Liverpool Forum (Anfield) - Part 11

Henabi

fines are not hitting them hard.
what they have are $$$$.

if FIFA really means business and wants to level the play, they should impose further restrictions such as:
1) only able to utilise revenues generated within the season of 13/14
2) no last minute "injection" of funds
3) Impose a nationality ratio for First XI line up, like at least 4 local players in the First XI. Not being racist but if we look at the first XI line up of Chelsea, Arsenal, Mancity and Liverpool.
Liverpool is the only team with the largest number of British or GB players in the First XI

silent_espy

tbh... my first Liverpool season on FIFA14 ended up between 2nd to 4th.
but from 2nd season onwards, it was better, because I had more funds to buy better players and sell off dead logs etc.
Won League Cup, BPL title, reach UCL semi, FA Cup 5th Round on 2nd season.

You play on world class or professional? I play on world class damn hard leh

Eraval

they dont need to sell, just lesser players registered on the roster...usually will take out the youngsters and 3rd reserve goal keeper right?

25 - 4 = 21, not very big impact i feel.

$$$ is still the biggest player here, you cant ban such "big" clubs, straight from the competition, u will lose alot of viewership etc all relate back to $$$

every season i just spend $300mil + $50mil as a fine to keep my 21 players very strong. why not? if i am a saudi prince with lots of oil at my disposal

They still need to keep the 8 homegrown players so its those fringe continental players that will miss out bah

messi7

Glad to see that Rodgers is set to sign a new 4 years contract..

Hitting the right balance in being good in attack and defence will be what he need to look at as teams now will know our tactics loophole after seeing the amount of goals we have let in..

In our recent times, it's either our defence is good but attack not scoring enuf goals or our attack is scoring lot of goals but defence is weak

darrentsh

indeed, it is our defence that has caused us the title. more evidently it showed up in the last game vs palace. inexcusable.

BR's main task in the next season is to improve the defending during games while not compromising the penetrative offense at his disposal. Defending is one area BR is not famous or good at, mainly due to his focus on offensive strategy. Not sure if his backroom staff are any good in this regard. If Steve Clark is not employed, we should honestly considering getting him to help out to coach our defenders. Everywhere Clarke went, he improved the defence significant - i am talking the likes of chelsea, pool and even WBA. But, i guess he might be waiting out for a full manager role..

Rafa team in 08/09 was the best balanced Liverpool i have seen in the PL era. Ppl still bemoaned the draws after so close to title at that time. This time the we have won the same no. of games (with 1 game to spare). Liverpool have got to where they are by playing the way they have played. BR brilliance is in forward movement. None of this is to say that we shd be letting a 3-0 lead slip but some crazy thing happens in football like the one in Istanbul which those Milan players had won everything. It’s been a far better season than any of us dare wish for and no single fan would have said NO to being in this position after 37 games if offered in Aug. Like you mentioned, we need to work out the defensive area while not compromising the offense which we very good at. Not easy to fix this given the style we play but at least we can improve in this aspects. This summer we certainly need to get some quality depth squad players.

fooblack

Think if the FFP sanctions are really melted out as they are now, it will mean alot even for these clubs like City and PSG.

True, they may be financed by oil money. But if the UCL squad is cut by these numbers, it will restrain them from further adding to their squad in this summer cos it means they may end with some exp players on the roster who are excluded from the UCL squad and burning excessive money on their wage bill, which will come under further pressures from next year's FPP review.

PSG is even reportedly being restrained with price cap on some future players' purchase. They won't be able to go out in the market and get the players they want by outbidding other interested club.

think these measures will affect clubs like city and PSG. They will force borderline clubs to be more prudent and affect their buying power. One good example will definitely be Chelsea who passed the FFP by a small whisker. They not only have to think about trimming their costs but they will also be restrained to play any players they like. They would have to trim their squad first before they can land the maquee striker...

Henabi

You play on world class or professional? I play on world class damn hard leh

yea I'm on playing world class. already quite difficult. but there is a major, major bug in the game, whenever the opponent shoots and my GK blocks, the ball 95% of the time will fall back to the opponent's players in the box, like a magnet...

damn irritating...

anyway... re-watching the MNF post-match analysis by Carra and Gary. our team still have alot to learn...

darrentsh

they dont need to sell, just lesser players registered on the roster...usually will take out the youngsters and 3rd reserve goal keeper right?

