Here are my specs

Asus Maximus VI Hero
Corsair Graphite 600
Corsair Vengeance 4gbx2
GTX 780
64gb SSD
WD Blue $67
Windows 8.1

The rest is flexible i calculated should fall under 2k if prudently spent. Can pls advise on misc parts? PSU and cooling (pref liquid)

royfrosty

All the parts you choose dont seems to be in the right direction. And i do think you did not research more on what you want.

1) You do not need an ROG board. Z87 boards are meant to support overclocking with cpus that ends with a "K" behind. Certain Z87 supports SLI graphics allowing you to have 2 Nvidia cards combine together. It also supports Crossfire for AMDs GPUs. Only certain z87 supports both at x8/x8 configurations.

2) 64gb SSD is no longer selling anymore. Min 128gb. It is important to get a bigger SSD. Staying at 64gb will not last. Games are big. And with a small SSD you will be running out on your main memory very quickly. Do not forget, your desktop downloads and other small stuffs will be accumulated in your SSD first.

3) So what mobo should you choose? If it is just for gaming and no intentions to overclock or running multiple HDD and multiple GPUs a B85 board will be enough.

Lastly with 2k with Red and Black Dragon theme

Msi B85 g43 gaming + i5-4570 ~ $384
Gskills Ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit RED ~ $110
WD blue 1tb ~ $76
Crucial m500 240gb ~ SGD$169 (Amazon)
Msi r9 290 4gb twin frozr gaming ~ $688 (with bf4 and works great with VGA boost on MSI mobo)
Seasonic g650 650w 80+ gold modular psu ~ $135 (modular psu gives you better wire management and lesser clutters)
Fractal Design Arc Midi ~ $129 (one of a good and solid chassis)
Samsung ODD ~ $21
Windows 7 home premium 64bit oem ~ $115

Total ~ $1827. Buy at tradepac. Diy

Yureak

All the parts you choose dont seems to be in the right direction. And i do think you did not research more on what you want.

1) You do not need an ROG board. Z87 boards are meant to support overclocking with cpus that ends with a "K" behind. Certain Z87 supports SLI graphics allowing you to have 2 Nvidia cards combine together. It also supports Crossfire for AMDs GPUs. Only certain z87 supports both at x8/x8 configurations.

2) 64gb SSD is no longer selling anymore. Min 128gb. It is important to get a bigger SSD. Staying at 64gb will not last. Games are big. And with a small SSD you will be running out on your main memory very quickly. Do not forget, your desktop downloads and other small stuffs will be accumulated in your SSD first.

3) So what mobo should you choose? If it is just for gaming and no intentions to overclock or running multiple HDD and multiple GPUs a B85 board will be enough.

Lastly with 2k with Red and Black Dragon theme

Msi B85 g43 gaming + i5-4570 ~ $384
Gskills Ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit RED ~ $110
WD blue 1tb ~ $76
Crucial m500 240gb ~ SGD$169 (Amazon)
Msi r9 290 4gb twin frozr gaming ~ $688 (with bf4 and works great with VGA boost on MSI mobo)
Seasonic g650 650w 80+ gold modular psu ~ $135 (modular psu gives you better wire management and lesser clutters)
Fractal Design Arc Midi ~ $129 (one of a good and solid chassis)
Samsung ODD ~ $21
Windows 7 home premium 64bit oem ~ $115

Total ~ $1827. Buy at tradepac. Diy

My apologies i forgot to include the cpu

Im looking at I5 4670K which is why i chose maximus z87

I also prefer nvidia over amd so not amd. I dont need odd.
64gb only for os boot the rest in wd 1tb hdd.

Gskill better than corsair vengeance?

I intend to overclock relatively heavily and in future i will SLI another 780 ti or 880 by then so def need 750w or more psu.

Why is it that you recommend w7 instead of 8.1?

I also dont need an ODD

bornerwave

My apologies i forgot to include the cpu

Im looking at I5 4670K which is why i chose maximus z87

I also prefer nvidia over amd so not amd. I dont need odd.
64gb only for os boot the rest in wd 1tb hdd.

Gskill better than corsair vengeance?

I intend to overclock relatively heavily and in future i will SLI another 780 ti or 880 by then so def need 750w or more psu.

Why is it that you recommend w7 instead of 8.1?

I also dont need an ODD

trust roy recommendations, dunnid ROG boards one... you will surely put more stuff into ur SSD... there is hardly any 64GB SSD(OR NONE) left in SLS

Yureak

trust roy recommendations, dunnid ROG boards one... you will surely put more stuff into ur SSD... there is hardly any 64GB SSD(OR NONE) left in SLS

Idm 120gb ssd also but tbh its purely for os and boot only...

ROG board cuz it looks solid leh... Not necessary even w a 4670K?

hengheng220

u planning to SLI ur GPUs?

aiseh becoming pro liao start recommending le hahahaha btw TS just trust roy's build wont go wrong one... btw when you say planning to SLI in future is how future? if like a few years time then not worth it ba... cause by then will maybe have a card powerful enough to beat it without any SLI...

bornerwave

aiseh becoming pro liao start recommending le hahahaha btw TS just trust roy's build wont go wrong one... btw when you say planning to SLI in future is how future? if like a few years time then not worth it ba... cause by then will maybe have a card powerful enough to beat it without any SLI...

No luh, because last time my project I also looked around at ROG boards, find it abit overkill when we have good Z77 boards(when i was doing my project)

Hailgod

Actually just need to know abit about these hardwares can help ask the question for people like roy or moneyface to reply. Save them some time =) I never build pc before also

Hailgod

You cant sli a 780 with a 780ti or 880. Maybe for amd ones can but nvidia must exact same card(can different brands) but u definitely can't sli 2 different architectures.

hengheng220

You cant sli a 780 with a 780ti or 880. Maybe for amd ones can but nvidia must exact same card(can different brands) but u definitely can't sli 2 different architectures.

Amd only apply to hybrid crossfire which is APU with GPU

bornerwave

Actually just need to know abit about these hardwares can help ask the question for people like roy or moneyface to reply. Save them some time =) I never build pc before also

I still remember.... my project was so fun... 3 screens, run crysis 3 at highest settings and expect a decent framerate... literally the whole IT school when we a SINGLE 680. I went with 2 :)

hengheng220

I still remember.... my project was so fun... 3 screens, run crysis 3 at highest settings and expect a decent framerate... literally the whole IT school when we a SINGLE 680. I went with 2 :)

hahaha good sia but where you all get the money to buy the pc parts lol

Hailgod

damn, TP course sounds fun. Now i regret going into NP IT haha

bornerwave

hahaha good sia but where you all get the money to buy the pc parts lol

damn, TP course sounds fun. Now i regret going into NP IT haha

the teacher virtually gave us $4k only :(.(no real money at all)

This year teacher ask me, recommendation for benchmark game... I only say no battlefield given the mantle boost :( AMD multimonitor support + mantle = easy project

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.