May 2014 BTO and SOBF Opened!

Gixxerfied

They can still reject you as they deem fit(If one decides to test their priority scheme)..

For the purpose of determining whether the applicant meets the above criteria, HDB will rely solely on its records and/or the records of other relevant authorities as it deems fit. HDB reserves the right to reject as evidence, any form of private tenancy agreements or contracts made by or with the applicant's parents/married child(ren) and any other party, including receipts for rents paid by the applicant's parents/married child(ren).

Gixxerfied

I am not too sure if there's a loophole. But for myself, I wouldn't' take that kind of chances. What if on the day of selection, they verify it again and you lose your chance? I am sure I wouldn't take that kind of gamble.

Exactly...

I believe most honest applicants would use their distance calculator to determine if they are eligible..If someone decides to punk with the system, HDB can reject you there and then..You lugi one chance, HDB earn extra $10, and 1 more extra slot to the ppl behind..

And the most malu one is that applicant, imagine if parents are working or old and u still have to make them take leave, travel that distance only to make an ass out of everyone(Other than HDB).. :s13:

NovaBlink

I see...u meant a specific category. I thought how come so little when the number of flats there is in hundreds... :s13:

worst thing is... SOBF although cater 95% for first timer, still break down into 50% for first timer with kids, 45% normal first timer without any kids.

For my case where i apply become:
Total 30 unit for 3room in kallang/whampoa

15 units cater for first timer with kids
14 units cater for first timer without kids
Total of 104 applicants

1 unit cater for 2nd timer
Total of 76 applicants

Problem is out of 104 applicants. How many applicants got kids and without kids.

Pollyannaism

Exactly...

I believe most honest applicants would use their distance calculator to determine if they are eligible..If someone decides to punk with the system, HDB can reject you there and then..You lugi one chance, HDB earn extra $10, and 1 more extra slot to the ppl behind..

And the most malu one is that applicant, imagine if parents are working or old and u still have to make them take leave, travel that distance only to make an ass out of everyone(Other than HDB).. :s13:

Eh.. Do I have to get my parents to go down with me on the day of selection?! Oh dear, I dont' want to be them around. You know, folks. Alot of comments. Haha.

EvilPaladin

I am not too sure if there's a loophole. But for myself, I wouldn't' take that kind of chances. What if on the day of selection, they verify it again and you lose your chance? I am sure I wouldn't take that kind of gamble.

Not suggesting anything, but 10 dollars is nothing if there is indeed a loophole to exploit.

Probably in my head, I cannot accept the fact/explain the maths of me failing to get a valid number for the past 5 BTOs. :(:(:(

The odds are on my side for the first time playing this number game, and yet I can't seem to "win"? (Toto, 4D, soccer betting are against my odds and I "win" more than I "win" at BTO balloting)

Pollyannaism

worst thing is... SOBF although cater 95% for first timer, still break down into 50% for first timer with kids, 45% normal first timer without any kids.

For my case where i apply become:
Total 30 unit for 3room in kallang/whampoa

15 units cater for first timer with kids
14 units cater for first timer without kids
Total of 104 applicants

1 unit cater for 2nd timer
Total of 76 applicants

Problem is out of 104 applicants. How many applicants got kids and without kids.

You mean they actually break down into 50% for first timer with kids, 45% normal first timer without any kids.?!

EvilPaladin

Eh.. Do I have to get my parents to go down with me on the day of selection?! Oh dear, I dont' want to be them around. You know, folks. Alot of comments. Haha.

not aware that you need to bring your parents down for this. Wouldn't a letter from telco/utility/TC addressing your parents in name suffice?

Pollyannaism

Not suggesting anything, but 10 dollars is nothing if there is indeed a loophole to exploit.

Probably in my head, I cannot accept the fact/explain the maths of me failing to get a valid number for the past 5 BTOs. :(:(:(

The odds are on my side for the first time playing this number game, and yet I can't seem to "win"? (Toto, 4D, soccer betting are against my odds and I "win" more than I "win" at BTO balloting)

Yours is probably desperate attempt. I just feel that you will be even more angry if you were to be rejected there and there because you "cheated". You're applying under single/married?

angelicgirl

not aware that you need to bring your parents down for this. Wouldn't a letter from telco/utility/TC addressing your parents in name suffice?

nope, your parents do not need to go down. just need to bring along their NRIC and marriage cert. That's all :)

EvilPaladin

Yours is probably desperate attempt. I just feel that you will be even more angry if you were to be rejected there and there because you "cheated". You're applying under single/married?

Im applying as single for now/first timer. That is true if I used the extreme case of Pasir Ris and Jurong West. Say if i try Hougang Serangoon? or CCK/Yew Tee? (Is it really 2km away? It is very hard to say in that circumstances)

I still find the system is broken, somehow.

