HWZ @ Japanese Drama Club @

XasakuraX

gt what dramas to rec that are like legal high series? comedy but still somewhat serious, if that's e correct description :p

eeLsinneD

A quote from some forummer in another forun

" Ashita, Mama ga inai (Tomorrow, Mommy is not around) is apparently getting rave reviews and opened to good ratings (14%) but its also at the center of a controversy. The setting of the show is in an orphanage connected to the Akachan Post (Baby Box), which you guys might remember from another Ashida Mana show Mother. Its a system where mothers basically just leave their babies in the orphanage anonymously.

Anyways, the hospital itself apparently was unhappy about its depiction in the dorama (the orphanage is shown as an unhappy place) and is asking that the show stop broadcasting. Its kinda a touchy subject and there's talk that Nojima Shinji (the writer of this show and other super famous stuff like 101st Proposal, SOS, Pride, etc) has pulled out of writing the show.
"

It's just a drama. For entertainment purposes. Hope it won't get cancelled or end prematurely...

ilovetoeat

Eh quite curious, where you find your stash of chinese subbed jdrama, any links anyone? appreciate it!

junclot

gonna restart my jdorama again

will keep u damn busy :s13: current season also quite a no. of interesting drama to follow

A quote from some forummer in another forun

" Ashita, Mama ga inai (Tomorrow, Mommy is not around) is apparently getting rave reviews and opened to good ratings (14%) but its also at the center of a controversy. The setting of the show is in an orphanage connected to the Akachan Post (Baby Box), which you guys might remember from another Ashida Mana show Mother. Its a system where mothers basically just leave their babies in the orphanage anonymously.

Anyways, the hospital itself apparently was unhappy about its depiction in the dorama (the orphanage is shown as an unhappy place) and is asking that the show stop broadcasting. Its kinda a touchy subject and there's talk that Nojima Shinji (the writer of this show and other super famous stuff like 101st Proposal, SOS, Pride, etc) has pulled out of writing the show.
"

It's just a drama. For entertainment purposes. Hope it won't get cancelled or end prematurely...

so controversial, will put it to higher priority in backlog to watch soon :s13:

junclot

Watashi_no_Kirai_na_Tantei-p1.jpg

Mystery solving comedy...not the type i usually like but test watched 1st ep cuz of 2 big cast, not bad hahaha

screenwriter : Fukuda Yuichi (u get the hint yeah), 1st time w/o Sato Jiro in his production LOL (or maybe scarli appear at later eps)

the mystery solving is ... duh typical nonsense stupidly funny =D

Takagi

will keep u damn busy :s13: current season also quite a no. of interesting drama to follow
only watching three atm, S - Saigo no Keikan, Dr.DMAT n Kinkyu Torishirabe Shitsu

anymore to recommend?

junclot

only watching three atm, S - Saigo no Keikan, Dr.DMAT n Kinkyu Torishirabe Shitsu

anymore to recommend?

seems serious police plot stuff that u like :D i thk tats all for this season

but got 2 SP similar type de

TAcEjDa.jpg

w4rMaFl.jpg

IMAT i watched liao quality guaranteed
HAMU hvnt yet so no QC watch at own risk :s13:

junclot

looks like jap simply loves the unsolved 3bil yen case :s13: right another spin off aft Kuro kouchi ...

only a SP though (adapted fr novel by a famous passed away author)

UURgfGQ.jpg

another SP adapted fr same author (to commemorate i think)

iYV5KSu.jpg

QNueZvy.jpg

haato89

seems serious police plot stuff that u like :D i thk tats all for this season

but got 2 SP similar type de

IMAT i watched liao quality guaranteed
HAMU hvnt yet so no QC watch at own risk :s13:

HAMU plot was freaking lame and stupid. :s22: the only thing that kept me going was takizawa's lao chio looks

what's the male equivalent of lao chio ah? lao yandao? sounds awkward

junclot

HAMU plot was freaking lame and stupid. :s22: the only thing that kept me going was takizawa's lao chio looks

what's the male equivalent of lao chio ah? lao yandao? sounds awkward

lol isit, heng got u QC :s13: den i delete dun waste time already :s22:

