[Off Topic] The Longest Chit-Chat Thread in HWC - - - - - - - - Part 18

hengheng220

ahh sian... Watchdogs on steam cannot pre-purchase liao... my digital deluxe :(

can... you go amazon buy the digital deluxe version... should be same price but must buy the digital version ah if you buy wrong buy the disc version then good luck ba

Ark Law

huh the one he got from lucky draw? that one sure cannot apply de cause there is no transaction made (no exchange of goods, services or anything that is deemed worthy between 2 parties of the transaction, cause ark never gave anything to MSI, hence is just consider as a transfer of good), therefore its not really consider a buying or selling process... In the end, Lemon law only applies to transactions or buy/selling cases, not transfer of ownership of Item. And also MSI got already specified that there is no warranty given ma if ark chooses to accept it then it is already agreed there isnt lo. Btw this is just applying what i learnt from biz law, not sure if the fine prints of it change le ma...

Correct. Nothing to do with the MSI mobo. It's a laptop.

hengheng220

Correct. Nothing to do with the MSI mobo. It's a laptop.

ah... that one ah you got receipt ma? if have then maybe can try kiam with them. But cfm i will tell you their reply is: you installing your own windows 7 then cause your HDD corrupt, so is your fault, cannot change. Unless somehow you can make them diagnose that is their HDD spoil or you got evidence that its really spoil then can lo...

Anyway... Lemon law is to make people feel confident in shopping in SG. The truth is that people either seldom make use of it, or the case seldom win de... You think the govt will favor our own local consumers more or companies more... plus if alot people return the goods right, company will in terms make losses, causing lower revenue, lower GDP and stuffs...

Ark Law

Argh, I just hope the shop lives up to their rep and can do something about it. Otherwise, I will have to lose $400 of my own money putting my trust in them...

ah... that one ah you got receipt ma? if have then maybe can try kiam with them. But cfm i will tell you their reply is: you installing your own windows 7 then cause your HDD corrupt, so is your fault, cannot change. Unless somehow you can make them diagnose that is their HDD spoil or you got evidence that its really spoil then can lo...

Stock HDD with OS cannot boot. Fresh SSD cannot boot. SSD with OS also cannot boot. Is cannot even boot into BIOS splash page. Totally black screen, no HDD LED indicator, laptop will reboot 2-4x before turning itself off.

Smlj headache. I fresh install OS on dozens of other laptops before no such issue

bornerwave

can... you go amazon buy the digital deluxe version... should be same price but must buy the digital version ah if you buy wrong buy the disc version then good luck ba

aiya nvm bah, concentrate on studies first haha, wait for sales then buy :D meanwhile just watch reviews and let my friend tell me about how the PC online community is...

hengheng220

Argh, I just hope the shop lives up to their rep and can do something about it. Otherwise, I will have to lose $400 of my own money putting my trust in them...

Stock HDD with OS cannot boot. Fresh SSD cannot boot. SSD with OS also cannot boot. Is cannot even boot into BIOS splash page. Totally black screen, no HDD LED indicator, laptop will reboot 2-4x before turning itself off.

Smlj headache. I fresh install OS on dozens of other laptops before no such issue

But did you check that its working before you bring home ma? If you did right, then might have some issues cause they got reason saying that it was fine when it left plus you checked le. But i think the most impt is your receipt cause you can act act like the lemon law is god, tell them you going to complain to case. But if you no receipt, then i think will be abit more challenging

hengheng220

aiya nvm bah, concentrate on studies first haha, wait for sales then buy :D meanwhile just watch reviews and let my friend tell me about how the PC online community is...

I read some reviews on the game liao... some reviewers got an early hands on. And mostly from what they say, its only the trailer looks good. the gameplay so so nia. they say the trailers we seen so far is just what Ubisoft wants us to see, the actually gameplay is meh~

Ark Law

But did you check that its working before you bring home ma? If you did right, then might have some issues cause they got reason saying that it was fine when it left plus you checked le. But i think the most impt is your receipt cause you can act act like the lemon law is god, tell them you going to complain to case. But if you no receipt, then i think will be abit more challenging

I did check briefly it was working okay plus I was in a rush. Receipt is no issue, thing is, there's no warranty for it (and it's printed on receipt). The only thing I'm banking on is that they at least have a brain/heart/compassion.

Siao liao less than 6 hours DOA unit cannot use and tell me "NO, MUST PAY $xxx FOR MOBO REPLACEMENT, WHICH BTW WONT GUARANTEE YOU WON'T RUN INTO SAME PROBLEM" AGAIN." or "TOO BAD LOR, YOU BUY DISPLAY SET MAH. AT LEAST YOU GET TO USE FOR 10 MINS MAH"

If that really happen, I'd have to stir a bit in their subforum to let other people know that they have no goodwill for budget buyers. If they gave a viable solution/fix, they'd get another highly complimenting review.

hengheng220

I did check briefly it was working okay plus I was in a rush. Receipt is no issue, thing is, there's no warranty for it (and it's printed on receipt). The only thing I'm banking on is that they at least have a brain/heart/compassion.

