Disappointed with MyRepublic service...

Ray1976

On 29 Jul 2014, I received a call from a young chap claiming to be from MyRepublic and happily told me that MyRepublic would like schedule an appointment for you to upgrade your existing Pure HD package (150mbps) Home Fibre to the 1Gbps (I registered my interest sometime in Jan or Feb this year)...a long wait indeed! He asked me to to CONFIRM the appointment for 25 Aug 2014 (i.e. today) between 2pm - 6pm and the technician will come down to replace the ONT unit that support the higher bandwidth and asked me whether I need to replace my existing router to a gigabit one...I told him no need. That was the LAST I heard from MyRepublic. Between 29 Jul till today (28 Aug 2014), I have never receive any follow-up call or SMS confirming on the appointment...Well I thought it is normal especially when I know MyRepublic is under-staffed to a certain extent.

Today, I took PM leave and rushed home for the "so-called" appointment. I called the hotline from 1pm till 3pm and finally a male customer service officer answered. I inquired about the 2pm-6pm appointment and I was shocked to hear that, "Didn't you receive the sms from us a few weeks ago that the appointment has been cancelled as the hosting company, Nucleus Connect have yet to port over your customer details to our side for activation." I told him I receive no SMS confirmation on this...he related to me a mobile number (XXXX) which is my old one!!! Then I asked him, is he aware that "your" colleague who called my on 29 Jul 2014 in the evening had used "current number" I am calling you now...clearly MyRepublic is aware that I have another mobile number...I told him that your "colleague" called me to make an appointment using this "new" number 3 weeks ago BUT he sms his "appointment cancellation sms" using my old number?! WTF?! He was stunned for a while too...He asked me do I know who is the fellow who talked to me? I told him will I ask what is your name UNLESS I have something to follow-up with YOU...Your colleague merely asked me to make an appointment, why would I ask for his name in the first place?

Speaking of this young chap that called me on 29 Jul 2014, he is also one funny young chap, he speak like reading from a script and when I interjected to find out more details...he told me, "Sir, can you please let me finish my sentence first...!" Wow! I still recall he asked me to CONFIRM the appointment for (today) as it is VERY HARD to make another appointment for you again if you miss this round...I was, Wow! then I better seized the opportunity then...I confirmed and I apply for PM leave for today.

Back to the disappointing reply from the CSO, I asked him so how long is the lead time for Nucleus Connect to transmit the customer data to your company, he beat around the bush until he revealed about 2 - 3 working days and after which, MyRepublic have free play to make an appointment with customer in performing the on-site ONT upgrade...But what he told me was that I have to wait for another 2 - 4 weeks again...as I "belonged" to the "old customer group" which was under the "mercy" of the hosting company, Nucleus Connect. So if Nucleus Connect not willing to provide customer info to MyRepublic, then "no upgrade" can be done...Now the question is...if the "lead time" to obtain customer information/details from Nucleus Connect is about 2 - 3 working days...then why you quote me 2 - 4 weeks?! Then the CSO told me that it is company guideline to quote this "period"...(I guess it act as a safe barrier in case things like this happen again).

I am so pissed with MyRepublic about the screw up and the fact that I have to call them in order to find out the cancellation of the appointment on the installation day itself?!

Lesson learnt, due to the incompetency of the MyRepublic staff, the next time when they called me to fix an appointment...I will call them up one day in advance to confirm!

Last but not least, the CSO told me that all the installation appointments for today - ALL CANCELLED! Is this true? Any member here also kena "play out" by MyRepublic?

Pls share...
:(

glacieraze

Since they keep cancelling the installation appointments, you should cancel your connection with them to show them who is the ultimate winner.

Ray1976

MyRepublic screwed me up during the GIRO billing phase which took an unbelievable 8 months to complete the GIRO billing request!!! And now...screwed up again for on-site upgrade...

What pissed even more is the CSO reply to me:
"We are under-staffed, we have to deal with thousands of customer requests...

Well, under-staff or not...it is a problem that the company has to work on to resolve...you DO NOT tell the customer to "empathize" with you and accept the fact that things will be delayed or screw up just because your company is under-staffed! Dun make your problem, our problem...we noted but MyRepublic has to resolve it at your end, dun expect every customer to understand your plight.

This is not going to do well for your company image and service.

ahboy72

MyRepublic screwed me up during the GIRO billing phase which took an unbelievable 8 months to complete the GIRO billing request!!! And now...screwed up again for on-site upgrade...

What pissed even more is the CSO reply to me:
"We are under-staffed, we have to deal with thousands of customer requests...

Well, under-staff or not...it is a problem that the company has to work on to resolve...you DO NOT tell the customer to "empathize" with you and accept the fact that things will be delayed or screw up just because your company is under-staffed! Dun make your problem, our problem...we noted but MyRepublic has to resolve it at your end, dun expect every customer to understand your plight.

This is not going to do well for your company image and service.
I'm also under my republic, since they say they under staffed I better sign up with another service provider (my contract ends next month) that is not under staffed.

Ray1976

I just called to check that I still have 8 months left in my contract...early termination will require me to pay $400. And I also asked the period from the time when the CSO from MyRepublic called me to schedule a date to collect back the ONT to the time it send a request to "release" the activation port on my Terminal Point (TP) - It will roughly takes about 2 weeks. So If I am to sign up for ViewQuest Fibre, do I need to wait for the activation point to be released by Nucleus Connect before ViewQuest can send their tech guys to setup the ONT?

