Liverpool Forum (Anfield) - Part 11

Sinkie

https://mtc.cdn.vine.co/r/videos/96...p4?versionId=x6NNl.pqgk1AYEn9jRA76Bplhh_kTgPt

Victor Moses only entered the fray for Liverpool on 86 minutes but did his very best to sum up his wretched season so far.

How Liverpool have got to be title challengers with one of the worst loan signings in Premier League history, is beyond us.

The Chelsea winger has been hopeless and Crystal Palace equalised two minutes after he entered the pitch.

Then came a moment that may live with Moses forever.

From a set-piece, the ball fell to Moses to make himself a hero and secure a famous Liverpool win from the brink of a draw.

What happened next is inexcusable!

s7460597

2 disappointing reasons no doubt I feel the doom and gloom has been overdone. We are still in a better position than Chelsea with still some hope of winning the title. What happened to the happy with 2nd, 3rd and 4th advocates? It feels like we are at the bink of relegation.

To be clear I've always said we should aim for the title. Some times achieving is beyond us and things are not under our control.

There has been some criticisms which have been repeated many times but not necessarily true. For example if Hendy had played in place if Lucas. Who's to say the result is different? The assertion can't be proved and is a opinion not fact.

Defenders need to be changed etc. Bare in mind human beings make mistakes even the best. Defending is more than just saying we want this or that defender. Defense is a team game. The system Brendan imposes has a large bearing as is the position assigned.

We can have opinion on a player in a game watched on TV and brand him lazy etc but how accurate can that assessment be? We know better than Brendan who has far more contact in person?

Everyone can have an opinion but opinions aren't necessarily facts. In the heat of the game emotions run high but let's calm down. The team has brought us further than we had dared dream before. Stick with them for another. We should follow the example of the supporters planning to meet the players bus before the Newcastle game.

YNWA. Make us dream.

fooblack

as a "long suffering" pool fan, the developments in the last couple of games really hurted. but in reality, it reflects that Pool's players are not ready for a title fight due to their young age and inexperience at this level. It is the likes the utd, chelsea and city that win titles after titles cos they have been there and done it.

for pool, very few players has any real experience being such close title run-in. the pressures esp in close games and last few minutes of the games were very great. And the team buckled in the last game at palace due to that. I adovcated that Pool should have just focused on winning instead of recklessly going for more goals. In the end, Pool might have been too greedy for more goals and ended up conceding 3 goals in last 11 min. The defence and the panic was to be blamed.

But the experiences learnt in this title-in will be invaluable for future seasons. The younger players will be older in due course and will be able to handle these stresses better.

With UCL next season and a likely influx of many new players in the 1st team, I think Pool might not be immediately challenging for the title again. They should be in the mix for UCL places but I think asking this team with more transitional issues to challenge effective for next season's title is easier said than done. Pool needs to get used to playing in UCL regularly and coping with the various pressures.

Hope BR will be able to get more quality and experiences into the 1st team, now that he is rumoured to have signed a long term contract too.

fooblack

Liverpool conceded more goals than MC, Chelsea, Arsenal (despite many heavy thrashings), Everton, manutd (MOYES!), southampton, crystal palace and hull city in the premier league.

indeed, it is our defence that has caused us the title. more evidently it showed up in the last game vs palace. inexcusable.

BR's main task in the next season is to improve the defending during games while not compromising the penetrative offense at his disposal. Defending is one area BR is not famous or good at, mainly due to his focus on offensive strategy. Not sure if his backroom staff are any good in this regard. If Steve Clark is not employed, we should honestly considering getting him to help out to coach our defenders. Everywhere Clarke went, he improved the defence significant - i am talking the likes of chelsea, pool and even WBA. But, i guess he might be waiting out for a full manager role..

darrentsh

Mancity & PSG set to fine £50m and will have to contest next season CL with squad size limited to 21 players for breaching FFP. PSG facing further restrictions imposed on their wage bill and their transfers.

Guess may force PSG to sell some of their players.

s7460597

Despite the lack of experience we've gotten very close (there's still a chance although depending on City's results).