Siao liao less than 6 hours DOA unit cannot use and tell me "NO, MUST PAY $xxx FOR MOBO REPLACEMENT, WHICH BTW WONT GUARANTEE YOU WON'T RUN INTO SAME PROBLEM" AGAIN." or "TOO BAD LOR, YOU BUY DISPLAY SET MAH. AT LEAST YOU GET TO USE FOR 10 MINS MAH"

If that really happen, I'd have to stir a bit in their subforum to let other people know that they have no goodwill for budget buyers. If they gave a viable solution/fix, they'd get another highly complimenting review.

yea lo... i think the only thing you can do is record your conversation with the guy saying about the laptop problem. Start out nicely then try to make him say out that the laptop is indeed bought from him ytd. Don't bother to put up the angry tone, just keep politely saying that you will post in the forums to let everyone knows about their service. If that doesn't work, say you going to complain to CASE. If they say that they don't have any prove that you bought the laptop from him, just say that you recorded everything he said from earlier that they admitted that they sold it to you. Don't try to raise your tone or anything, cause the one who loses its cool will always be on the losing end. Then towards the end they sure slowly change their attitude to oh sorry we change for you. If they never right, then they probably not cut out to doing biz ba...

Ark Law

yea lo... i think the only thing you can do is record your conversation with the guy saying about the laptop problem. Start out nicely then try to make him say out that the laptop is indeed bought from him ytd. Don't bother to put up the angry tone, just keep politely saying that you will post in the forums to let everyone knows about their service. If that doesn't work, say you going to complain to CASE. If they say that they don't have any prove that you bought the laptop from him, just say that you recorded everything he said from earlier that they admitted that they sold it to you. Don't try to raise your tone or anything, cause the one who loses its cool will always be on the losing end. Then towards the end they sure slowly change their attitude to oh sorry we change for you. If they never right, then they probably not cut out to doing biz ba...

Lol, I work in IT helpdesk I learnt not to use angry tone one when talking with personnel. Only makes the solution route longer.

Thing is, I really doubt they got prob on their end in the first place. Most likely it's the laptop model issue, cause was troubleshooting, and came across some users having similar prob. Some needed mobo replacement, some self-resolve, some re-occur even after replacement.

My main point if they do not bother to help is I will post in their subforum about their lack of empathy/goodwill, and caution everyone else about buying non-warranty laptops from them.

hengheng220

Lol, I work in IT helpdesk I learnt not to use angry tone one when talking with personnel. Only makes the solution route longer.

Thing is, I really doubt they got prob on their end in the first place. Most likely it's the laptop model issue, cause was troubleshooting, and came across some users having similar prob. Some needed mobo replacement, some self-resolve, some re-occur even after replacement.

My main point if they do not bother to help is I will post in their subforum about their lack of empathy/goodwill, and caution everyone else about buying non-warranty laptops from them.

Hahaha good luck about it ba, but from what you been saying they seems to be a reputable shop so should be ok ba... Btw I don't usually trust neighbourhood it stores De. They that time cheated my money cause they said my mobo spoil and needed $250 to change my mobo. In the end they got back some cheapo oem mobo and switch with my com, in which I could have bought a much better board for lesser. In the end my it friend I met afterwards mentioned to me it's not even the mobo problem... Is psu issues...

Mach3.2

Lemon law is useless unless you are willing to sue the retailer..

CASE is just a paper tiger, at most collate data points and blacklist the shop nia.. The list will be put up in some obscured corner in SLS, no harm done.

Oh, did I mention in order to lodge a complain at CASE, you need to pay for the membership first? :s8:

hengheng220

Lemon law is useless unless you are willing to sue the retailer..

CASE is just a paper tiger, at most collate data points and blacklist the shop nia.. The list will be put up in some obscured corner in SLS, no harm done.

Oh, did I mention in order to lodge a complain at CASE, you need to pay for the membership first? :s8:

Precisely... What I meant is just to threaten those shop only... Cause most people unaware about the uselessness of the lemon law. That's why I mentioned in my previous post ma is only for confidence nia, for show

jiaweiii

But i tot buy games from amazon not disk version only for usa one o.o

hengheng220

But i tot buy games from amazon not disk version only for usa one o.o

Nope can work... My crysis and bf4 bought from Amazon De. As long as your country got release the game and that you set one of your Amazon account address to us address can le. Their sales also usually cheaper than steam and origin sales

jiaweiii

Nope can work... My crysis and bf4 bought from Amazon De. As long as your country got release the game and that you set one of your Amazon account address to us address can le. Their sales also usually cheaper than steam and origin sales
Ahhh i see thanks !

shadow84

Do counter check on steam/origin whether Sg cheaper or amazon cheaper due to currency difference. Got once bf4 was cheaper in origin sg than amazon by a few dollars.

jiaweiii

Do counter check on steam/origin whether Sg cheaper or amazon cheaper due to currency difference. Got once bf4 was cheaper in origin sg than amazon by a few dollars.

Im just plannig get season pass . Since cant buy on steam cause my game i got for uplay and uplay get the season pass more ex haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.