Ray1976

I'm also under my republic, since they say they under staffed I better sign up with another service provider (my contract ends next month) that is not under staffed.

Bro, I encouraged you to forgo MyRepublic and go for some other ISP instead.

Ray1976

I guess I will have to wait till Apr next year before I consider to switch to another ISP :(

Henry Ng

On 29 Jul 2014, I received a call from a young chap claiming to be from MyRepublic and happily told me that MyRepublic would like schedule an appointment for you to upgrade your existing Pure HD package (150mbps) Home Fibre to the 1Gbps (I registered my interest sometime in Jan or Feb this year)...a long wait indeed! He asked me to to CONFIRM the appointment for 25 Aug 2014 (i.e. today) between 2pm - 6pm and the technician will come down to replace the ONT unit that support the higher bandwidth and asked me whether I need to replace my existing router to a gigabit one...I told him no need. That was the LAST I heard from MyRepublic. Between 29 Jul till today (28 Aug 2014), I have never receive any follow-up call or SMS confirming on the appointment...Well I thought it is normal especially when I know MyRepublic is under-staffed to a certain extent.

Today, I took PM leave and rushed home for the "so-called" appointment. I called the hotline from 1pm till 3pm and finally a male customer service officer answered. I inquired about the 2pm-6pm appointment and I was shocked to hear that, "Didn't you receive the sms from us a few weeks ago that the appointment has been cancelled as the hosting company, Nucleus Connect have yet to port over your customer details to our side for activation." I told him I receive no SMS confirmation on this...he related to me a mobile number (XXXX) which is my old one!!! Then I asked him, is he aware that "your" colleague who called my on 29 Jul 2014 in the evening had used "current number" I am calling you now...clearly MyRepublic is aware that I have another mobile number...I told him that your "colleague" called me to make an appointment using this "new" number 3 weeks ago BUT he sms his "appointment cancellation sms" using my old number?! WTF?! He was stunned for a while too...He asked me do I know who is the fellow who talked to me? I told him will I ask what is your name UNLESS I have something to follow-up with YOU...Your colleague merely asked me to make an appointment, why would I ask for his name in the first place?

Speaking of this young chap that called me on 29 Jul 2014, he is also one funny young chap, he speak like reading from a script and when I interjected to find out more details...he told me, "Sir, can you please let me finish my sentence first...!" Wow! I still recall he asked me to CONFIRM the appointment for (today) as it is VERY HARD to make another appointment for you again if you miss this round...I was, Wow! then I better seized the opportunity then...I confirmed and I apply for PM leave for today.

Back to the disappointing reply from the CSO, I asked him so how long is the lead time for Nucleus Connect to transmit the customer data to your company, he beat around the bush until he revealed about 2 - 3 working days and after which, MyRepublic have free play to make an appointment with customer in performing the on-site ONT upgrade...But what he told me was that I have to wait for another 2 - 4 weeks again...as I "belonged" to the "old customer group" which was under the "mercy" of the hosting company, Nucleus Connect. So if Nucleus Connect not willing to provide customer info to MyRepublic, then "no upgrade" can be done...Now the question is...if the "lead time" to obtain customer information/details from Nucleus Connect is about 2 - 3 working days...then why you quote me 2 - 4 weeks?! Then the CSO told me that it is company guideline to quote this "period"...(I guess it act as a safe barrier in case things like this happen again).

I am so pissed with MyRepublic about the screw up and the fact that I have to call them in order to find out the cancellation of the appointment on the installation day itself?!

Lesson learnt, due to the incompetency of the MyRepublic staff, the next time when they called me to fix an appointment...I will call them up one day in advance to confirm!

Last but not least, the CSO told me that all the installation appointments for today - ALL CANCELLED! Is this true? Any member here also kena "play out" by MyRepublic?

Pls share...
:(

If I am u I will cancel the service. Just count down till your contract end la.

glacieraze

I just called to check that I still have 8 months left in my contract...early termination will require me to pay $400. And I also asked the period from the time when the CSO from MyRepublic called me to schedule a date to collect back the ONT to the time it send a request to "release" the activation port on my Terminal Point (TP) - It will roughly takes about 2 weeks. So If I am to sign up for ViewQuest Fibre, do I need to wait for the activation point to be released by Nucleus Connect before ViewQuest can send their tech guys to setup the ONT?

You can try posting in the viewqwest thread and their staff will advise you accordingly.

nivleK1985

This is damn ridiculous. I am appalled that you received this kind of service from us.

I will drop you a PM to resolve this

Ray1976

Thank you nivlek1985 for taking the initiative...I hope you can investigate into it. Just wasted my precious leave today for nothing.

siaoboy

This is damn ridiculous. I am appalled that you received this kind of service from us.

I will drop you a PM to resolve this

You should be appalled as this is not a one off incident. I have cancelled my subscription in July and there was no action from your end and your company continue to charge the monthly fee in my credit card.

Your customer service norita has made appointment twice to collect the equipment and made me stay home on these 2 occasion without anyone turning up.

No one has since contacted me since and I am not sure if you still want your equipment.

My customer Id is c1001071 if you want to check.

Ray1976

Hope your issues with MR could be solved amicably..:s12:!

Thanks bro...I doubt MyRepublic can regain my confidence in the short term. It is really that bad in terms of their user support! If one off incident, I can still forgive but this is NOT the first time...kena by them quite a few times liao. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.