Why can't I switch from MR to M1 easily?

neucomer

I am currently on MR. Contract finishing in 2 weeks' time and I intend to terminate the service and switch to the M1 $29 100mbps plan.

The M1 counter person checked my address and commented my port 2 is blocked, etc. And I need to pay $200+ dollar for something to be fixed.

I told him no no what port 2 blocked? I am using MR now. Of cos I am NOT using 2 services concurrently. On the day of installation I will disconnect the MR ONT from the fibre point then M1 personnel can continue with their installation. He says the port may not be released immediately. I asked him for details he says he's not sure I may want to check with Opennet for further details. :s11:

Does anybody know what this M1 fella is talking about? Can't the fibre point installed by Opennet be readily used by any one of the 3 telcos for any of the plans they offered? :s11: Fibre does not work like that???

Can someone with knowledge share in layman's terms what exactly is the issue here?? :s11::s11:

Elijahonli

I am currently on MR. Contract finishing in 2 weeks' time and I intend to terminate the service and switch to the M1 $29 100mbps plan.

The M1 counter person checked my address and commented my port 2 is blocked, etc. And I need to pay $200+ dollar for something to be fixed.

I told him no no what port 2 blocked? I am using MR now. Of cos I am NOT using 2 services concurrently. On the day of installation I will disconnect the MR ONT from the fibre point then M1 personnel can continue with their installation. He says the port may not be released immediately. I asked him for details he says he's not sure I may want to check with Opennet for further details. :s11:

Does anybody know what this M1 fella is talking about? Can't the fibre point installed by Opennet be readily used by any one of the 3 telcos for any of the plans they offered? :s11: Fibre does not work like that???

Can someone with knowledge share in layman's terms what exactly is the issue here?? :s11::s11:
its somewhat true... it takes time to release the port... most of the time port 2 is used

gigigigi

this opennet is really creating a lot of mess for everybody. and best thing is gahmen also closed two eye. what to do.. :(

abstrax

welcome to the club of changing fiber ISP...I m in same situation as u...

I m currently a ST fiber user...going over to VQ...My 1st port is used by ST and cannot be used again by VQ.....so, my 2nd port nid to be activated to be utilized by VQ...it takes time for OpenNet to open up the 2nd port...what they told me is 20 working days....I have subscribe to VQ since mid-July 2014 n till now my 2nd port is not activated yet....so keep on waiting...cheers...

My advice is dun terminate ur current ISP until the 2nd ISP is ready...

Henry Ng

No la. Port 2 is not connected during installation so it is 'blocked' so must make appointment with Open Net to activate or connect port 2 outside your Home. The staff must be new or blur king. You can call 1627 to ask.

ahber79

hi guys,

I'll also be in the same situation. Currently on MR and will be switching to SH. So we need to pay and get Opennet to activate port 2?

I was actually thinking of getting MR to terminate in the morning and get SH to install in the afternoon using the same port.

I currently using port 1 of my TP. Port 2 is not connect at all.

abstrax

hi guys,

I'll also be in the same situation. Currently on MR and will be switching to SH. So we need to pay and get Opennet to activate port 2?

I was actually thinking of getting MR to terminate in the morning and get SH to install in the afternoon using the same port.

I currently using port 1 of my TP. Port 2 is not connect at all.

Well..depend ur 2nd ISP want to pay for u or not....beter check wit them...as for me..i subscribe to VQ n they will b paying....so now just wait for activation lor...

X-powerman

Port 2 is usually not activated (no fiber cable connected to it). Need open net to do the connection. They need the fusion splicer machine to do it.

ahber79

Well..depend ur 2nd ISP want to pay for u or not....beter check wit them...as for me..i subscribe to VQ n they will b paying....so now just wait for activation lor...

Ok. Will be going down to the roadshow and check with SH later.

ahber79

Port 2 is usually not activated (no fiber cable connected to it). Need open net to do the connection. They need the fusion splicer machine to do it.

