Buffetlicious! The All You Can Eat Buffet thread - Part 6

Toons

onz for peach garden ^_^

I also onz for peach garden. Wa cao u all so late sleep sia. Anyway I will cut down on pu er.

Horkay ... let me survive this weekend first, next week then propose some dates for peach garden. Still lack 1 leg :D I'll ask kitaeshi since he missed the previous one too.

Lol, i heard you tot its a tea buffet :p

carey

Horkay ... let me survive this weekend first, next week then propose some dates for peach garden. Still lack 1 leg :D I'll ask kitaeshi since he missed the previous one too.

Lol, i heard you tot its a tea buffet :p

I don't mind but must be after 15 Aug...hahah

This time, must order the beef tendon as first dish :s13:

He first time drink pu erh mah :s13:

striker22

Plus the teapot just right beside him only.

Yah, the beef tendon came out too late.

jt2901

Peach garden see what day and time slot. Lunch a bit hard for me on weekdays

striker22

Peach garden is dinner they organizing. Lunch only Denny can. But i think i not going this time round.

Toons

Claymore recent experience not so good. Not worth the price at all. No goose liver and other dishes not really remarkable.

Very different experience for me. I really enjoyed my dinner @ claymore earlier. No doubt i only liked the lamb on the pop, but the duck sausage n kurobuta pork cutlet not bad too. While the pop is underwhelming, i felt that they actually beefed up the main buffet spread, specifically the carving n seafood sections ... a good move to lessen the reliance on pop.

The bamboo clams really fresh n sweet. Then there's also the swordfish n salmon belly sashimi ... :love:

The ala minute USDA 1855 tenderloin is very good too (according to the chef, if you order ala carte, 1 serving of the 1855 beef will cost more than the buffet :eek:) The pork rack carving is nice, might look a bit dry, but its actually quite juicy n tender, esp if you ask for the fattier portions.

For the hot dishes section, the standouts are the glutinous rice n vinegar pork trotters. The rice is so good tat we even joked abt tabaoing it back for breakfast tomorrow :D My friends also enjoyed the 6 types of oysters as well as port wine cheese ... not so much stout porter though, cos he's a wine person :s13:

For desserts i like their pulpy durian paste n choc truffle cake. Had fun trying the different types of gryphon teas, esp the ginger whitelily.

Overall, a very enjoyable dinner for everyone.

jgyy1990

Bona vista metropolis got peach garden also. But quality wise I dunno liao.

tomb

Went for tung lok dinner buffet in Orchard.

Quite limited in variety. Service was good with frequent clearing of plates.

Salmon sashimi, century egg, fish maw with sharks fin, herbal prawns, steamed tilapia, kai lan, spinach, fish skin were good.

Sambal sotong was fresh but bland. Sliced fish was coated in starchy batter and flesh was slightly hard.

dennyz

I see :)
Good in terms of taste? Portion wise? Is the variety really that much as stated?

taste is fine, serving speed is fast, variety is there. portion? u can always spams orders. unlimited ordering with no time limit. only limit is u..... hahahaha :s13:

Toons

I see :)
Good in terms of taste? Portion wise? Is the variety really that much as stated?

Yea, as mentioned by Dennyz, the taste is generally not bad. We did not try much dishes as only 2 of us plus my appetite affected cos of the hot weather, but of those dishes we tried, only the curry pork is lousy. Rest are at least decent or better. Might want to avoid the garlic you mai chai too as they added too much garlic.

The dishes which I liked are pork ribs, claypot pork liver (nice but must eat fast cos will over cook if you leave it in the sizzling hot clay pot), salted egg ribs n salted egg French beans. The fermented bean pork, tomato eggs, furong omelette, herbal chicken n pork chop all decent taste wise. Too full to try the chicken n seafood dishes like fresh cockles, clams n fish.

Serving speed is really fast, n the dishes we ordered all came. Menu is as indicated in the voucher. No tricks. Portion also the standard 2 to 3 pax serving. Only thing is the pork chop came on a bed of fries, but we just ignored it. :D

Really a good deal for $14. Will definitely buy more if not for the inconvenient location.

carey

The bamboo clams really fresh n sweet. Then there's also the swordfish n salmon belly sashimi ... :love:

I had many many bamboo clams too :D

The ala minute USDA 1855 tenderloin is very good too (according to the chef, if you order ala carte, 1 serving of the 1855 beef will cost more than the buffet :eek:) The pork rack carving is nice, might look a bit dry, but its actually quite juicy n tender, esp if you ask for the fattier portions.

You believe him meh? Hahah

Think you need to order quite a few POP tenderloins to make up one ala carte serving...

Plus the cut of meat probably quite different :s13:

For the hot dishes section, the standouts are the glutinous rice n vinegar pork trotters. The rice is so good tat we even joked abt tabaoing it back for breakfast tomorrow :D My friends also enjoyed the 6 types of oysters as well as port wine cheese ... not so much stout porter though, cos he's a wine person :s13:

Did you have sio bak that day? Hahah

Not fantastic in terms of cooked dishes but that's not my main aim of going there anyway

Also couldn't tell which oyster was which - just whack only...hahah

For desserts i like their pulpy durian paste n choc truffle cake. Had fun trying the different types of gryphon teas, esp the ginger whitelily.

Overall, a very enjoyable dinner for everyone.

Durian paste from the crepes section right? Can ask them for a bowl meh? Hahah

Anyway, didn't try the desserts - too full liao :o

Swordsman

Yea, as mentioned by Dennyz, the taste is generally not bad. We did not try much dishes as only 2 of us plus my appetite affected cos of the hot weather, but of those dishes we tried, only the curry pork is lousy. Rest are at least decent or better. Might want to avoid the garlic you mai chai too as they added too much garlic.

The dishes which I liked are pork ribs, claypot pork liver (nice but must eat fast cos will over cook if you leave it in the sizzling hot clay pot), salted egg ribs n salted egg French beans. The fermented bean pork, tomato eggs, furong omelette, herbal chicken n pork chop all decent taste wise. Too full to try the chicken n seafood dishes like fresh cockles, clams n fish.

Serving speed is really fast, n the dishes we ordered all came. Menu is as indicated in the voucher. No tricks. Portion also the standard 2 to 3 pax serving. Only thing is the pork chop came on a bed of fries, but we just ignored it. :D

Really a good deal for $14. Will definitely buy more if not for the inconvenient location.

taste is fine, serving speed is fast, variety is there. portion? u can always spams orders. unlimited ordering with no time limit. only limit is u..... hahahaha :s13:

一个字 ... 崭 :s13:

thanks.

you just gave me assurance. :o

I'm going there too this week.

Toons

I had many many bamboo clams too :D

You believe him meh? Hahah

Think you need to order quite a few POP tenderloins to make up one ala carte serving...

Plus the cut of meat probably quite different

I missed the bamboo clams. Interested to go again? ;D

The beef not good? No doubt it's not as flavorful as wagyu, but it's really tender n still got decent beefy taste. Only managed to stuff 4 pieces of the beef n 3 lamb.

carey

I missed the bamboo clams. Interested to go again? ;D

The beef not good? No doubt it's not as flavorful as wagyu, but it's really tender n still got decent beefy taste. Only managed to stuff 4 pieces of the beef n 3 lamb.

Not really - pay S$80 can jiak a lot of bamboo clams elsewhere :s13:

Other stuff only so so niah :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.