PS: its called the "gentleman's dignity" look :s13: if u got watch the korean drama will get wat i mean =:p

junclot

my personal rating of Saigo No Keikan is declining drastically aft 2 eps

1) Feels like watching TVB where they "eh eh" insert in faimily/fren relationship bond scene wherever/whenever they could even if it seem odd and no relation to main theme...just to fill up the blank time/space every ep, gives me a draggy feeling

light hearted joking environment way outweighs seriousness and tilts overall atmosphere to imbalance

seriously the 1 big feature characteristic of jap drama is the crisp intense quick breath-taking pace and flow compared to other countries which is wat i love most...but couldnt feel it here at all

2) "love-in-the-air-for-all" underlying theme reminds me of Take Five
3230.jpg
:s22:

Steal with "love" / catch criminal alive at all cost regardless?
How "noble" (rolls eyes)

3) Not to criticise even more of the logic of the plot...maybe they wanna portray Mukai as One punch One kill? :s8:

Lets see how many more 1 punch 1 kill Mukai performs in coming eps...:s13: male lead luck aura FTW !

bCjrvSM.jpg

or reminds me of various manga characters

ce2iMHe.jpg

zPghs93.jpg

PS: Wun be so critical if this is juz a mid nite slot drama but given the budget/resources/cast at disposal, this kinda quality is not exactly meeting my personal expectation

junclot

Ashita Mama ga Inai... not exactly the storyline that i like to watch but ...

wa seh, Mana Ashida is ... simply awesome for her age (in fact she is way better than alot adult acting profession out there)

has to take on so many diff faces of this complex role...not easy at all, physical expressibility emotional layer of depth fr heart to facial display

The TV and director really brave let her shoulder majority if not all of the acting burden (normally fr her debut till now is max she + another adult experienced male actor share the burden together)...now she machiam carrying this whole drama on her own and the rest of cast all supporting only... salute man

Haonan

my personal rating of Saigo No Keikan is declining drastically aft 2 eps

1) Feels like watching TVB where they "eh eh" insert in faimily/fren relationship bond scene wherever/whenever they could even if it seem odd and no relation to main theme...just to fill up the blank time/space every ep, gives me a draggy feeling

light hearted joking environment way outweighs seriousness and tilts overall atmosphere to imbalance

seriously the 1 big feature characteristic of jap drama is the crisp intense quick breath-taking pace and flow compared to other countries which is wat i love most...but couldnt feel it here at all

2) "love-in-the-air-for-all" underlying theme reminds me of Take Five
http://www.gooddrama.net/images/series/big/3230.jpg[IMG] :s22:

Steal with "love" / catch criminal alive at all cost regardless?
How "noble" (rolls eyes)

3) Not to criticise even more of the logic of the plot...maybe they wanna portray Mukai as One punch One kill? :s8:

Lets see how many more 1 punch 1 kill Mukai performs in coming eps...:s13: male lead luck aura FTW !

[IMG]http://i.imgur.com/bCjrvSM.jpg[IMG]
or reminds me of various manga characters

[IMG]http://i.imgur.com/ce2iMHe.jpg[IMG]
[IMG]http://i.imgur.com/zPghs93.jpg[IMG]
[/QUOTE]

Junclot, I have been reading yr previous posts and afterthroughts abt Saigo no Keikan, and although i don't usually like to argue or debate with fellow forumers since it's pretty common to have conflicting views or opinions on the internet, I still feel that I shd come in and share my thoughts abt Saigo no Keikan, on why I don't agree with what you had said earlier regarding this drama.

First and foremost, I don't really watch any TVB dramas these days at all, especially HK dramas so I have no idea what you are talking abt. But basically whether it comes down to China, Korean or Japanese modern drama these days, it's very common for script writers to inject family or friendship bond or relationships that ties in closely with the leading chars inside the show. So frankly, I have no idea why you're saying the execution is draggy here.

Personally for me, I find the NPS team members to be quite interesting frm the 2 eps i have watched so far, and Mukai Osamu is showing that he's a very versatile actor in that he did not give me any dejavu vibes according to the prev dramas I have watched him acted in. During ep 1 where he faced off Ikeuchi-san in the carpark basement, that fight scene alone was already enough to convince me Mukai-san had trained really hard in terms of the fight scenes for this drama.

Though perhaps not as professionally trained and on the same level as Okada Junichi of V6/Johnnys, but Okada was awarded with license as a martial arts instructor since during the period he was filming the actual Security Police drama series (he took up Kali and Bruce Lee’s officially known martial arts Jeet Kune Do, which he put it into gd use for the SP 2-parter movies as well) so honestly I don't think it's fair to pit Okada-san against Mukai since Mukai might have just learned the basic chops from their contracted fight choreographer for this series.

