Xiaomi Redmi Feb 21 @S$169 Cheap leh

Skyy

Every Android vendor tends to bundle their own 'skins' and software. This is a way to differentiate say between Sony's phones and Samsung's phones. XM is the same. They call their software MIUI. Samsung's one is called TouchWiz and etc.

Now, some people don't like the bundled software. Under normal circumstances, you can't delete them. So if you want to get rid of it, the way to do so is to 'root' the phone and either strip out the part you don't like or simply replace the entire ROM with another one. ROM is the OS+vendor customisation. The other reason why you want to do this is when your vendor stops supporting you with OS updates, the only way to get updates is via a custom ROM.

For example, I recently put CM10.1.2 (a custom ROM based on Android 4.2.2) on my LG Optimus 4X simply because LG abandoned me and the latest official firmware they offer is 4.1. MIUI v5 is based on Android 4.2.2 and my feel is it is very well done (compared to LG's nonsense).

agree that miui is well done, but it does has it's quirks too, like sound profile apps don't work on it, even Tasker doesn't work on it if you want to use it to change your sound volume.. quite irritating because i like my sound and volume profiles, like the old nokia phones. Don't think there's a workaround for this though.. if got, pls let me know...

2nd thing is SMS apps like handcent won't work with it by default because there's no notification. MIUI hid the receiving of SMS from 3rd party apps, so u need to tweak a setting in the phone then my SMS forwarding app can detect that a SMS came in and forwarded it out. Took me half a day to figure this out.

kero89

me also stay woodlands

is a old malay uncle right?

no leh... a bit bald skinny mid age uncle. chinese. he say he does the Semb-Yishun-Woodlands area. Guess there are a few of the drivers manning this area.

friendly even ask why so many ppl buy this phone :s13: guess he is missing out the fun while fulfilling our fun :o

xinping

if they come my house nobody what will they do. call me or ask my self collect elsewhere?

kero89

if they come my house nobody what will they do. call me or ask my self collect elsewhere?

Since this is Express Saver (1ZAY), they will reattempt to deliver until they buay tahan ask you arrange a time for them to come :s13: That's what the friendly uncle told me, but differs from drivers to drivers because they plan their own timing, if they so eng or happen to passby they will call or come up try.

xinping

they will drop slip. notice. you can ask to re-delivery or they will asign for you/ self pickup also can i think

Since this is Express Saver (1ZAY), they will reattempt to deliver until they buay tahan ask you arrange a time for them to come :s13: That's what the friendly uncle told me, but differs from drivers to drivers because they plan their own timing, if they so eng or happen to passby they will call or come up try.

thats good. because i order from amazon also ups. kns i not home, ask me self collect without any attempt to redeliver :(

daniel_83

no leh... a bit bald skinny mid age uncle. chinese. he say he does the Semb-Yishun-Woodlands area. Guess there are a few of the drivers manning this area.

friendly even ask why so many ppl buy this phone :s13: guess he is missing out the fun while fulfilling our fun :o

ya botak skinny

should be chinese

somehow had the impression he is malay

i quite stunt to see that he is the deliveryman.. not a young UPS deliveryman in uniform and cap like in the ads

lol

giggss

ya botak skinny

should be chinese

somehow had the impression he is malay

i quite stunt to see that he is the deliveryman.. not a young UPS deliveryman in uniform and cap like in the ads

lol

If I not wrong, some UPS parcel is outsource to local courier de

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.