It's not just the players learning Brendan is also learning. It doesn't stop here there's lots more to take on next season.

The Champions League will bring different experiences especially to the players. Too get to the play off stage would be fantastic for this young team.

I hope to see a more balanced approach to the game. Emphasis on attack is fine but not at the expense of the defense.

My hope for next season:

Challenge for the league title till the very end.
Champions League group stage qualification.
Champions League place

Optional : FA or League cup

YNWA

Tengyuan

Mancity & PSG set to fine £50m and will have to contest next season CL with squad size limited to 21 players for breaching FFP. PSG facing further restrictions imposed on their wage bill and their transfers.

Lyfeforce: matuidi for you....

s7460597

Seems City has till end of the week to accept.

UEFA sanction Man City for FFP breaches; £50m fine & CL squad limited to 21 [Best tweets]

Man City's FFP sanctions: 21-man CL squad instead of 25; 60m euro fine over 3 years; no rise in CL squad wage bill allowed. Same as for PSG.

fooblack

hope UEFA means biz and really impose these sanctions. I fear that sometimes they over-dramatise these threats then privately negotiate for lighter settlements..

if these really go ahead, both City and PSG will face very tough decisions. cut players and having to pay penalty over 3 seasons i think.

Pool have to splash the cash for this summer as I believe the FFP does not kick in until Pool starts the UCL competition. Once it is in, it will have to abide with it. Therefore, it is important that they buy the players now and incur the losses this coming season before they start the UCL. Not sure whether my understanding on this timeline is correct....

s7460597

Brendan Rodgers: Listen, last night was difficult because ive seen the effort of the players and supporters this season. If you'd been in the changing room after you'd have known have much it means to the players. We must remember that there will be ups and downs on this journey.

Suarez says he wants to share the prize with Steven Gerrard because 'he's had a brilliant season'

Goal of the season

Henabi

tbh... my first Liverpool season on FIFA14 ended up between 2nd to 4th.
but from 2nd season onwards, it was better, because I had more funds to buy better players and sell off dead logs etc.
Won League Cup, BPL title, reach UCL semi, FA Cup 5th Round on 2nd season.

Tengyuan

br to stay for another 4 years...

http://m.espn.go.com/soccer/story?storyId=1811822

Henabi

Liverpool's Brendan Rodgers set to sign new contract this week and commit for next four years - Mirror Online

Brendan Rodgers has agreed a new Liverpool contract - and could put pen to paper before the end of the week.

It is understood the Northern Irishman has shaken hands on a four-season extension to his current £2.5million-a year contract, which will also net him an attractive pay rise and make him one of the highest-earning managers in the Premier League.

But it is the opportunity to build for the long term that attracts Rodgers, who has suddenly come onto the radar of Europe’s wealthiest clubs following a successful second season in charge of the Anfield giants.

Barcelona seem likely to be looking for a new boss in the summer, and reports from Spain suggest Rodgers' name has come up at board level.

But Liverpool owners have moved swiftly to ensure their manager’s future is secured with the new deal.

It will provide a tonic for the club’s support after the disappointment and shock of the capitulation at Crystal Palace on Monday evening, when the Reds shipped three goals in a crazy last 10 minutes, to see their title hopes dealt a devastating blow.

Liverpool will still cling on to the hope that rivals Manchester City will drop points in their remaining two matches, but the message from the club is that this season - however, thrilling for the fans - is merely the start of a long-term plan, with Rodgers given time and money to leave a lasting legacy.

A fortnight ago, MD Ian Ayre unveiled plans to redevelop and expand Anfield and the first phase of that major build could be completed by the summer of 2016.

The club has also announced impressive commercial results, and hope to be in a strong financial position, especially with the introduction of financial fair-play rules, to challenge the richest clubs in Europe in the medium and long term.

They see a new contract for the manager as central to that. There are also plans to reward some of their most impressive performers this season, including skipper Steven Gerrard, Jordan Henderson, Raheem Sterling, Martin Skrtel and John Flanagan, with new deals too in the summer.