OTOH, as far as I recall from the SP drama series, Okada-san's char had quite abit of KY personality/elements injected into his role as well, and he was often seen joking inside the drama with his co-stars according to the story. So SP by itself was not all based ard a serious environment/ambience, as there are some light-hearted moments in it too. In ep 2 of Saigo no Keikan, the comedy/light-hearted moments were more obvious but I personally think this means the drama can be very dynamic as well, and not just concentrate on the criminal/dark element in order to drive the story plot.

Apart from the drama's ambience, I personally also enjoyed other random casts screen presence such as Anna Tsuchiya's char as Aki, or Nao Omori's char as Kashii. You can feel that when they come on-screen, they do carry the flow of the drama pretty well and not just some B-graded nonsense.

From my observations Go Ayano also has pretty gd on-screen chemistry with Mukai as well in this drama, it's a pretty refreshing change from the previous roles he was given and the leading combination of Mukai and him seems to be terrific so far, at least as concured by many japanese audience in terms of the prime time TV ratings as it's the 3rd highest rated drama for this season.

Info taken from: [url=http://www.tokyohive.com/article/2014/01/drama-prime-time-report-01-1701-19]Drama Prime Time Report – 01/17~01/19 | tokyohive.com[/url]

[QUOTE]
Average Drama Ratings (Winter 2014):
17.93% – Gunshi Kanbei [taiga drama] (+0.03)
17.06% – Aibou Season 12
[b]17.05% – S -Saigo no Keikan- (-1.85)[/b]

Ratings by episode:
(Episode 01) 18.9% – (Episode 02) 15.2%
[/QUOTE]

Personally I don't think the above-mentioned ratings can be lied at all. The only reason why Gunshi Kanbei has a higher rating is purely by the fact it's a taiga-based drama (which usually has alot of TVCM ads and promotion under their own media) and coupled with the fact it's leaded by Okada Junichi, and we all know most popular Johnny boys are considered ratings king which is why TV stations engage them for their prime-time dramas. As for Aibou, it's has been a long-running series in JP well known by the older/matured folks there, so it's ratings are built up based on a solid fanbase.

Sry abt the long WOT, but I feel compelled to return back a reply to yr original post bcos frankly, I sensed quite abit of trolling in yr previous post and I don't think the casts of Saigo no Keikan deserves that. You have to understand that Saigo no Keikan's story was originally adapted from a manga, so even if it has that 'One punch, One Kill" element, the director could be staying true to it's original manga so unless u are telling me you have personally read the manga, I'm sorry but I cannot take yr previous drama impressions abt Saigo no Keikan seriously at all.

No offence meant.

junclot

No offence meant.

wa v long haha :D

we hold diff views nia, on the part

inject family or friendship bond or relationships that ties in closely with the leading chars inside the show

i didnt say cannot inject ma, but i juz find it inject too much already to create an imbalance and slow down the pace considerably

Hanzawa and other similar top rated police theme jap drama (BOSS 1 2 etc.) always keep these aspect to a minimum to keep the flow moving and smooth at breath taking pace

but well...tats juz my own thoughts :D to share/vent in forum cuz i think it can definitely do better than this given the cast and budget

and yup, i nvr read the manga but juz found this light hearted element too much to bear also given the sinister enemy they face (1 moment laughing hee hee ha ha the next fighting ferociously :s11: mood swing too fast for me)

The punch through wall thing to knock out kidnapper also :s11: and the guy broke the door juz to release a dog also :s11:

I didnt attribute and level all criticism at the production cast alone, but rather it is levelled at the drama as a whole (inclusive manga where it is adapted and the original author if fit) =:p

Forum is a place to signify freedom of speech, as long as no personal attacks or insults, an open warm discussion debate should always be encouraged so confirm chop no offence taken :D

Lastly, I am always v straight forward and direct posting online and dun hold back much, so sry ah if any 1 is offended here lol

PS: not sure if u watched Andy Lau's movie Firestorm, i see something similar in both (heavy military arms used, well org crime, cruel enemies, tactical movement of special forces)

The contrasting diff is really huge (yeah, 1 is drama 1 is movie, but well....juz for comparison reference sake), not to mention the even heart wrenching/warming scenes and internal personality struggles

Firestorm_teaser%20Standee_horizontal.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.