one of the "not so good", a friend rma hardisk cos got issue, get back a refurb, which spoils after few months of use... now in process of rma again.

I seriously doubt that a hard disk which spoil within 3 weeks of usage is good. What is worse is the Hitachi WinDFT Diagnostic software, the short SMART test said the HDD is ok & SMART status Healthy when my computer's SMART BIOS already said status BAD and backup and replace. I did another "short surface scan" from WinDFT which failed.

Hitachi is also giving a refurb for rma and I don't trust refurbs at all.

shokbakgoc

3) Install using your traditional method and update 200 over patches and stop grumbling over in the forum about taking 1 whole day to do patching. as you want to take the easy way out without reading more.

your choice.:s22:

I'm grumbling about the HDD failing within 3 weeks of usage after all the trouble I took to set it up and the rma is giving me a refurb hdd! Even if the windows installation can be short cut to 1 hour, 1 hour is not time meh? if every now & then hdd give error or fail, do you want to spend 1 hour to setup windows on another hdd again and again?

then I got tonnes of other software & drivers for MB, printer, camera, dvd drive, tv card, firewall/antivirus, itunes (need to re-sync iphone), backup software, calendar software, trading software, web browsers & their add-ons, twitter, miscellaneous utility software etc. All these also need time to install & setup one by one.

Mclairs83

I'm grumbling about the HDD failing within 3 weeks of usage after all the trouble I took to set it up and the rma is giving me a refurb hdd! Even if the windows installation can be short cut to 1 hour, 1 hour is not time meh? if every now & then hdd give error or fail, do you want to spend 1 hour to setup windows on another hdd again and again?

then I got tonnes of other software & drivers for MB, printer, camera, dvd drive, tv card, firewall/antivirus, itunes (need to re-sync iphone), backup software, calendar software, trading software, web browsers & their add-ons, twitter, miscellaneous utility software etc. All these also need time to install & setup one by one.

Since you have a backup software.

Why don't you backup the entire hdd and restore if the HDD failed?

I'm using Acronis True Image with weekly backup on my OS & Programs and crucial datas. If anything happens, i just restore it to my backup SSD/spare drive.

Dun tell me ur backup software bay kan? again never read the capabilities of the software?

shokbakgoc

Since you have a backup software.

Why don't you backup the entire hdd and restore if the HDD failed?

I'm using Acronis True Image with weekly backup on my OS & Programs and crucial datas. If anything happens, i just restore it to my backup SSD/spare drive.

Dun tell me ur backup software bay kan? again never read the capabilities of the software?

So you're very free to keep restoring if your HDD keep failing one by one is it? already the new Hitachi HDD failed within 3 weeks of usage, how long do you think the rma refurb hdd will last?

Mclairs83

Do you what is backup for in the first place?

If you are damn scare of your hdd failing, do a RAID redundancy.

Obviously you are expecting $100 hard disk with an enterprise grade quality hdd.

You not happy, just change the brand of hdd lor. Like everyone all said here, it all depends on luck when you buy from any storage manufacturer.

HGST in the first place didn't promise you a brand new hdd if faulty. Even if they state one to one exchange, it would be under company discretion whether should give you a brand new or refurbished set.

sHrike

I cant believe you take so much time to update ur windows. just leave it to autoupdate in the background while u do ur work. why need tobaby sit...LOL. trust u to count the patches...and no of restart....wa lau eh...

Sausage

is hitachi still making hdds? i thought they stopped. Interested in getting a hitachi 2tb sata3 myself.

LonelyMan

Maybe should just focus back on key issue. I never use WD again after it spoiled after about 1 year, so TS angerish and worries are real.My suggestions are 1) get the replacement and use it or 2) get another brand to have a peace of mind.

sHrike

there are bound to be defects in every brand.and becos TS is slow and inefficient in setting up his system he blames the brand?
I think he has to relook the way he does things. have proper back up. regardless of brands, even have defect, just rma and restore from backup

sHrike

btw I also have 3 seagate hdd. one external and 2 internal. one of them failed within 8 months

LonelyMan

there are bound to be defects in every brand.and becos TS is slow and inefficient in setting up his system he blames the brand?
I think he has to relook the way he does things. have proper back up. regardless of brands, even have defect, just rma and restore from backup

This is not helpful....

shokbakgoc

You never read all the posts properly so don't come here & anyhow talk. It was a new Win 7 setup, restore from where? you wipe your system and re-install win 7 and do the over 200 updates, then come back here and tell us how fast you install.

I do backup my critical data so I have no complaints about lost data.

1849 bad sectors within 3 weeks for a 500GB drive, even writing 0s to the whole hdd can't help it at all.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.