SIM UOL students lip lais! - Part 7

CrimsonP

I know I shouldn't be thinking about failing at this point of time...
But suppose if suay suay fail 2 mods, possible to resit both units in my next & final yr? I am taking less than 4 new mods next sem.
yes can resit.

Targaryen

They're counted separately for pass and fail. So if only Maths 1 fail, only need to retake Maths 1.

Source: Friends who failed Maths 1 before

So even if I passed (maths 1 + stats 1) but failed maths 1, I can't take courses that require a pass in that subject?

Thanks!

Free_MaN

Upz. The above 2 questions pls help me :(

Plus fr 2013 ZA 4c how to get the implicit rate of 12%?

Thanks a lot!

Remember during POA need to calculate the IRR. Use that method to find the implicit rate of interest.

Use the trial and error method:
Implicit interest rate at 10% , the NPV will be:
= 6,684k - debenture interest 640k x 4.355 annuity at 10% - debenture redemption at Y6 2012: 8,000k x 0.564 PV = (615.2k)

Implicit interest rate at 14% , the NPV will be:
= 6,684k - debenture interest 640k x 3.889 annuity at 14% - debenture redemption at Y6 2012: 8,000k x 0.456 PV = 547k

You may show the workings in the NPV Tabular format.

So the implicit rate is interest is when the NPV is zero (same way as calculating the IRR)
Implicit rate of interest is = 14% - 547k/(547-(-615.2) x (14% - 10%)
= 12% (rounded)

Credits: Joanna

chiwawa23

So even if I passed (maths 1 + stats 1) but failed maths 1, I can't take courses that require a pass in that subject?

Thanks!

If maths 1 is a pre-requisite to the mods, then u can't take those mods if u fail maths 1.

foo9883

Thanks!

There's no such thing as passing (maths 1 + stats 1)
Individual modules are assessed individually.

(Maths 1 + stats 1) score is only used for calculating classification.

Created a account just to rant here.

***** stressed now, did'nt know macro was so tough this year.
I don't even know if I can pass, and I was so confident I could before I looked at the paper.

I thought the worst solow question that they can make up would be the 2013's solow growth, this year they made it even harder.

Sighhhhhhhhhhhhh

zephyr

Is there actually anyone confident about FR...? I think i gonna buang FR.. Cant understand and memorise everything sia..

I think i gonna do 2 theories questions. At least can smoke. Calculation i got 0 confidence

lalaland0225

Anyone knows how to calculate the finance charge for FR 2013 ZA Q4c? Why is it 12%?

The qns is on 1 jan 07, Honey ltd received 1671000 on e issue of 8% debentures with a nominal value of 2000000. The debentures are redeemable at e end of 2012 at par.

Thanks in advance.

Free_MaN

Anyone knows how to calculate the finance charge for FR 2013 ZA Q4c? Why is it 12%?

The qns is on 1 jan 07, Honey ltd received 1671000 on e issue of 8% debentures with a nominal value of 2000000. The debentures are redeemable at e end of 2012 at par.

Thanks in advance.

Go back one page. I'v posted abt it.

jht199

Is there actually anyone confident about FR...? I think i gonna buang FR.. Cant understand and memorise everything sia..

I think i gonna do 2 theories questions. At least can smoke. Calculation i got 0 confidence

haha seems like the more i practise the calculations the more i'm certain i'm going to buang it. too many things to remember at this point of time.

kaysee

haha seems like the more i practise the calculations the more i'm certain i'm going to buang it. too many things to remember at this point of time.

Same here sia! And now that I realise the study guide is so much more better than jabbar's notes! Too late to realise now. Sigh. I think I'm gg for 2 theory as well, hope those I can write won't come out same question.

jht199

Same here sia! And now that I realise the study guide is so much more better than jabbar's notes! Too late to realise now. Sigh. I think I'm gg for 2 theory as well, hope those I can write won't come out same question.
Going to stop/cut down on doing calculation liao... Only end up stressing and confusing myself, rather move on to theory. What theories are you gonna study for? I study conceptual framework and duno what else.

zephyr

I in jabbar class, dun understand him and hus notes, switched to joanna's notes

I think i gonna bet everything on theories and a consolidation qn. 2nd calculation qn just whack the theory as well if know. Calculation seem very luan

kaysee

Going to stop/cut down on doing calculation liao... Only end up stressing and confusing myself, rather move on to theory. What theories are you gonna study for? I study conceptual framework and duno what else.

Conceptual framework too broad to write. I don't think I'm gg for that although most likely will come out. If write wrong or out of point means GG.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.