With the manager and most of the best young players secured on long-term deals - as well as star forward Luis Suarez and his strike partner Daniel Sturridge - owners John Henry and Tom Werner believe they will have a solid foundation for future success, even if Liverpool suffer huge disappointment at the end of a dramatic season.

Speaking on Tuesday night, Rodgers offered an insight into his relationship with the owners, when he insisted they had given him an incredible platform to build on.

“I would like to thank the owners and the executive team for what they have done for me since I have been here,” he said. “They gave me, a young guy of 39 years old, the chance to develop the vision of football that I have.

"If they didn’t have faith in me, I wouldn’t be here because that is what modern football is like.”

daylight

Seems City has till end of the week to accept.

UEFA sanction Man City for FFP breaches; £50m fine & CL squad limited to 21 [Best tweets]

Man City's FFP sanctions: 21-man CL squad instead of 25; 60m euro fine over 3 years; no rise in CL squad wage bill allowed. Same as for PSG.

they have too many players.
during mancini time, he still complain he dun have enough.
really knn.
chelsea is smart to loan out those not able to make the final 25 team, they wun kena anything.

Henabi

daylight

hope UEFA means biz and really impose these sanctions. I fear that sometimes they over-dramatise these threats then privately negotiate for lighter settlements..

if these really go ahead, both City and PSG will face very tough decisions. cut players and having to pay penalty over 3 seasons i think.

Pool have to splash the cash for this summer as I believe the FFP does not kick in until Pool starts the UCL competition. Once it is in, it will have to abide with it. Therefore, it is important that they buy the players now and incur the losses this coming season before they start the UCL. Not sure whether my understanding on this timeline is correct....

fines are not hitting them hard.
what they have are $$$$.

dodomon

they dont need to sell, just lesser players registered on the roster...usually will take out the youngsters and 3rd reserve goal keeper right?

25 - 4 = 21, not very big impact i feel.

$$$ is still the biggest player here, you cant ban such "big" clubs, straight from the competition, u will lose alot of viewership etc all relate back to $$$

every season i just spend $300mil + $50mil as a fine to keep my 21 players very strong. why not? if i am a saudi prince with lots of oil at my disposal

s7460597

they have too many players.
during mancini time, he still complain he dun have enough.
really knn.
chelsea is smart to loan out those not able to make the final 25 team, they wun kena anything.

Squad size does is not directly impacted but there is.

Financial Fair Play (FFP) | TOKNOWTHEGAME.COM

Key Points:

- At its simplest FFP is trying to encourage clubs to live within their means, i.e. not spend more money than they earn.

- All that UEFA are saying is that clubs will not be allowed to compete in their competitions (Champions League and Europa League) if they do not break-even, but clubs making losses could continue to compete in their domestic league. The first sanctions for clubs not fulfilling the break-even requirement can be taken during the 2013/14 season and the first possible exclusions relating to break-even breaches would be for 2014/15 season.

- The only club (from the top 6 in England) that looks vulnerable is Manchester City, whose loss for FFP is still a frightening £142 million.

- (also) “FFP hurts Italy. There will no longer be patrons that can intervene. Until now people like Berlusconi and Moratti would be able to support us, but with the fair play it will no longer be possible.”

- Revenue can be increased by various clubs but “UEFA tackle such deals by assessing whether they represent “fair value” and then deducting any excess (not the entire agreement) from the club’s income for the purposes of the FFP break-even calculation.

- Although English clubs have high wage bills, they are not actually the highest in Europe, an “honour” that belongs to Barcelona and Real Madrid

- While the majority of clubs are in favour of FFP’s attempts to tackle football’s economic woes, there is a concern that far from making football fairer, all this initiative will achieve is to make permanent the domination of the existing big clubs: survival of the fattest, if you will. The argument goes that those clubs that already enjoy large revenue (like Real Madrid, Barcelona, Manchester United and Bayern Munich) will continue to flourish, while any challengers will no longer be able to spend big in a bid to catch up.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.