ViewQwest Fiber Broadband Official Thread

whiteflag

Bro can you supply a traceroute here or email NOC?

Also could I check which DNS you are using?

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Owner>tracert 192.168.1.1

Tracing route to router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Owner>

my DNS is 192.168.1.1

emailed NOC this morning and there is a reply asking if i am using wired or wireless connection and i replied using wired.

after that there has been no reply

and today there is a lot of website i couldn't load at all but i could access those website from my hp

maylyn

In complete overcrowding, the non-overlapping channels guideline doesn't work :s22:

Non-overlapping channels are only useful if you’re in a totally clean environment where you have the privilege of planning exactly which APs lie on which channel.

You make sure your -dBM > than theirs on the non-overlapping channels loh :s13: :D Ubiquiti UAP-Outdoor AC /Do you need it? :)

manyu882

andr3wyong said:
Also, channel bonding probably makes things worse (for your neighbors, at least) — and 802.11n-2009 certified devices are supposed to revert back to 20MHz mode if it detects an overlap (which in this case definitely exists).

Forcing 40MHz mode can be done on some clients/APs but it's really bad for overall performance because if everyone starts turning it on, it’s back to square one

Best is still to get a decent 5GHz AP or two and locate it centrally in your home.

andr3wyong said:
Also, channel bonding probably makes things worse (for your neighbors, at least) — and 802.11n-2009 certified devices are supposed to revert back to 20MHz mode if it detects an overlap (which in this case definitely exists).

Forcing 40MHz mode can be done on some clients/APs but it's really bad for overall performance because if everyone starts turning it on, it’s back to square one

Best is still to get a decent 5GHz AP or two and locate it centrally in your home.

What do you suggest to optimise his 2.4ghz wireless network then?

spiritual84

IMO not easy for 2.4Ghz to hit 300mbps, even in a relatively clean wifi environment. 5Ghz is still the way to go if you want higher speed. And if you need decent range on your 5Ghz, then wireless AC is the way to go.

hg2

Thinking of switching over when my contract expires with p-camp. Their international bandwidth seems like rationing, need to wait 24-48hrs before i can resume streaming from overseas.

1 question, does VQ support youku ?

chaicka

You make sure your -dBM > than theirs on the non-overlapping channels loh :s13: :D Ubiquiti UAP-Outdoor AC /Do you need it? :)

If he does, maybe we need to have a check on his sanity one year later, to make sure he is not 'microwaved' by then. :s13:

chaicka

Wah the number of networks in your area is total GG lah…

Mine is pretty decent, though the walls probably have something to do with it too:

Screen%20Shot%202014-02-03%20at%2010.42.59%20pm.png
Bro, u landed leh.

Considering HDB estate, what Tiger2013 shared is more of a norm.

tiger2013

I'm supposed you are on channel 7..

Most priority - Choose non-overlapping channels - 1 ,6 or 11.
follow by channel with least SSIDs,
then choose channel with least competing signal strength
and lastly enable channel bonding -40Mhz.

Channels 1, 6, 11 may give the best signal strength, but at the cost of slower speeds.

Yes, I am on channel 7 - the most optimized setting. Decent speed, but some compromise on signal strength, especially when it hits a wall. I changed the channel bonding to -40Mhz and my Internet went kaput. :o Need to pull cable to fix.

I can do a 5GHz, but my whole family will be complaining. LOL. Their devices don't support 5GHz wifi frequency. Need to wait until they upgrade their devices then I can switch over.

tiger2013

MrVigfq.png

4 room hdb flat in Bedok here... also nowhere near as bad as 70 networks.

I live in AMK. :s13:

This is what happens when SingNet promotes their plans to everyone around the area and when everyone is back home and turns on their Wifi...

70++ is still not peak. 90++ is the peak. Move around a bit it can shoot to over 100 networks detected.

andr3wyong

If he does, maybe we need to have a check on his sanity one year later, to make sure he is not 'microwaved' by then. :s13:
I long ago microwaved by all my 800mW 5GHz cards already, it’s what keeps me awake at night!

andr3wyong

Bro, u landed leh.

Considering HDB estate, what Tiger2013 shared is more of a norm.
I not landed lah, where got so good? Just that the walls here are really really thick (+ I think my neighbors are probably quite backward)

andr3wyong

What do you suggest to optimise his 2.4ghz wireless network then?
Just go for the network with the fewest networks or networks with lowest receive strength from neighbors, since there's an even spread across all channels.

Though if you have a Mac on Mavericks, opt+click on the wifi icon brings up wireless diagnostics, which has a window accessible from Window > Utilities or cmd+2 that will recommend optimal wifi channels after a scan.

andr3wyong

Channels 1, 6, 11 may give the best signal strength, but at the cost of slower speeds.

Yes, I am on channel 7 - the most optimized setting. Decent speed, but some compromise on signal strength, especially when it hits a wall. I changed the channel bonding to -40Mhz and my Internet went kaput. :o Need to pull cable to fix.

I can do a 5GHz, but my whole family will be complaining. LOL. Their devices don't support 5GHz wifi frequency. Need to wait until they upgrade their devices then I can switch over.
Routers are dual band mah, so no worries about backward compatibility. VQ does have discounted pricing on Asus RT-AC68U I think, gotta check with cs/sales for the pricing.

tiger2013

Routers are dual band mah, so no worries about backward compatibility. VQ does have discounted pricing on Asus RT-AC68U I think, gotta check with cs/sales for the pricing.

I see online it's $249? Expensive wor.

chaicka

I am never a believer of 40MHz channel bonding on 2.4GHz. In high density environment like ours (unless one stay in landed or some unique surrounding like very high floors such as 35 or 40 where neighbouring blocks are only 12 or 15), 40MHz channel bonding actually degrade overall performance and coverage than actually helps, due to interfacing + mal-behavior of devices/drivers (supposed to auto-fallback to 20MHz channel but usually lags or problematic).

If your router is capable of dual-band (2.4GHz and 5GHz) concurrent, you can always enable the 5GHz and set a different SSID and have your devices capable to support 5GHz switch over to this WLAN. That way, you benefit with better performance while still able to support the rest of family with their 2.4GHz devices.

andr3wyong

I see online it's $249? Expensive wor.

About there. True that it's expensive. But in a sense you do lose some value out of your VQ subscription in terms of raw speed.

Though the speed you are observing should be fine for video streaming on PPTV, Netflix etc.

tiger2013

About there. True that it's expensive. But in a sense you do lose some value out of your VQ subscription in terms of raw speed.

Though the speed you are observing should be fine for video streaming on PPTV, Netflix etc.

Yeah, I am certainly losing out some value in terms of raw speed. I may consider the router offer.

edwin21

is VQ return route being hijacked by asianetcom again? I'm getting different speed between my VQ WAN ip vs my VQ VAS ip again.
I'm getting much better download speed using 132.147.xx.xx ip compared to using 202.83.x.x ip.
Why the inconsistency in speed again?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.