The 2nd cable not connected is outside the house or inside the house at the TP? If inside the house, means opennet need to run a second cable to the TP?

Gondon72

layman term?

Ok..OpenNet TP Box has 2 Fibre point in it. 1 Fibre point in the has already been physical connected while the other one is left there not connected.

When you subscribes a fibre broadband with MR (for your case), MR will subscribes from OpenNet for the Fibre Point. Once subscribed, you can said that the 1st Fibre Point now "belongs" to MR.

Thus, if you are switching to another ISP (M1 for your case), they cannot used back the 1st Fibre Point as it 'belongs" to MR. Which is why they needs to order using the 2nd Fibre Point. Sometimes it takes months to get the 2nd Fibre Point up due to not enough capacity.

Not so easily as your ideal thought of terminates MR and activates M1 on the same day as the 1st Fibre Point always "belongs" to MR until MR Terminates it with OpenNet.

The 2nd cable not connected is outside the house or inside the house at the TP? If inside the house, means opennet need to run a second cable to the TP?

Outside, they dont needs to come in.

oric1

layman term?

Ok..OpenNet TP Box has 2 Fibre point in it. 1 Fibre point in the has already been physical connected while the other one is left there not connected.

When you subscribes a fibre broadband with MR (for your case), MR will subscribes from OpenNet for the Fibre Point. Once subscribed, you can said that the 1st Fibre Point now "belongs" to MR.

Thus, if you are switching to another ISP (M1 for your case), they cannot used back the 1st Fibre Point as it 'belongs" to MR. Which is why they needs to order using the 2nd Fibre Point. Sometimes it takes months to get the 2nd Fibre Point up due to not enough capacity.

Not so easily as your ideal thought of terminates MR and activates M1 on the same day as the 1st Fibre Point always "belongs" to MR until MR Terminates it with OpenNet.

It's so easy to understand now with your layman explanation :)

I'm not swithing, just for knowledge.

rerear

Assuming you switched once from one ISP to another and hence have both fibre points connected and belonging to two different ISP, if you want to switch again to a 3rd ISP, does it mean need to ask one of the 2 original ISP to terminate their fibre point with opennet first, before this 3rd ISP can come in and take over this fibre point?

ahber79

layman term?

Thanks for the layman explanation. It's clearer now.

I just signed up for SH. No additional fees required. Activation of port 2 by opennet will be done backend. So only 1 appointment with SH to install the ONT and router.

Gondon72

Assuming you switched once from one ISP to another and hence have both fibre points connected and belonging to two different ISP, if you want to switch again to a 3rd ISP, does it mean need to ask one of the 2 original ISP to terminate their fibre point with opennet first, before this 3rd ISP can come in and take over this fibre point?

"Usually" after you terminates from ISP (after your termination date), ISP will submits a termination order to OpenNet to release it. As ISP will needs to pay monthly recurring charges to OpenNet too for keeping it.

leeletmum

I was with MR for 2 yrs and moved over to ST in Jun. ST arranged for Opennet to come to unlock port 2 on ONT. Then next day ST technician came to set up the fibre installation with the modem provided. I made sure my ST fibre up and running and then MR services terminated after 2 weeks when my 2 yr contract ended with them.

trento

Is it possible to use 2 fiber together, say Singtel n M1?

Need 2 ONT right?

leeletmum

Is it possible to use 2 fiber together, say Singtel n M1?

Need 2 ONT right?

1 Terminal Point, there are 3 ports if I remember correctly, so 2 ports will be used. Can have 2 fibre services at the same time. But each will have its own ONT.

leeletmum

I was with MR for 2 yrs and moved over to ST in Jun. ST arranged for Opennet to come to unlock port 2 on ONT. Then next day ST technician came to set up the fibre installation with the modem provided. I made sure my ST fibre up and running and then MR services terminated after 2 weeks when my 2 yr contract ended with them.
My apology. Wrote wrongly. Opennet unlock port 2 on terminal point (TP). Not ONT. Each fibre service has own ONT.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.