isit stupid to offer over 450k for punggol edgedale plain 5rm?

kingkongikiss

gov is rushing to build so much new flat, so now don't rush to buy if possible , price mostly will drop till 2016. due to SPR politic control, only able to own one property between HDB or private and huge bto supply .. mostly after election price shot up with new politic.

Mr.Canberra

gov is rushing to build so much new flat, so now don't rush to buy if possible, price mostly will drop till 2016. due to SPR politic control, only able to own one property between HDB or private and huge bto supply .. mostly after election price shot up with new politic.

Buy BTO flat still can but resale flat can take your time to shop around. From Q3 2016 there'll be a build up demand for resale flats from the PR sector as with effect from 27/08/13 new PRs must wait for 3 years before allowed to buy resale flats.

LongGe2009

If I were to buy a resale due to unforeseen circumstances then it must be at least within town centre where most amenities and train or bus interchange lies.

Even if I buy punggol resale then I get those within walk distance of the mrt.

Sambuca78

Buy BTO flat still can but resale flat can take your time to shop around. From Q3 2016 there'll be a build up demand for resale flats from the PR sector as with effect from 27/08/13 new PRs must wait for 3 years before allowed to buy resale flats.

Hmmm... the 5 yrs MOP started from Aug 2010, does that mean there will be more resales flats on sales from Aug 2015?

kingkongikiss

same thought lol, now best to buy bto and wait for SPR demand + election over may change some politic ..

Mr.Canberra

Hmmm... the 5 yrs MOP started from Aug 2010, does that mean there will be more resales flats on sales from Aug 2015?

Theoretically yes for those who bought resale flats after 30/08/10 and intend to sell after 5 years MOP.

same thought lol, now best to buy bto and wait for SPR demand + election over may change some politic..

If possible always buy BTO flat because this is citizen privilege and the lowest price.

By late 2016 the government may taper off the cooling measures. Who knows? All the build up demand for several years will create a price boom when the flood gates are open.

So readers can see from our last few discussion posts, the government is always at least one step ahead! :eek:

SG_Jimmy

i felt now HDB vaulation have dropped, but owner still holding on, need more time :o

btw am i right ? renovation loan for 30k over 3 years, the interest is around $2500

Densocool

i felt now HDB vaulation have dropped, but owner still holding on, need more time :o

btw am i right ? renovation loan for 30k over 3 years, the interest is around $2500

2.5K interest for 30K loan repaid in 3 years? what bank sia:s11:

ricky_villa

If I were to buy a resale due to unforeseen circumstances then it must be at least within town centre where most amenities and train or bus interchange lies.

Even if I buy punggol resale then I get those within walk distance of the mrt.

normally within walking distance is around how many meters max? 1KM considered far?

AceyourMaths

No.

The cooling measures from 2011 such as Minimum Occupation Period of 5 years, just make people angry as they can sell their flats only after 9 years after applying for BTO. Stupid MOP cause less flats to enter resale market in the coming years, the number of people not eligible for buying directly from HDB (for example PR) is growing.
Most of BTOs launched in the 3 years 2009, 2010, 2011 will be completed in only 2 years 2013-2014… ~ 40000 flats to be completed in 2014 alone + 5 years MOP = this may lead to a market crash in 2019. I am not saying that prices will not start to fall earlier, but the biggest price fall can be in 2019.

Basically, 3 years BTO wait + 5 years MOP, most of the new units can only go to resale after 8 years from 2010...

luei74

For Punggol those flat that closer to the mrt chao chao around $500K.

LongGe2009

normally within walking distance is around how many meters max? 1KM considered far?

Far as ******:s13:

Anything beyond 400 meters is considered far in my books.

Have to consider a long shag day after work and a crowded & long train ride.

ricky_villa

ok so max is 5 mins approx 500-600metres...any further is not considered near MRT..ok thanks..just wanted a gauge..agree that walk for 5mins oredi considered far liao..best is 3 mins or lesser.

AceyourMaths

include waiting for traffic light crossings, walking at a reasonable pace

200m - 3-5 mins

400m - 5-7 mins, quite xiong. Not suitable if you carry heavy stuff.

600m - 8-10 mins. very xiong to walk on daily basis unless you are those who make it a habit, can pass IPPT type.

800m - 10-13 mins. Super damn xiong. If not much sunlight, not much staircase, just plain walk straight under shade still possible on a daily basis.

1 km - I suggest you buy a bicycle.

LongGe2009

include waiting for traffic light crossings, walking at a reasonable pace

200m - 3-5 mins

400m - 5-7 mins, quite xiong. Not suitable if you carry heavy stuff.

600m - 8-10 mins. very xiong to walk on daily basis unless you are those who make it a habit, can pass IPPT type.

800m - 10-13 mins. Super damn xiong. If not much sunlight, not much staircase, just plain walk straight under shade still possible on a daily basis.

1 km - I suggest you buy a bicycle.

Last time my rented flat was just 300 metres or less from the mrt station, when I carried my haversack and sometimes office files and stuff it's already quite tiring when I made it to the lift.

Densocool

5 minutes of normal walking.

Unlikely 5 mins if 1km, unless you jog at a pace.

My flat is aprox 280 meters from the train station including one traffic light and I also need roughly 3 mins of walk time to reach my lift lobby.

Sambuca78

No.

The cooling measures from 2011 such as Minimum Occupation Period of 5 years, just make people angry as they can sell their flats only after 9 years after applying for BTO. Stupid MOP cause less flats to enter resale market in the coming years, the number of people not eligible for buying directly from HDB (for example PR) is growing.
Most of BTOs launched in the 3 years 2009, 2010, 2011 will be completed in only 2 years 2013-2014… ~ 40000 flats to be completed in 2014 alone + 5 years MOP = this may lead to a market crash in 2019. I am not saying that prices will not start to fall earlier, but the biggest price fall can be in 2019.

Basically, 3 years BTO wait + 5 years MOP, most of the new units can only go to resale after 8 years from 2010...

Thanks, make sense too. :)

But too bad, I will need a flat next year.

swathe

Unlikely 5 mins if 1km, unless you jog at a pace.

My flat is aprox 280 meters from the train station including one traffic light and I also need roughly 3 mins of walk time to reach my lift lobby.

I agree. 2.4km RUN is 12 mins to pass for middle age people. If your walking can clear 1km in 5 mins, you parents can walk and pass IPPT running station.

derrickgoh

May not be an issue to some but i look for covered walk ways. If not sure get drenched walking to mrt. Umbrella not full proof.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.