25 - 4 = 21, not very big impact i feel.

$$$ is still the biggest player here, you cant ban such "big" clubs, straight from the competition, u will lose alot of viewership etc all relate back to $$$

every season i just spend $300mil + $50mil as a fine to keep my 21 players very strong. why not? if i am a saudi prince with lots of oil at my disposal

Not sure abt the cap imposed on their wage bill. PSG total wages could be quite a huge sums given the star players they managed to attract by giving them huge wages.

cwcyenk

fines are not hitting them hard.
what they have are $$$$.

Ya lor. Should ban them from participating in European competitions for 3 years. Otherwise they will just continue to buy buy buy and set aside $50m to pay the fines.

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
Some times ago we shown interest in Javier Pastore as well. He fail to secure a regular place in PSG.

Probably high wages and playing in positions similar to Coutinho and Suso, who may vie for a place next season. Still a possibility if he fits within our wage structure.

Grandturismo

Mancity & PSG set to fine £50m and will have to contest next season CL with squad size limited to 21 players for breaching FFP. PSG facing further restrictions imposed on their wage bill and their transfers.

Guess may force PSG to sell some of their players.

$50 mil fine is like e value of a world class player!

PSG oso kena e limitation to sign a single player of value of $60 mil, cannot 2 x $30 mil nor 3 x $20 mil..they have to sell before they can buy

Pastore, Menez shd b up got grabs..Matuidi juz signed a new contract recently right?

Takechan

Rafa team in 08/09 was the best balanced Liverpool i have seen in the PL era. Ppl still bemoaned the draws after so close to title at that time. This time the we have won the same no. of games (with 1 game to spare). Liverpool have got to where they are by playing the way they have played. BR brilliance is in forward movement. None of this is to say that we shd be letting a 3-0 lead slip but some crazy thing happens in football like the one in Istanbul which those Milan players had won everything. It’s been a far better season than any of us dare wish for and no single fan would have said NO to being in this position after 37 games if offered in Aug. Like you mentioned, we need to work out the defensive area while not compromising the offense which we very good at. Not easy to fix this given the style we play but at least we can improve in this aspects. This summer we certainly need to get some quality depth squad players.
After witnessing the two recent setbacks, I find that leadership in the defensive line is very important. Someone who is capable of reading the game and anticipating what happens. Someone who will scream at other defenders when they're out of their position or is supposed to mark another player. Someone who will put his body on the line upon anticipation of an opponent if the rest can't make it in time.

We already have the quality we need. Defenders which can tackle, can head, can attack, and have decent pace. What we urgently need is someone on the field to organize them when the going gets tough.

v0dka

great news BR to stay for another 4 years!

i think BR can look to bring a good defensive coach in or maybe can appoach steve clark to be our defensive coach as i believe our defenders are actually quite good just that when going offensive mode, they tends to leave more space for opponent to counter attack.

Tengyuan

I Thot about this for some time.

Sell Aspas and get another striker. Plus borini we will have 4 strikers up front

Suso and Coutinho will be enough to play behind the hole

Henderson and Joe Allen depending on situation

Get a defensive midfielder together with Lucas. Gerrard prob should drop to bench role more

Sell Johnson, Coates... Get left or right back.. Depending on how to play.

Grandturismo

If Man C kena forced to include 8 home grown players in their squad den they might wan to keep Micah Richards..likewise for PSG to keep Menez..these sanctions may have some ripple impact

v0dka

Takechan

they should be deducted 10 pts this season as punishment too so as UEFA can let everyone know FFP is not something for other clubs to take lightly.:s22:
Every Liverpool fan's wish :o

Don't say 10 points lah, 3 points enough :s13:

darrentsh

After witnessing the two recent setbacks, I find that leadership in the defensive line is very important. Someone who is capable of reading the game and anticipating what happens. Someone who will scream at other defenders when they're out of their position or is supposed to mark another player. Someone who will put his body on the line upon anticipation of an opponent if the rest can't make it in time.

We already have the quality we need. Defenders which can tackle, can head, can attack, and have decent pace. What we urgently need is someone on the field to organize them when the going gets tough.

Ya I certainly feel we had no defensive organiser and not necessary depend on captain. Someone who can take responsibility and organize the defence, communicate and calm down those around him when situation arise at the back.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.