NovaBlink

You mean they actually break down into 50% for first timer with kids, 45% normal first timer without any kids.?!

i can't post the link was my post number not enough.
Home > Buying new flat > Eligibility > First Timer Applicant > privileges for first-timer applicant (family).

Sale of Balance Flats
PPS first-timers: 50%
Other first-timers: 45%
Second-timers : 5%

For the ad-hoc Sale of Balance Flats, where the number of units offered for public application is less than 20 units, all flats will be set aside for first-timer applicants. Second-timers will be invited to select a flat only if there are still balance flats for selection after all the first-timers have been invited to select these flats.

Pollyannaism

Im applying as single for now/first timer. That is true if I used the extreme case of Pasir Ris and Jurong West. Say if i try Hougang Serangoon? or CCK/Yew Tee? (Is it really 2km away? It is very hard to say in that circumstances)

Like what angelicgirl says, you have to bring your parents' IC down.

EvilPaladin

i can't post the link was my post number not enough.
Home > Buying new flat > Eligibility > First Timer Applicant > privileges for first-timer applicant (family).

Sale of Balance Flats
PPS first-timers: 50%
Other first-timers: 45%
Second-timers : 5%

For the ad-hoc Sale of Balance Flats, where the number of units offered for public application is less than 20 units, all flats will be set aside for first-timer applicants. Second-timers will be invited to select a flat only if there are still balance flats for selection after all the first-timers have been invited to select these flats.

haha wanted to correct you, but your last paragraph :D

Gixxerfied

And so, someone mention just need NRIC + Marriage Cert of Parents..

So how to cheat or exploit that loophole?? At most give u exploit from application up till the time of selection..Then game over..Insert another $10 to try again during next launch.. :s13:

macdawn

I think the HDB have their grid and map system to help them check.
The system is only as good as the people who use them.

I think if you look around, there are also people who tried many times and didn't get anything, and people who one-shot-one-kill. Just a matter of luck.

And sometimes, not getting this BTO might not be that bad a thing. I really want a place of my own, being forever single I have to fight with all the other singles for the few 2-rooms around.

First few times, I really, really want, and didn't get any number at all.

But I keep trying, and finally got lucky in the Mar BTO. And the place I got is in a location far better than the previous ones I've applied for. It is the result I could never have dared to imagine.

Sometimes, life has other plans for you, and you won't know until it is revealed. :D

EvilPaladin

And so, someone mention just need NRIC + Marriage Cert of Parents..

So how to cheat or exploit that loophole?? At most give u exploit from application up till the time of selection..Then game over..Insert another $10 to try again during next launch.. :s13:

I am not debating on the NRIC and marriage cert, that is pretty much set in stone.

How you gauge hougang/serangoon is 2km away or yewtee/cck? I am trying to say you can boost your chances by getting 4 chances for first timers, instead of getting 2 chances if you are somewhat balloting for a house "near" your/spouse's parents.

macdawn

I am not debating on the NRIC and marriage cert, that is pretty much set in stone.

How you gauge hougang/serangoon is 2km away or yewtee/cck? I am trying to say you can boost your chances by getting 4 chances for first timers, instead of getting 2 chances if you are somewhat balloting for a house "near" your parents.

HDB, being the 'people' building the buildings, should have an archive and record of all the present and future projects, that would be far more accurate than Google Map... methinks. :s13:

When you enter your postcode and your parents' postcode, the system should be able to automatically check if you are within the 2km radius lah.

Gixxerfied

How you gauge hougang/serangoon is 2km away or yewtee/cck? I am trying to say you can boost your chances by getting 4 chances for first timers, instead of getting 2 chances if you are somewhat balloting for a house "near" your/spouse's parents.

Exactly as what macdawn mention, system backend will do calculation one..

And when you're there for selection, they will physically confirm address and distance..Even if you get 4 chances with ur balloted best result tagging to one of the 2 extra MCPS tickets, you go select and nv meet that distance, they have every rights to reject you isnt it?? So even if you get 2 more tickets also useless when it's rejected, the q will move on..So end up is applicant malu, those out of q tan tio..

So far from those i've seen using MCPS for BTO, their best q no wasnt tagged to the extra 2 tickets using MCPS..So they call in and request for untagging..

macdawn

Exactly as what macdawn mention, system backend will do calculation one..

And when you're there for selection, they will physically confirm address and distance..Even if you get 4 chances, you go select and nv meet that distance, they have every rights to reject you isnt it?? So even if you get 2 more tickets also useless when it's rejected, the q will move on..

Yalor. Not only waste $10, might kena kicked into 2nd timer queue... or worse.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.